English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > abime.net - Hosted Projects > project.ClassicWB

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2003, 21:20   #21
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
The archive seems corrupt, but if inflated out of the original downloaded package it would have produced an error saying it's beeen corrupted.

I'm confused.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 27 December 2003 at 21:26.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 28 December 2003, 16:48   #22
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Read this thread from ages ago, just remembered Djay had a similar problem

Try the other method for installing buried somewhere in that thread.

Have you tried extracting System.zip using Winzip or similar program?

Are you using Windows XP? Djay was and got that error message in the thread above.

Quote:
Djay, this does work just fine. I've altered the method slightly. There is no need for stage 2 outlined in my previous post.

Please follow carefully:

1) Unpack system.zip using Winzip into a named PC directory of your choice. Ignore the errors due to the PC's incompatible file system.

2) Open Winuae and add that PC DIRECTORY (the one you unpacked system.zip into in stage 1) under the harddrives tab. NAME THE VOLUME "DH0". Don't have any other harddrive mounted at this stage, including any HDFs.

3) Run the install disk and follow the instructions, ignoring the failure to unpack system.zip (as you've already done it in 1). Make sure you insert the Workbench3.0 disk when asked to do so.

4) Remove the install disk. Reset and see if the damn thing works. It should.

Try this first and get back.

Last edited by Bloodwych; 28 December 2003 at 16:55.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 29 December 2003, 07:26   #23
Thalor
 
Posts: n/a
Apparently Format and Quick Format was the key.
On a whim I redid my HD with a FULL format instead of the quick format and it all worked perfectly. I knew it would be something on my part that was messed up. Now on to the Addon for AGA...the classic WB looks great Bloodwych!
 
Old 29 December 2003, 12:17   #24
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
I'm glad you've got it working, another thing to add to the next tips & FAQ for people who run into a similar problem.

The strange thing is I used "quick format" in Win ME while testing and it still worked fine.

Oh well, as long as it's working now.
Bloodwych is offline  
Old 29 December 2003, 18:16   #25
Thalor
 
Posts: n/a
Well I am using WinXP and that thread does sound and look EXACTLY what was happening to me. But the only change I made was to FULL format the drive before installing. It looks great by the way...only problem now is figuring out what resolution to use in the window as it is skewed (alot of real estate not being used)

But the hard part is over and I thank all of you for the help!
 
Old 29 December 2003, 19:45   #26
Bloodwych
Moderator

Bloodwych's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: I'm behind you!
Posts: 3,763
Do a search in the forum for some advice on screen res.

Also, using the openGL/direct3d settings you can get a good centred screen:
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image2.png
Views:	273
Size:	27.8 KB
ID:	6254  
Bloodwych is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Combining copper scrolling with copper background phx Coders. Asm / Hardware 14 16 June 2013 08:26
Copper effect problem Steve support.WinUAE 3 25 June 2011 15:05
Classic Workbench 1.3 :( (aimed at Bloodwych) Kitty project.ClassicWB 1 04 October 2010 17:17
Bloodwych workbench on winuae synchro project.ClassicWB 14 15 June 2009 21:29
Installing Workbench 3.1 Hicks New to Emulation or Amiga scene 1 05 January 2003 20:45

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 00:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07378 seconds with 17 queries