English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 06 June 2002, 11:33   #81
Tonycrew
Registered User
Tonycrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 54
Send a message via ICQ to Tonycrew
There are now 3 versions for download online now.

:-Bloodwych Classic WB3 v4f
:-Bloodwych Classic WB3 v4.1 Update
:-Tonycrew WB3 Plus Beta

Url can be found @ total-amiga/emu resources.

We have a WB 2 on the main ftp as well this is not final yet so when it is it will be available on the url.

Have fun
Tonycrew is offline  
Old 06 June 2002, 13:57   #82
Tonycrew
Registered User
Tonycrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: uk
Posts: 54
Send a message via ICQ to Tonycrew
WB3 Plus Rainbow Power Edition is being worked on right now here's a taster.

**UPDATED SCREEN SHOT**
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wb4pluspowered02.jpg
Views:	378
Size:	52.4 KB
ID:	2671  

Last edited by Tonycrew; 06 June 2002 at 19:36.
Tonycrew is offline  
Old 06 June 2002, 19:55   #83
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
While you're all waiting on Tony to add the finishing touches to the power edition, here are the two classic versions available from me. These versions leave nearly all chipram intact after boot (if you have fast) and run great on an 020. They also retain the standard look and feel of the original 3.0 Workbench, hence the name (see the picture below).

You can download these in confidence because I won't be changing them (promise) again any time soon , if at all. All new features will now be added through Tony's Project


Classic WB3.0 FULL V4 (previously Classic 3.0WB V4.1F, contents identical)

Min spec: Default A1200 - 2MB chipram , 40MB HD, TV.

Rec Spec: A1200 2MB chipram + 1MB fastram or greater, TVres monitor, as large HD as you can get!

Alternative Spec: The fantastic WinUAE!


Classic WB3.0 LITE V1 (A re-working of Classic 3.0WB V1) - for people using 2MB A1200's and having memory issues with the full version.


All other labelled versions (V1, V2, V3, V4F, V4.1F) are now considered beta development files (soon to be deleted), with the above two my final and official offerings that will hopefully be available on BigBytes and Tonies FTP's for Workbench 3.0 owners.

Tony will be continuing to develop a fantastic "eye candy" version of the above for users with more powerful Amiga's seeking a non-classic look. He's also adding a few neat features like WB games and perhaps even more!

Tony, I was thinking since you're working on a continuation of my classic WB let's team up and get a universal naming convention on the go!

How about:

Classic WB 3.0 LITE V1(.zip)
Classic WB 3.0 FULL V4(.zip)
? Power WB 3.0 V1 ?

On your versions we can change the credits to add yourself, and you can write your own update/features/help file and add it to mine in the welcome folder.

What do you think?

Any suggestions about the naming? Once we've decided we can clean up the FTP's (both yours and BigBytes).

PS, the png graphics format rocks! jpeg and gif would not save the colours correct in my screen grab below, but png got everything right and produced a 3 times smaller filesize to boot. I suggest you all use png and save on server space!

Here is the Classic WB3.0 FULL V4:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	wbgrab.png
Views:	382
Size:	21.7 KB
ID:	2672  

Last edited by Bloodwych; 06 June 2002 at 20:07.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 06 June 2002, 20:10   #84
v8juice
Registered User
v8juice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: United States
Posts: 86
Yowser! (and) Power to the people, right on!
v8juice is offline  
Old 08 June 2002, 19:53   #85
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
My question now is... where do I download Blood's file from? I want to try it out!
Akira is offline  
Old 08 June 2002, 20:05   #86
Ian
Global Moderator

Ian's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Derby, UK
Age: 41
Posts: 2,186
Here
Ian is offline  
Old 08 June 2002, 20:07   #87
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Make sure you get the 4.1 version.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 09 June 2002, 06:40   #88
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 19,265
Thanks a lot Ian!!
Akira is offline  
Old 20 June 2002, 22:54   #89
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I've been anticipating the England - Brazil match so much that time was plodding on very slowely today fellow EMUuk brothers.

So I thought: How can I make this day fly by?

That's right, a few updates to my Classic WB that's how!!

Soon I'll be upping the following two files to the usual FTP's (Big-Byte/Tonycrew):

Classic WB 3.0 FULL V5 (.zip)

Min spec: 68020, ECS chipset, 2MB RAM (of which 1MB chip), 40MB HD, TV.

Rec Spec: 68020 or higher, 3MB RAM (of which 1MB chip) or greater, TVres monitor, as large HD as you can get!

Classic WB 3.0 FULL V5 AGA (.zip)

Min spec: 68020, AGA chipset, 2MB chipram, 40MB HD, TV.

Rec Spec: 68020 or higher, AGA chipset, 2MB chipram + 1MB fastram or greater, TVres monitor, as large HD as you can get!

And the unchanged LITE version is still available:

Classic WB3.0 LITE V1 (A re-working of Classic 3.0WB V1) - for people using 2MB A1200's and having memory issues with the full version.


I’ve tested the above on: A1200, 10MB RAM, 1.3GB HD, 3.0 ROMS


So what’s new? Well not too much visually, but that's why this WB has 2MB of chipRAM available on boot and runs great on low end Amiga 1200's - it's simple and classical look hides a very powerful core! And that's how I like my WB - Retro look and feel, minimum resources - maximum features

Here are the additions:

Powerful music support added through the combined forces of Hippoplayer, Eagleplayer and Delitracker. A huge array of players added to deli/eagle players after a good scrounge around the net. Will play a vast majority of games music files with double click file support and the usual "Auto" and "Play" actions via the popup menu.

File paths assigned in a much more convenient way. Simply assign the directories once via the user-startup file and the popup menus, Dopus, archivers etc will have the correct paths.

Patterns drawer added for those wishing to add backgrounds.

Several of the best true (run on desktop) Workbench games added. Thanks to Tonycrew for the idea!

Erm, I think that's it but I always forget something!

NB/
Two FULL versions now exist. The first has the classic look (no Copper effects, ECS friendly) and the second is the classic with a few AGA enhancements . Please note the AGA version will not work with the ECS chipset without removing CopperDemon from the userstartup. See screen grabs below:





The LITE version 1 is unchanged and still available for those with 2MB Amiga's struggling with the FULL versions.

Thanks for reading and remember - COME ON ENGLAND

Last edited by Bloodwych; 24 June 2002 at 18:47.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 20 June 2002, 23:05   #90
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Hmm, I've just realised that my AGA version has Brazilian colours!!!!! mg LOL!!!!!

Goes to show how much I've had this match on my mind !

PS - The above Workbenches are all in 8 colour screenmodes - yes, even the AGA version!!!!!!!! :eek

Last edited by Bloodwych; 20 June 2002 at 23:13.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 03 July 2002, 15:49   #91
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
The Classic WB 3.0 V5 can now be found on:

Unknowns, Ians and BigBytes FTP's. Thanks guys!
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 10 July 2002, 11:57   #92
Mozzy
Registered User
Mozzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: England
Age: 39
Posts: 82
could someone tell me if it is possible for me to run this beast on my A600 with 2mb ram, i really want to do something USEFULL with my amiga as i took it out one day cleaned it fully (it now looks brand new)) bought an new mouse for it, installed a 250mb hd, installed wb and then uuuh.... put it away.

so its now gathering dust
Mozzy is offline  
Old 10 July 2002, 12:17   #93
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Although the WB is compatible with the ECS chipset, I'm afraid that these Classical WB 3.0's require 3.0 ROMS and a 68020, because I installed libs specifically for this CPU and higher to improve performance.

Do not fear however! There are many A600 freaks on this board that have designed WB's just for you. Look here:

Akira's WB 2.0 setup

Paul's "Green Alien" WB 2.0 setup

Enjoy!

Last edited by Bloodwych; 04 August 2004 at 21:54.
Bloodwych is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga formatted zip disks via USB zip drive in WinUAE? planetidiot New to Emulation or Amiga scene 8 02 February 2018 09:43
Memory Sram 6MB Pcmcia Battery spanner support.Hardware 3 28 June 2012 05:04
6MB chipRAM in an Amiga Technologies A1200 HD? WTF?! StevenJGore support.Hardware 20 15 May 2008 14:40
Classical tune from WB/Extras 1.3 music demo andreas Retrogaming General Discussion 2 18 May 2003 01:34
Classical Amiga WB 2.05 Paul Retrogaming General Discussion 27 01 December 2002 21:05

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:47.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08277 seconds with 16 queries