English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 August 2015, 01:23   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Hardfile size miscalculation?

Hi, I tried to create a 51.200 MB hardfile, and in AmigaForever HDToolBox it is shown as 7.8GB while in AmigaOS 3.9 it is shown as 50GB? May this be the cause for the bug I posted earlier?
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 26 August 2015, 01:46   #2
-Acid-
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: South Shields
Posts: 684
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Hi, I tried to create a 51.200 MB hardfile, and in AmigaForever HDToolBox it is shown as 7.8GB while in AmigaOS 3.9 it is shown as 50GB? May this be the cause for the bug I posted earlier?
51200mb is about 50gb? HDToolBox i'm unsure, is 7.8gb the max partition size it can see correctly maybe?
-Acid- is offline  
Old 26 August 2015, 02:00   #3
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 61
Posts: 3,902
I think HDToolbox from 3.1 and earlier only reports 7.8 while 3.9 HDToolbox reports the correct size. There is an upgrade for pre 3.9 HDToolbox on Aminet.
Arnie is offline  
Old 26 August 2015, 02:00   #4
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by -Acid- View Post
51200mb is about 50gb? HDToolBox i'm unsure, is 7.8gb the max partition size it can see correctly maybe?
HDToolBox for OS 3.1 can see only 4GB, but theoretically the OS 3.9 version can see 4GB to up. The Amiga can access up to 2TB.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arnie View Post
I think HDToolbox from 3.1 and earlier only reports 7.8 while 3.9 HDToolbox reports the correct size. There is an upgrade for pre 3.9 HDToolbox on Aminet.
Wow, thanks! I will try it.

EDIT: Oh no, I misunderstand that it is for *pre* 3.9. Oh bad... Anyway, thanks, for sure.

*** Anyone have other idea? ***

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 26 August 2015 at 02:25.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 26 August 2015, 09:04   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 44
Posts: 23,367
"Not enough information". "Hardfile" can be lots of things.

My crystal ball says you use IDE emulation and you need scsi.device update if you want to access more than about ~8G using A600/A1200/A4000 internal IDE. Nothing to do with emulation.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 27 August 2015, 03:33   #6
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 40
Posts: 1,408
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
"Not enough information". "Hardfile" can be lots of things.

My crystal ball says you use IDE emulation and you need scsi.device update if you want to access more than about ~8G using A600/A1200/A4000 internal IDE. Nothing to do with emulation.
Yes, I am using IDE emulation... But I am using OS 3.9, so should not be a problem with scsi.device, or it is?
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 27 August 2015, 09:38   #7
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,879
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Yes, I am using IDE emulation... But I am using OS 3.9, so should not be a problem with scsi.device, or it is?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
in AmigaOS 3.9 it is shown as 50GB?
Where is your problem?
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A-Max IV hardfile amiman99 support.Hardware 11 17 April 2018 01:01
2.0.1 hardfile problem arti support.WinUAE 6 31 January 2010 19:33
Winuae Hardfile littleb2005 support.WinUAE 3 03 May 2007 21:05
Hardfile not being seen MobbyG support.WinUAE 7 20 December 2005 23:18
Hardfile problems quicksylver support.WinUAE 4 17 November 2003 23:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 07:32.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07159 seconds with 15 queries