English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 November 2019, 10:44   #21
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,976
Seriously how fast does this execute
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 04 November 2019, 15:24   #22
Glen M
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2017
Location: Belfast
Posts: 520
Why not just create hardfiles in WinUAE for each partition and backup the drives to there? Is there a limit to the size of hardfile WinUAE can handle? If so then just use a hardfile for DH0 then a folder on your PC for the rest.

I keep a hardfile copy of DH0 for both my A1200 and CD32. When my CF card DH0 got corrupted at the weekend (when overclocking my TF330) I was able to recreate it in about 5 minutes by using the hardfile in UAE to setup the card then just copy everything across.
Glen M is offline  
Old 04 November 2019, 15:58   #23
lesta_smsc
Registered User

lesta_smsc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,976
So as to make each partition a separate disk rather than a disk split into several partitions?
lesta_smsc is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 00:30   #24
quantum8
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: BNE AU
Posts: 117
Etcher should work.... It's super simple!
quantum8 is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 00:51   #25
xubidoo
Scoobydoo

xubidoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Location: Blackburn,UK
Posts: 250
USB Image Tool

https://www.alexpage.de/usb-image-tool/download/
xubidoo is online now  
Old 06 November 2019, 14:05   #26
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 626
I'm pretty well sorted out. SDimager wrote a slightly broken image to a CF card which I then fixed up on the Amiga. When I was happy with it, I made an image of that 4Gb SanDisk card, and then wrote the image to a 4Gb Extreme III SanDisk card, which is now in the Amiga and apparently working fine. So I expect all the imaging programs mentioned work fine, it's just that an image needs to go a destination card that is broadly compatible with the source card. (Or maybe a larger card).

This leaves me a bit short of cards for transfering stuff.


I have an 8Gb card handy, can I use that for transfering between the pc and Amiga without bumping into the over 4 Gb issue?
Angus is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 14:16   #27
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 4,349
The 4GB issue depends on the device driver and the filesystem used. If you're using compactflash.device and fat95 for the transfers, there's no problem with larger cards.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 06 November 2019, 21:54   #28
Angus
Amiga Games Database
Angus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South West England
Posts: 626
Thanks Daedalus, good to know.
Angus is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Amiga Compact Flash Tutorial -Acid- support.Other 0 10 June 2018 00:26
Amiga PCMCIA Compact Flash / ATA carloratm support.Apps 8 01 March 2016 22:52
Help with compact flash on amiga 600 please! dsilva support.Hardware 26 28 July 2009 23:45
Formatting Compact Flash as Amiga Drive JeffreyUS support.WinUAE 13 17 December 2006 03:46
Compact Flash on Amiga dkovacs support.Hardware 34 21 August 2006 02:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07253 seconds with 15 queries