English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2014, 07:13   #1
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
WinUAE 2.7.0 Display not centered anymore

After some months i started to play with WinUAE again and i updated to V2.7.0.

But in all my window configs where i use the full Amiga PAL overscan area of 724x566 (724x283 non interlaced) the display is now shifted to the left and down instead of being centered.

I even created a complete new config from scratch to verify this.
But now i have to change the filter settings to center the display again.

Look at the attached screenshots.

This problem is present in V2.6.0 and V2.6.1 too.

V2.5.1 and V2.6.0 public beta 7 were the last versions i could test where the Amiga display was still centered.

Can you verify this?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WinUAE_270_centering_1.png
Views:	200
Size:	182.9 KB
ID:	39104   Click image for larger version

Name:	WinUAE_270_centering_2.png
Views:	182
Size:	79.6 KB
ID:	39105   Click image for larger version

Name:	WinUAE_270_centering_3.png
Views:	179
Size:	78.4 KB
ID:	39106  
Skylight is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 February 2014, 09:03   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
This may sound illogical but try without ticking Display panel centering checkboxes.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 09:25   #3
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
This may sound illogical but try without ticking Display panel centering checkboxes.
I did try it before, but nothing did change.
Skylight is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 09:37   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
Do you have default AOS overscan/display settings or did you create some old winuae compatible setting long time ago? Just wondering because centering has never worked fully (it can't work fully).

Filter panel automatic centering is probably best option if your config is not used with games.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 09:51   #5
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Do you have default AOS overscan/display settings or did you create some old winuae compatible setting long time ago? Just wondering because centering has never worked fully (it can't work fully).

Filter panel automatic centering is probably best option if your config is not used with games.
I told you .. i created i complete new (default) config with V2.7.0 to avoid problems with settings from older versions, after i deleted my old default config.

I can make screenshots how the display is centered in the older versions up to 2.6.0 public beta 7.

And i can send you the config files if you want.

But starting with V2.6.0 (non beta) all window configs (OS3.9/3.1/ClassicWB etc.) are not centered anymore.
Skylight is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 09:52   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
I meant AmigaOS config, not UAE config. (Prefs/Overscan)

EDIT: if it works better (even slightly) when you select defaults, attach your sys:prefs/env-arc/sys/screenmode.prefs and overscan.prefs, thanks.

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 20 February 2014 at 09:59.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 10:03   #7
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
I'm at work now ... but at breakfast and lunch time i will try to extract the AmigaOS/Workbench prefs.
Skylight is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 11:29   #8
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
Here are the screenmode and overscan.prefs of OS3.9 and ClassicWB.

Both are set to max. PAL overscan.

But i don't know what you mean with defaults.

In Overscan Prefs you have no default setting. Here you can only copy the overscan.prefs from install disk again.
But i wanna use maximum overscan anyway.

And since i created a new (A4000) default config in WinUAE 2.7.0 the display and filter settings were on default settings. Except for window size (= max. overscan) and centering in display settings.
Attached Files
File Type: 7z screenmode+overscan.prefs.7z (443 Bytes, 38 views)
Skylight is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 12:28   #9
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
btw .. i know now what the problem is:

in the old configs i still had filter offsets.

But the syntax changed from
"gfx_filter_horiz_offset=" to
"gfx_filter_horiz_offsetf="

so the newer versions >=2.6.0 don't read these old offsets and you have to choose new offsets and save the configs again.
Annoying and not backwards compatible, but just a minor problem now.

I think the Centering checkmarks in display settings don't change anything in the latest versions.
But i remember they did work long time ago.
Skylight is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 12:46   #10
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
It was changed because old way was quite stupid and really needed updating.

Do you get different position if you toggle Misc panel Direct3D/DirectDraw option?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 13:16   #11
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
No .. changing to DirectDraw and back to Direct3D didn't change anything with the display position.
No matter if you check the Centering checkmarks or not.

The only way to center the display are the filter offsets atm.
Skylight is offline  
Old 20 February 2014, 18:13   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
Horizontal centering checkbox really is broken, it seems to decide that prevision position is good enough in this situation. (But code is still the same it has always been.. some debugging to do)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 21 February 2014, 16:24   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip should fix the centering checkbox, please confirm.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 25 February 2014, 20:39   #14
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip should fix the centering checkbox, please confirm.
Sorry .. but centering still doesn't work. (2.7.1 public beta 9 / Direct3D / DirectDraw)
Skylight is offline  
Old 25 February 2014, 20:42   #15
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
Does the centering checkbox still do nothing? Your attached config is perfectly centered on my system now.

EDIT: I copied your .prefs files to my OS39 setup, overwriting old files, booted, screen was not fully centered, ticked horizontal centering checkbox and it was perfect. (No filter options used)

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 25 February 2014 at 20:58.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 February 2014, 06:32   #16
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
hmmm .. at the moment i'm using Win7 64bit on Dell Latitude E5520 with DX9 June 2010.
Maybe later later i will test it on Alienware M14x and M11x and some older machines.
Skylight is offline  
Old 26 February 2014, 16:38   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
PC hardware shouldn't make any difference.

Please attach your config file (perhaps there is something that shouldn't be there). Also make sure filter stuff is completely disabled (it says "No scaling", not "default")
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 26 February 2014, 22:19   #18
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
Here is my new default config file:
Attached Files
File Type: uae DEFAULT.uae (15.1 KB, 41 views)
Skylight is offline  
Old 27 February 2014, 17:13   #19
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,949
I get perfect centering with your config too and there is about 8 pixel gap in right border if I untick horizontal centering checkbox.

Strange..

EDIT: Do you get same problem if you use this: http://www.winuae.net/files/b/winuae.zip ?

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 27 February 2014 at 17:18.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 28 February 2014, 00:18   #20
Skylight
Crazy Collector
Skylight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Munich/Bavaria + Saxony + Thailand
Age: 46
Posts: 150
ok .. with the last public beta from 27.02.2014 the horizontal centering works now.
But vertical centering still doesn't work!
Skylight is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is the Amiga display not centered? Akira New to Emulation or Amiga scene 108 24 August 2017 08:51
Some screens are not vertically centered msayed1977 support.WinUAE 4 06 February 2013 16:38
Winuae won't start anymore/crashes jamotide support.WinUAE 6 01 July 2012 00:18
WinUAE 2.4.1 does not boot with attached HD anymore Jasmin68k support.WinUAE 9 18 June 2012 10:31
Winuae 1.6.1 display pb dlfrsilver support.WinUAE 17 21 June 2009 14:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.32298 seconds with 13 queries