English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 August 2005, 19:20   #1
fmcpma
Banned
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Portugal / Porto
Age: 53
Posts: 62
Arcadia (no, not talking about the Duran Duran spin-off!)

Which Arcadia system features are present in WinUAE? What media do its games use? How would (are) these media be emulated? Actually, what are the differences between a stock Amiga (A500?) and this system?

Thanks for any info.
fmcpma is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 August 2005, 19:57   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,905
Arcadia is basically normal A500 + autobooting rom expansion (includes bios and game roms) installed in expansion port.

For supported games check MAME. Games are fully emulated.

Usage is simple, select Arcadia quickstart config and point cartridge rom path to game rom zip (exactly the same as used in MAME)

Default keys:

- F2 = configuration menu
- 1 = start 1 player game
- 2 = start 2 player game
- 5 = insert coin (slot 1)
- 6 = insert coin (slot 2)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 30 August 2005, 20:07   #3
CodyJarrett
Global Moderator

CodyJarrett's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: UK
Age: 40
Posts: 5,767
You can see some Arcadia games in the Hall Of Light
CodyJarrett is offline  
Old 17 July 2006, 00:57   #4
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
Where can I get the game roms? Is there a TOSEC set?
thor is offline  
Old 17 July 2006, 02:54   #5
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by thor
Where can I get the game roms? Is there a TOSEC set?
Planetemu is down at the moment, so grab some arcadia mame roms here:
Leaderboard as an example.

http://www.gametronik.com/site/fiche...0Board%20Golf/

or Sidewinder

http://www.gametronik.com/site/fiche/mame/Sidewinder/

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 17 July 2006 at 03:00.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 17 July 2006, 03:03   #6
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
Thanks, found all supported ones at emuasylum. I want to rename the zips and give them a TOSEC-like name. Had a quick look at the winuae source, the file names are hardcoded in arcadia.c. Would it be practicable not to check the file names of the zip files but comparing the names and stored crc32 of the files inside? Or editable outside the exe?

Last edited by thor; 17 July 2006 at 03:08.
thor is offline  
Old 17 July 2006, 03:11   #7
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by thor
Thanks, found all supported ones at emuasylum. I want to rename the zips and give them a TOSEC-like name. Had a quick look at the winuae source, the file names are hardcoded in arcadia.c. Would it be practicable not to check the file names of the zip files but comparing the names and stored crc32 of the files inside?
I don't know, but is this the same arcadia.c driver found in mame? It is required to check the files & crc's inside a zip, because sometimes they dumped another revision of a board for a new mame version. Or they made other changes with a romset.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 17 July 2006, 03:24   #8
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
I haven't seen MAME's arcadia.c, only the one from WinUAE and that just seems to compare the hardcoded file names. No CRC checking

Code:
static struct arcadiarom roms[]	= {
    { "ar_airh.zip", "scpa211", "airh_", 1, 5, 0, 2, 4, 7, 6, 1, 3 },
...
    { "ar_xeon.zip", "scpa211", "xeon_", 1, 3, 1, 2, 4, 0, 5, 6, 7 },
    { NULL, NULL, NULL }
};


    for (i = 0; roms[i].name; i++) {
	if (!strcmpi (p, roms[i].name)) {
	    rom = &roms[i];
	    break;
	}
    }
thor is offline  
Old 17 July 2006, 03:29   #9
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,001
Maybe Toni has used the mame names because they are standard. So you can just play them without changing the names.

Last edited by Retro-Nerd; 17 July 2006 at 03:55.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 17 July 2006, 03:48   #10
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
That's why I asked. If the crc32 and name checking of the files inside is not practicable, would it be easier to have something like an ini with parameters like "arcadia.ar_sdwr.zip=SideWinder(1988)(Arcadia).zip"? It's ok as it is now, but a more meaningful name would be nicer.
thor is offline  
Old 17 July 2006, 03:54   #11
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 46
Posts: 11,001
A long internal WinUAE name like for the Kickstart roms would be nice, your're right. There are only a few arcadia games. Maybe Toni could change this in a next WinUAE version, with an autodetect-scanner.
Retro-Nerd is online now  
Old 17 July 2006, 13:56   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,905
I did it this way because rom-crc checking system does not really support multiple roms in 2 or more zips (bios in separate zip), Arcadia emulation is really minor part of WinUAE and finally mame rom naming is "standard".
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 17 July 2006, 14:31   #13
thor
Registered User
thor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Germany
Posts: 898
Thanks Toni for answering. Maybe one more idea: The bios has to be placed in the rom folder, so it needs crc checking of the bios files only once (or when you rescan them) and you know the name of the bios zip then and you can warn the user if it's missing when he selects the Arcadia (like it's done on the other models). Then when a zip file in the cartridge rom is inserted you check the contents against the prestored crc32's and this way you can handle the bios and the game zip.
thor is offline  
Old 17 July 2006, 15:59   #14
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,905
Problem is that there are multiple files in every zip that are all part of bios or game. This can't be handled by current scanner.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[Found: Say] Amiga talking Zapp_Brannigan Looking for a game name ? 38 26 October 2017 21:48
Can't spin down SCSI-disc Iznougoud support.Hardware 42 16 September 2016 23:07
CD32 disc won't spin Cooljerk support.Hardware 16 30 December 2011 07:02
CF Micro drive spin down / spin up delay? Matt020 support.Hardware 1 13 January 2010 15:56
What sort of game was The One talking about here? MethodGit Looking for a game name ? 19 03 June 2004 20:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 18:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18677 seconds with 12 queries