English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. Contest

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 October 2019, 15:26   #21
Retro1234
Boo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 4,372
WHDload and CD Drive might = Tight Chip Ram??

The game can be installed without WHDload? maybe just make a ISO without using WHDload.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 20 October 2019, 15:59   #22
hexaae
Registered User

hexaae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Italy
Age: 43
Posts: 1,400
Gfx glitch:
- first level, bottom of the screen: there are some light green pixels in the terrain over the lava
hexaae is offline  
Old 20 October 2019, 20:07   #23
zambot3
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Italy
Posts: 63
I understand the rope bug. If I take it by jumping then I die, if I take it going against it I can jump to the end.
zambot3 is offline  
Old 20 October 2019, 20:45   #24
Amigajay
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: >
Posts: 2,043
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro1234 View Post
WHDload and CD Drive might = Tight Chip Ram??

The game can be installed without WHDload? maybe just make a ISO without using WHDload.
The CD version isn’t using WHDLoad (which needs 3mb anyway), mcgeezer uploaded non ADF files that were used in the CD32 version.

I know JOTD or Galahad released a file that helps with the CD read delay, that may be causing some issues running from CD, might be worth asking them see what they think?
Amigajay is offline  
Old 22 October 2019, 18:00   #25
Puggsy
Banned

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Toronto
Posts: 158
I am using the WHDload version on my CD32 with TF-328 without a problem except some slight glitches here and there, if that helps anyone.
Puggsy is offline  
Old 22 October 2019, 18:10   #26
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 288
still stock CD32, still Amigajay's ISO. Very weird memory dump like "animation":

[ Show youtube player ]
wairnair is offline  
Old 22 October 2019, 19:33   #27
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,507
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
still stock CD32, still Amigajay's ISO. Very weird memory dump like "animation":

[ Show youtube player ]
I'll try and get it fixed tonight, I have a feeling I may know what is wrong.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 28 October 2019, 10:44   #28
jotd
This cat is no more
jotd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: FRANCE
Age: 48
Posts: 3,294
- found another typo. After "SIESMIC MINDS", there's "RYGAR, THE LEGENDARDY WARRIOR"...

- after ending a round, the next time you press fire, the shooting noise occurs but character doesn't shoot. Deadly if you fire only when meeting an enemy... (already reported by Luca)

- level 5: vertical round, when climbing, the bat doesn't fire any projectile, which makes that part easy. Also I didn't remember you could kill it when climbing. Strangely enough, it starts dropping projectiles in the horizontal final section...

Programming error. Doesn't show in the game (reads 0 or something), but caught it with whdload because I relocated the game low in chip and got a negative memory read:

Code:
	LEA	(LAB_00DF,PC),A0	;0100a: 41fa0718
	BRA.S	LAB_00B8		;0100e: 6004
LAB_00B7:
	LEA	(some_table,PC),A0	;01010: 41fa0312
LAB_00B8:
      ; here D2.W can be completely wrong like $Cxxxx), creating a negative offset and reading in $FFFFxxxxx if program is in $100)
	MOVE.B	(0,A0,D2.W),D0		;01014: 10302000
	EXT.W	D0			;01018: 4880
	ADD.W	(16,A2),D0		;0101a: d06a0010

I'll create a .ISO for a stock CD32 with CD32load this week. Mixing the OS with the game isn't a good idea, as mcgeezer thought.
jotd is offline  
Old 28 October 2019, 11:14   #29
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 288
Round 9, gets stuck if you fall here and begin a new life. Timer doesn't move, music plays. This is with the WHDLoad version.


Last edited by wairnair; 28 October 2019 at 11:21.
wairnair is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 18:27   #30
wairnair
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Budapest
Posts: 288
More findings using WHDLoad + hash-named-adf follow.
  • Can't restart game using the joypad after game completed because it does not react to any button press.
  • Round 11, rope: pressing right to jump away from rope didn't work. Had to climb down a bit, climb back up then it worked.
  • Pause text sometimes doesn't appear (pauses fine nevertheless)

Can respawn inside rocks:



There's a glitch in the water below Rygar:



When dying/clearing the screen, numbers 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 can show up:



Are these lines/dashes intentional? (Also, "resume" is missing the "e")



Floating powerup when climbing the rope. Couldn't pick it up as it disappeared after reaching the ground.



On the win screen a small gfx glitch appeared:

wairnair is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 22:39   #31
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
There's a glitch in the water below Rygar
Are these lines/dashes intentional? (Also, "resume" is missing the "e")
Mentioned by me somewhere in the list on the 1st post. Didn't post screenshots in the thread though but Graeme has them all.

Quote:
Originally Posted by wairnair View Post
When dying/clearing the screen, numbers 1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8 can show up:
Mentioned by Retro-Nerd already; only happens when you die with giant rhino on-screen.
DamienD is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 22:40   #32
mcgeezer
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Sunderland, England
Posts: 1,507
Yup...don't worry gents, all of these will be fixed in due course.

It's been a good few weeks since release so getting my mojo back.
mcgeezer is offline  
Old 05 November 2019, 23:26   #33
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 43
Posts: 15,648
No rush at all man; you've already put in a mammoth effort over the past year to get Rygar to where it is currently!!!

We can all wait patiently
DamienD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A314 Official thread Eriond support.Hardware 142 Yesterday 18:17
Discussion: Rygar AGA Edition mcgeezer Coders. Contest 1679 01 December 2019 19:26
Rygar AGA - Tecmo's Arcade game as an Amiga conversion is finally here! Neil79 Amiga scene 107 21 October 2019 21:15
Entry: Rygar AGA Edition mcgeezer Coders. Entries 75 28 February 2019 21:41
PeterK's IconLib Official Thread Foul support.Apps 194 29 July 2011 10:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08862 seconds with 16 queries