English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Main > Retrogaming General Discussion

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 November 2019, 20:58   #1
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,044
Amiga games with adjustable window sizes

I was just adding Captain Planet to the next update of my CD32 disc and noticed the game has an adjustable game window size using F1-F4 as well as a NTSC/PAL realtime screen mode switch, i know some games have the NTSC/PAL switch Flink etc but does anyone know any other games that have the ability to readjust the window size on the fly?

Edit: excluding FPS games!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 21:05   #2
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 44
Posts: 8,876
I've never known this, quite unique!
BippyM is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 00:51   #3
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,704
I knew about Flink but not Captain Planet.

I'm sure I've come across maybe 2 - 3 others in my Amiga game playing but forgot exactly what they were... and not prepared to go through 2800 games to find out
DamienD is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 01:00   #4
DanScott
Lemon. / Core Design

DanScott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Sunny Bournemouth, UK
Posts: 480
I'd imagine it is quite rare, because (as a game developer) I can say that a lot of gameplay is based around the visible "area" around the character
DanScott is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 10:22   #5
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 46
Posts: 3,617
Only game i know of that has resizable view window is Colonization, and there are tight limits.
meynaf is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 10:44   #6
Solo Kazuki
Registered User
Solo Kazuki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Poland
Posts: 666
Actually some Maxis games have windows and scaling ability, e.g. RoboSport, Sim Ant, Sim City 2000...
Solo Kazuki is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 14:04   #7
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,044
Yeah it was more to see non workbench style games, but from peoples memories it sounds like it was a pretty rare thing, i did go through other Mindscape games to see if any others are the same, but no others the same.

Tony Crowther’s other game Phobia also has a NTSC/PAL switch and a high res mode so looks like he liked to give the player a good range of options, but seems so far only Captain Planet allowed window resizing outside the aforementioned genres.
Amigajay is offline  
Old 07 November 2019, 14:15   #8
Predseda
Puttymoon inhabitant
Predseda's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: The City of Townsville
Age: 41
Posts: 5,517
Send a message via ICQ to Predseda
Gloom etc.
Predseda is offline  
Old 12 November 2019, 12:09   #9
Fiery Phoenix
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Bury, Lancs
Posts: 126
The later Magnetic Scrolls games did, e.g. Wonderland
Fiery Phoenix is offline  
Old 12 November 2019, 21:18   #10
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails

Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,056
Fields of Battle
Lord Aga is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 09:14   #11
sonninnos
Commodork

sonninnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Location: Finland
Posts: 28
Another World changes with F1-F4. Not very practical though.
sonninnos is offline  
Old 16 November 2019, 13:38   #12
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,044
Sliders is another game i've found, although i don't see the point as the game is plenty fast enough full screen, why you want to make the screen smaller other to speed up a game is a bit strange!
Amigajay is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 02:24   #13
stevsurv
Beta 1.666
stevsurv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: in 1985
Posts: 246
Alien Breed 3D
stevsurv is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 03:00   #14
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevsurv View Post
Alien Breed 3D
Good point stevsurv, so the same can be said for Alien Breed 3D II: The Killing Grounds and the modification; Alien Breed 3D II - Xenium Core.

And I also think Breathless, Project Battlefield and Project Intercalaris... or is my memory failing me and the resolution is changed via Menu --> Options?
DamienD is offline  
Old 17 November 2019, 09:30   #15
Lord Aga
MI clan prevails

Lord Aga's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Belgrade, Serbia
Posts: 1,056
But the OP stated "Excluding FPS games", as this is pretty much a given thing with them
Lord Aga is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
First & Last Amiga Games running on set memory sizes 256k/512k/1MB/2MB Amigajay Amiga scene 6 06 December 2019 07:07
How can I save window positions and sizes in Workbench? Foebane support.Apps 6 10 April 2017 16:09
Adjustable size for masks Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 2 16 February 2013 05:02
How to change window border sizes/aspect ratio in ClassicWB Full? mingle project.ClassicWB 4 28 June 2010 15:10
File sizes in Gamebase Amiga antonvaltaz project.MAGE 1 15 August 2009 20:23

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 05:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07948 seconds with 13 queries