English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 October 2019, 13:34   #3441
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 210
BTW.


If some one use FroggerNG on Ragnarok, and some videos (like DivX) works to slow on FullScreen 16bit or 32bit without overlay, try use key "-" (minus)- it make little smaller video size (scalling), and sometimes, wonderful it will help
Thanks to that, I can play videos in 32 Bit screen, and have better colors quality without Overlay, and SB 16 bit stereo ++, 44100 sound
BULI is offline  
Old 03 November 2019, 13:15   #3442
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 62
Sonnet 7200 PCI programming

So I finally found some Ram for my Sonnet Crescendo 7200. I think they are just 16mb Simms because sysinfo only shows 43mb on the ppc memory. Got some 64mb Simms on the way.



I don’t auto start the card I use the StartPPC script and copied the INITPPC.info file and renamed it to give me a cool StartPPC icon.



Also noticed that Elbox have released a new version of PCI.Library (13.9) which I have installed

Here is getinfo


And WhichAmiga info


Got a few questions,

So I can’t seem to get the PowerPC to start if I use a voodoo card get a message stating no response from the PowerPC, any Ideas?

Seems to work great with the ATI but what programs can I use due to the non compatibility with warp 3D at the moment?

Just want something to really test it

And is there a StopPPC Script?

So here is my system
A4000 CR (Alice) 16mb in a Elbox tower
CPU = Cyberstorm MKII 060 50Mhz Rev 1 (128Mb),
PPC = G3 400Mhz 1M Rev B Sonnet Crescendo 7200,
Elbox A4000D MKIII,
ATI Radeon 9250 (256mb),
Indi MKII CR,
Ratte Auto switch,
Sound blaster 5.1 Live,
Spider USB,
NEC PCI network adapter,
FastATA 4000,
Elbox Eflash, (still need to know how to set this up)
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 03 November 2019, 14:17   #3443
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,093
@Timtheloon

Could be a bug with the Voodoo and a low amount of memory. When do the other simms arrive? It should work with the voodoo. The first versions of the library were programmed using 3x16MB simms but maybe something slipped in on the way to the current version.

There is not a stop script at the moment. Maybe in the future.

I am not sure what Elbox did from 13.8 to 13.9 btw.

Current programs are QuakeWOS, Maybe Q2 (not sure how much RAM it needs), ChocolateDuke and I guess Heretic II and DoomWOS. These have all a software 3D mode.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 03 November 2019, 14:35   #3444
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 62
Sonnet 7200 PCI programming

Thanks for the info on why you think the voodoo may not be playing and Software I can try

I only ordered the ram off Amibay yesterday so should be long.

Thanks for getting us this far, great thread this is.

I also have one of these



Did anyone get it to work with this card???

I can only see the PCIe to PCI in medication



Take it need some sort of driver to activate the PCIe side

Last edited by Timtheloon; 03 November 2019 at 14:44.
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 03 November 2019, 15:54   #3445
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,907
The pci.library doesn't support bridge devices, so those won't work unless Elbox can update the pci.library to support them. This includes many multifunction cards as well.
Supported software list:
https://github.com/Sakura-IT/SonnetA...ary-version%29
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 10:22   #3446
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 210
Question for you.


What is the best and the faster software to view pic graphics?
I noticed that, in my config the fastest is MultiView (Workbench 3.9).
BULI is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 03:58   #3447
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,907
The only other WarpUP picture viewer that comes to mind is WarpviewPPC on Aminet, it pretty much works ok. WarpDatatypes + Multiview is probably more practical.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 09:30   #3448
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
The only other WarpUP picture viewer that comes to mind is WarpviewPPC on Aminet, it pretty much works ok. WarpDatatypes + Multiview is probably more practical.

I tryed CyberView and PisShow, but they are not fast as MultiView.
I will check WarpviewPPC from Aminet- thanks.
BULI is offline  
Old 08 November 2019, 10:50   #3449
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by BULI View Post
I tryed CyberView and PisShow, but they are not fast as MultiView.
I will check WarpviewPPC from Aminet- thanks.



WarpviewPPC is fast but unfortunately have problem to view pics larger than my max resolution size in Workbench :-(


Interesting is ShowPic.040 (wersion WarpUp is very unstable on Sonnet) with Warp Datatypes
BULI is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 11:19   #3450
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 210
Is some one could test VipeOut 2097 on Ragnarok?
I remember, that that game worked fine on my Sonnet, but now on Ragnarok I have problem.
Game while plaing (especialy in fast track levels) make little freze screen, it looks like a problem with too low video memory, but I have enought video ram on Voodoo.

Last edited by BULI; 14 November 2019 at 11:24.
BULI is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 13:42   #3451
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,093
In what resolution? Full screen or window? "little freze screen" means that it stutters or does it freeze completely? What is your mediator voodoomem setting?
Hedeon is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 15:27   #3452
BULI
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Rzeszów
Posts: 210
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
In what resolution? Full screen or window? "little freze screen" means that it stutters or does it freeze completely? What is your mediator voodoomem setting?

Res 640x480, in fullscreen and in window.
Little stutters.
Voodoo Memory is set 13MB.
BULI is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 19:19   #3453
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 62
So got my 64mb Dimms for my sonnet but it’s only showing 122mb in show info v4

Is this normal??
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 19:34   #3454
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,093
No, it means only 2 DIMMs were detected. there is about 6 MB reserved for kernel and stuff.
Hedeon is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 19:47   #3455
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
No, it means only 2 DIMMs were detected. there is about 6 MB reserved for kernel and stuff.


Not what I wanted to hear
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 19:56   #3456
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 62
Does the Amiga have a memory limit? Because I’m going up too 495mb

If not it seems my sonnet has a problem with its top simm socket
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 20:04   #3457
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 62
Nope that’s not it tried a 128mb ATI to replace my 256mb one still only 122mb on show info booo
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 20:15   #3458
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 62
Sonnet 7200 PCI programming

Ok now I’m confused if I place 2 Dimms in the top and middle slots I get 122mb

If I place 2 Dimms in the middle and bottom slots I get 122mb

If all three are in still only 122mb

I’m changing to different Dimms each time so I’m not using the same 2

Maybe I’ve set something up wrong elsewhere

Oh BTW I’m using ClassicWB 3.9 if that could be the issue
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 20:22   #3459
drluking
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Italy
Posts: 200
sorry Hedeon, few simple questions (I'm hacking a lot these days)

Is It useful to CacheInhibit the MemSpace0 of the K1/M1 address ? (It's 1Mb space)

Is there a way to play Heretic II ppc game (It requires 64Mb) with K1/M1 cards ? The K1/M1 address about 58Mb (not full 64Mb) and I can't play the game (I only see the movies of the game, but if I select new game or tutorial game It quit ... or give not enought memory, or "dll_output recursive shutdown")

I'm using 128Mb on onboard cpu 68k board in A4000

thanks
drluking is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 21:14   #3460
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,093
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timtheloon View Post
Ok now I’m confused
Oh, It might be that when an ATI is detected only 128MB is used. It really should depend on how much room there is in the 512MB zorro window of the Mediator, so a pciinfo output could help. Or try with a voodoo3.

Last edited by Hedeon; 14 November 2019 at 21:23.
Hedeon is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 03:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 01:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 01:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 16:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 11:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:40.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.14071 seconds with 14 queries