English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 November 2019, 22:34   #1
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 509
Strange harddrive corruption

I have been having problems with WinUAE lately. It seems the files on harddrives (hdf and virtual directories) somehow get corrupted and I get all kind of weird errors (crashing programs etc.) The only thing I can then do is create a new harddrive and install everything again. Any ideas what could be causing this, am I doing something I shouldn't?

I have tried reinstalling WinUAE, have tried both the 32 and 64 bit versions with similar problems.

This problem is a bit generic since I can pinpoint when the "corruption" happens but I'm grateful for any insight!
MickGyver is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 22:46   #2
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,748
Some questions MickGyver that may assist us with helping you
  • What type of HDF i.e. RDB mode or not?
  • What type of file system i.e. OFS / FFS / PFS3AIO?
  • What OS is installed i.e. 1.3 / 2 / 3.1 / 3.5 / 3.9 / 4?
  • When do you notice the corruption occurring e.g. copying files?
DamienD is online now  
Old 13 November 2019, 22:54   #3
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Some questions MickGyver that may assist us with helping you
  • What type of HDF i.e. RDB mode or not?
  • What type of file system i.e. OFS / FFS / PFS3AIO?
  • What OS is installed i.e. 1.3 / 2 / 3.1 / 3.5 / 3.9 / 4?
  • When do you notice the corruption occurring e.g. copying files?
Cheers!
  • I use the ClassicWB v28 Full HDF, haven't used RDB mode.
  • File system is the one used by the ClassicWB hdf image, I'm not sure which one it is.
  • I use WB3.1 floppies to upgrade ClassicWB to 3.1.
  • The corruption (if it is that) "just happens". Earlier today I was using Blitz Basic 2 in WinUAE without problems. I closed WinUAE and now this evening Blitz Basic 2 does not start properly any more, I get a software failure after the nag screen. I tried reinstalling Blitz Basic 2 but get a software failure in the middle of the install.
MickGyver is offline  
Old 13 November 2019, 22:57   #4
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,748
Thanks for the information

I'm also not using RDB mode .HDFs. Classic WB file system is FFS.

I also use Classic WB Lite 3.1 and have never experienced the issues you describe.

Mind you, I've never used / installed Blitz Basic 2 but this stuff shouldn't occur.

Does the corruption only happen with this app? Do you have enough RAM set?

Have you tried running SnoopDos before starting Blitz Basic 2 to see if anything strange is captured?
DamienD is online now  
Old 14 November 2019, 00:00   #5
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,304
I already had this issue. Executable file corrupted (and guru) when running the program. The executable file was AGSMenu (amiga games menu). Never had this issue with some other program.
jotd is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 08:49   #6
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 509
Quote:
Originally Posted by DamienD View Post
Thanks for the information

I'm also not using RDB mode .HDFs. Classic WB file system is FFS.

I also use Classic WB Lite 3.1 and have never experienced the issues you describe.

Mind you, I've never used / installed Blitz Basic 2 but this stuff shouldn't occur.

Does the corruption only happen with this app? Do you have enough RAM set?

Have you tried running SnoopDos before starting Blitz Basic 2 to see if anything strange is captured?
Can't say I have seen it happen to another program, but I mainly use Blitz Basic 2 in this configuration. I will try SnoopDos to see if it catches anything strange, thanks for the tip!

Quote:
Originally Posted by jotd View Post
I already had this issue. Executable file corrupted (and guru) when running the program. The executable file was AGSMenu (amiga games menu). Never had this issue with some other program.
The weirdest thing (at least for me), is that the program can't be reinstalled without guruing. Have you been able to get AGSMenu to work again on the same hdf or virtual drive after the corruption?
MickGyver is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 09:49   #7
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 509
This is what I get when I start SnoopDos and then open windows in WB and start Blitz Basic 2.

Code:
Count Process Name       Action     Target Name                 Options Res.
----- ------------       ------     -----------                 ------- ----
1     [7] Scalos_Window_ ChangeDir  SYS:                                    
2     ramlib             Load       Scalos:Plugins/OOP/filetype         OK  
3     ramlib             Open       env:scalos/FileTypes.prefs  Read    OK  
4     [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
5     [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
6     [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
7     [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
8     [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
9     [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
10    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
11    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
12    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
13    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
14    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
15    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
16    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
17    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
18    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
19    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
20    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
21    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
22    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
23    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
24    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
25    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
26    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
27    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
28    [1] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
29    [1] Scalos_Window_ ChangeDir  System:                                 
30    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
31    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
32    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
33    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
34    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
35    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
36    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
37    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
38    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
39    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
40    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
41    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
42    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
43    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
44    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
45    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
46    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
47    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
48    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
49    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
50    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
51    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
52    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
53    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
54    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
55    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
56    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
57    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
58    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
59    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
60    [5] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
61    [5] Scalos_Window_ ChangeDir  System:Programs                         
62    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
63    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
64    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
65    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
66    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
67    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
68    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
69    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
70    [8] Scalos_Window_ Open       acidlibs                    Read    OK  
71    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
72    [8] Scalos_Window_ Open       defaultdbug                 Read    OK  
73    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
74    [8] Scalos_Window_ Open       deflibs                     Read    OK  
75    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
76    [8] Scalos_Window_ Open       help                        Read    OK  
77    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
78    [8] Scalos_Window_ Open       help.dat                    Read    OK  
79    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
80    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
81    [8] Scalos_Window_ Open       acidlibs_backup             Read    OK  
82    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
83    [8] Scalos_Window_ Open       ted_lib.fd                  Read    OK  
84    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
85    [8] Scalos_Window_ Open       ted.doc                     Read    OK  
86    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
87    [8] Scalos_Window_ ToolType   DEFAULTIMAGE                        Fail
88    [8] Scalos_Window_ ChangeDir  System:Programs/Blitz2                  
89    [8] Scalos_Window_ ChangeDir  System:Programs/Blitz2                  
90    WBL                ChangeDir  System:Programs/Blitz2                  
91    WBL                Load       Blitz2                              OK  
92    WBL                ChangeDir  System:Programs/Blitz2                  
93    WBL                ChangeDir  SYS:                                    
94    Blitz2             ChangeDir  System:Programs/Blitz2                  
95    Blitz2             Open       Blitz2.info                 Read    OK  
96    Blitz2             Load       blitz2:ted                          OK  
97    ramlib             Load       LIBS:asl.library                    OK  
98    ramlib             Load       DEVS:clipboard.device               OK  
99    Blitz2             Open       CLIPS:0                     Read    Fail
100   ramlib             Load       LIBS:ted.library                    OK  
101   Blitz2             Open       ENV:ted.prefs               Read    Fail
102   Blitz2             Open       ENV:Ted.history             Read    OK  
103   Blitz2             Open       ENV:Ted.menus               Read    OK  
104   Blitz2             LockScreen Workbench                           OK  
105   Blitz2             LockScreen Workbench                           OK  
106   Blitz2             ChangeDir  System:Programs/Blitz2                  
107   Blitz2             Open       blitz2:acidlibs             Read    OK  
108   Blitz2             Open       blitz2:deflibs              Read    OK  
109   Blitz2             Load       blitz2:defaultdbug                  OK  
110   [8] BMX            Open       CON:20/20/500/50/ButtonMenu Write   OK  
111   [8] BMX            Open       Utils                       Read    OK  
112   [9] WBRun          ChangeDir  System:Utilities                        
113   [9] WBRun          ToolType   CLI                                 Fail
114   [9] WBRun          ToolType   TOOLPRI                             Fail
115   [9] WBRun          ChangeDir  System:System/BMenu                     
116   [9] WBRun          ChangeDir  System:Utilities                        
117   [9] WBRun          Load       SnoopDos                            OK  
118   SnoopDos           ChangeDir  System:Utilities                        
119   [9] WBRun          ChangeDir  System:System/BMenu                     
120   SnoopDos           ChangeDir  System:Utilities                        
121   SnoopDos           ToolType   Settings                            Fail
122   SnoopDos           ToolType   Language                            Fail
123   SnoopDos           ToolType   PatchRamLib                         Fail
124   SnoopDos           ChangeDir  System:Utilities
MickGyver is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 14:00   #8
rutra80
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Poland
Posts: 16
I'd rather look for compatibility problems like wrong UAE config, disk larger than supported by system, some installed hack, etc. And I'd rather debug with something like Enforcer/Mungwall to detect memory corruptions.

Or maybe something on PC side is corrupting HDF? Bad RAM?

Last edited by rutra80; 14 November 2019 at 14:10.
rutra80 is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 21:03   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,359
It probably isn't Amiga-side problem if directory harddrive contents are also getting corrupted, almost all data structures are in PC-side memory only, inaccessible from Amiga side.

Only possible exception is some program doing something weird and modifying other files.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 14 November 2019, 23:25   #10
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,304
Note: After installing AGS again, everything worked fine again. dir structure wasn't corrupted. Maybe it's an AGS-only issue for me. This program is strange and has bugs, like images stopping being displayed on FFS, but okay on PFS...
jotd is offline  
Old 02 December 2019, 16:38   #11
MickGyver
Registered User

MickGyver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 509
Thank you for the help everybody! The problem was actually only related to Blitz Basic 2 after all (my fault). I have an installer script and another script that process the Blitz Basic libraries. I had other files than libraries in the Blitz library folder and this caused crashes for both Blitz Basic and the scripts. Depending on the extra files I got various errors, that's why I mistook it for some kind of corruption.
MickGyver is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Strange graphical corruption in Shadow of the Beast (see screenshot) mr_a500 support.Games 17 12 March 2018 22:16
Dr. Strange 2 - The Return Of Dr. Strange Asle HOL data problems 5 04 August 2010 15:33
Strange file corruption with external usb drive Alexco support.WinUAE 4 02 April 2009 22:42
Unsual Case of Dr. Strange / Return of Doctor Strange killergorilla HOL contributions 1 12 July 2007 17:08
Graphics corruption Minuous support.WinUAE 9 21 July 2005 18:42

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:51.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07783 seconds with 15 queries