English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 January 2012, 17:39   #1
j_sntos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faro, Portugal
Posts: 41
WinUAE too slow charging games on Window Vista

Hi guys, i recently installed winUAE on my laptop running with Windows Vista OS, but it seems that the program itself charging all the games too slow and even when i exit the program it takes so long do do that operations. Is there any seetings or patches that can fix this. I'm using the latest version of WinUAE 2.3.3. Thanks Guys
j_sntos is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 January 2012, 19:25   #2
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,590
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by j_sntos View Post
Hi guys, i recently installed winUAE on my laptop running with Windows Vista OS, but it seems that the program itself charging all the games too slow and even when i exit the program it takes so long do do that operations. Is there any seetings or patches that can fix this. I'm using the latest version of WinUAE 2.3.3. Thanks Guys
Specs of your laptop would help.
VISTA SUCKS.
FOL is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 01:09   #3
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 40
Posts: 7,177
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
A LOT. INDEED
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 10:25   #4
Mclane
Old fart!

Mclane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Northolt, West London
Age: 56
Posts: 520
Specifications of laptop especially memory size please..

I've used Winuae under vista and it was ok, vista is rubbish tho...
Mclane is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 11:08   #5
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 37
Posts: 17,790
If I remember correctly WinUAE have long start and exit if you don't choose your sound card but something generic like "default sound output".
s2325 is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 13:45   #6
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,962
Only possible answer is: "Your hardware, drivers or PC sucks" without seeing log files (both winuaebootlog.txt and winuaelog.txt)
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 16:14   #7
zipper
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: finland
Posts: 1,393
With my C2D 2.4 GHz Vista lappy I didn't find anything noticeable in WinUAE performance.
zipper is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 17:02   #8
Christian
Zone Friend

Christian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gloucestershire
Age: 44
Posts: 218
sounds like lack of RAM to me (specially with greedy ole Vista)
Christian is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 17:14   #9
j_sntos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faro, Portugal
Posts: 41
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mclane View Post
Specifications of laptop especially memory size please..

I've used Winuae under vista and it was ok, vista is rubbish tho...

Hi Mclane, my laptop specs are:

Laptop: HP Pavilion dv9700 notebook PC
Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T8300 @ 2.40GHz
Memory RAM: 4,00GB
System: 32bits

I don't know how to solve this, hope you can help me...
j_sntos is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 17:16   #10
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
The only options I noticed that might slow startup of the emu is having allthe sound plugins enabled as they enumarate. I have OpenAl and portaudio dissabled. Having them all on adds a second or two to the startup of the emu. on a slower machine, its probably longer.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 17:24   #11
j_sntos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faro, Portugal
Posts: 41
WinUAEbootlog file

Hope the attachment winuaebootlog file helps Toni, can you see which problem is.
Attached Files
File Type: txt winuaebootlog.txt (10.3 KB, 109 views)
j_sntos is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 18:18   #12
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,962
Quote:
WinUAE 1.6.1 (2009.06.18)
Wrong log?
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 18:52   #13
j_sntos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faro, Portugal
Posts: 41
Wrong Log

Hi Tony, where is specificaly located that log file, i've just type "winuaelog" on the windows search engine and the only file that gives me is the one that i've send to you.
j_sntos is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 18:59   #14
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,590
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
The only options I noticed that might slow startup of the emu is having allthe sound plugins enabled as they enumarate. I have OpenAl and portaudio dissabled. Having them all on adds a second or two to the startup of the emu. on a slower machine, its probably longer.

What about that stupid "Shadow copy / cache". Worst feature ever, that slows things up as its constantly backing everything up.

With the specs he has, it should run 100% perfect.
My Laptop runs Fullspeed fine.

I have;
AMD Dual Core (64Bit) 2.2GHz,
Radeon HD3200 1024MB RAM,
4GB System RAM.

Spose the only thing that could let it down is the GFX card,
wonder what card he has.
FOL is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 19:04   #15
Christian
Zone Friend

Christian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Gloucestershire
Age: 44
Posts: 218
Aye, you on about the over-agressive "Pre-Fetch" thingy? I think there is a way to turn that off which is supposed to help. Can't remember how...

Would have thought pretty much any gfx card is up to the job these days?

OP - is the harddrive light on when things are taking their time?
Christian is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 19:10   #16
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 38
Posts: 1,580
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Superfetch,Windows Search and ReadyBoost can be dissabled in Services.msc. These were almost mandatory to dissable in Vista if you wanted to get on with using the machine instead of waiting for the os finishing doing what it wants.

Main problem in vista is that it would try to preload anything and everything you had ever used (games/emus/mp3s/vids ect..) and certainly didnt need them preloading everytime computer was used.

Much more refined in Windows7 and no need to dissable, although I think there auto dissabled for me having an SSD drive anyway.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 20:02   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,962
Stop. Pointless random suggestions help no one.
Toni Wilen is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 20:40   #18
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I have an HP Laptop with Vista and WinUAE works great.

My Specs:

Last edited by Arnie; 02 March 2012 at 19:12.
Arnie is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 20:48   #19
j_sntos
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Faro, Portugal
Posts: 41
So what can i change on my specs/configuration? Can anyone give me a valid possible solution. Toni any sugestions?
j_sntos is offline  
Old 31 January 2012, 20:50   #20
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
Have you tried setting the Cpu Emulation speed to Fastest Possible?
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slow window rendering ClassicWB OS 3.5 vacum project.ClassicWB 20 14 July 2013 19:24
Winuae 2.0 and Vista 64 Emu Amiga support.WinUAE 18 04 March 2010 23:36
Fullscreen/full window problem under Vista Nostalgeek support.WinUAE 8 04 February 2009 18:27
Winuae and Windows Vista BigB support.WinUAE 26 20 December 2008 23:27
Stupid site charging for Amiga games. Ironclaw Amiga scene 37 06 May 2006 11:26

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33491 seconds with 13 queries