English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 November 2014, 20:44   #1
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,484
FS-UAE without OpenGL requirement

Is it possible to develop a version of FS-UAE without the need for OpenGL?

I'm asking because since E-UAE is no longer developed there is no up-to-date UAE alternative anymore for the poor users of a non-Windows and non-OpenGL system.
Today I managed to compile FS-UAE 2.4.1 for NetBSD/i386, just to realize that it is unusable slow on a 3GHz P4, while E-UAE was usable on a 400MHz PPC.

To be honest, I really don't see the need for OpenGL in FS-UAE. Is it just used for showing the Amiga screen in an angle, while displaying the menu on the right?
phx is offline  
Old 30 November 2014, 20:55   #2
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 38
Posts: 3,564
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
Is it possible to develop a version of FS-UAE without the need for OpenGL?
Yes (I don't really plan to, but I've consider writing another limited video backend for testing/vm purposes).

Quote:
Is it just used for showing the Amiga screen in an angle, while displaying the menu on the right?
Of course not, it's just a "bonus" that such features are easy to do. The real reasons are:
  • Common video backend for all supported backends
  • Supports efficient hardware scaling of video frames
  • Possibility to sync to the display (vsync) on all supported platforms - for smooth scrolling
FrodeSolheim is offline  
Old 30 November 2014, 22:03   #3
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by FrodeSolheim View Post
Yes (I don't really plan to, but I've consider writing another limited video backend for testing/vm purposes).
That's great news! So there is hope.


Quote:
Of course not, it's just a "bonus" that such features are easy to do. The real reasons are:
  • Common video backend for all supported backends
  • Supports efficient hardware scaling of video frames
  • Possibility to sync to the display (vsync) on all supported platforms - for smooth scrolling
Ok. Makes sense. Certainly a good solution when you have 3D hardware acceleration, which probably most have nowadays.
phx is offline  
Old 30 November 2014, 23:08   #4
Korodny
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 698
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
Certainly a good solution when you have 3D hardware acceleration
I love the scaling in fullscreen mode, I'd never use UAE without it again.

Quote:
which probably most have nowadays.
I was wondering what kind of machine you're using, if you don't have 3D hardware acceleration? My decade old intel onboard chipset is fine for FS-UAE...
Korodny is offline  
Old 30 November 2014, 23:28   #5
phx
Natteravn

phx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Herford / Germany
Posts: 1,484
Quote:
Originally Posted by Korodny View Post
I was wondering what kind of machine you're using, if you don't have 3D hardware acceleration?
The hardware supports 3D hardware acceleration of course. But there is no working driver for NetBSD, which means no 3D under X11:
Code:
[    39.529] (EE) AIGLX error: i915 does not export required DRI extension
[    39.535] (EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
phx is offline  
Old 12 December 2014, 23:18   #6
GraveR
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 39
Quote:
Originally Posted by phx View Post
The hardware supports 3D hardware acceleration of course. But there is no working driver for NetBSD, which means no 3D under X11:
Code:
[    39.529] (EE) AIGLX error: i915 does not export required DRI extension
[    39.535] (EE) AIGLX: reverting to software rendering
Did you add 'i915drm' to the kernel? HW accel should work just fine:

http://wiki.netbsd.org/tutorials/x11/compiz/
GraveR is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why "OpenGL" folder in FS-Uae Launcher v2.5.5dev sources? amair support.FS-UAE 3 20 May 2014 10:06
Amiga 2000 PSU. -5V Amp requirement? ashhhhh support.Hardware 1 18 April 2012 10:18
WHDLoad RAM requirement Amigan123 support.Hardware 8 02 March 2012 11:54
Confusion over ROM requirement Magno Boots project.WHDLoad 6 12 February 2007 12:21
WHDLoad: Requirement to have a KS 1.3 image to play WHD games andreas Amiga scene 6 14 May 2002 08:14

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 15:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06868 seconds with 15 queries