English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 May 2014, 12:00   #1
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,150
Message box: hpos=256!?

Hi,

Well, I got this message, what it is I dont know. I think you want to know what this is all about, so there is a little story...

I was playing with WinUAE, and created the perfect configuration for me (on folder "comparison" in archive), one that I can reach +40 MHz in CE modes, without sloppy mouse movement or choppy sound, if this is the way native English speakers say.

Its not perfect yet, but very close, one of the thing I learned is that disabling Catalyst AI (my video board is a Radeon HD 4xxx), seems to speed up WinUAE, and probably fix the malformed texture I get when using masks, too. Interestingly, with this configuration the WinUAE configuration window dont get forever to open when I press F12 to open it, too...

(Ah guys, I am looking for a good Radeon HD 4xxx Tweaker for Windows, please help me, I need very much. )

Then I did had the idea to redo the entire configuration using a "fresh-start", removing all clutter of it. For this I opened two WinUAE panels with Explorer, on one I loaded that configuration and on other I created a fresh configuration with Quickstart A1200, and copied (clicked actually) every option to the "other" WinUAE (new configuration), *minus* the options that remained, and that I guess, which was slowing down WinUAE on my machine.

"Remove interlace artifacts" seems to slowdown the emulator even if I dont open a interlaced screen, it gets very slow. "Double fields" and "double fields+" seems to slow it even if a non interlaced screen is frontmost. I may be wrong of everything, naturally.

Certain combinations of native chipset and RTG options, seems to slowdown the emulation, mainly that from VSync and "Buffer mode" combo boxes, on both "expansions" panel and "display" panel, even without RTG board.

After I copied the Quickstart 1200 to the configuration "2", without modify the RTG options, I ran it, and it crashed. My intention, was to remove any comflict between the RTG options with a fresh configuration.

[EDIT: The best test for it I know, is to run an emulator inside WinUAE on a low spec computer (I use a Dual Core 2 GHz). I usually do this to run emulators with the AmigaOS look and feel, that I love to do, but is good too to test the strenghness of WinUAE and to some degree of the emulators. I love to play with A/NES and classic Nintendo/Capcom roms.

I thought it was interesting how WinUAE options affected emulation speed, without I knowing why the speed go down and not remembering and not giving attention to the changes I did.]

I dont want to bother you or to make you angry, everything here are speculations and I can be wrong, probably. You know how a computer is unpredictable...
Attached Files
File Type: zip Logs.zip (53.6 KB, 42 views)

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 03 May 2014 at 04:20.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 17 May 2014, 10:55   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Quote:
Originally Posted by Leandro Jardim View Post
Well, I got this message, what it is I dont know. I think you want to know what this is all about, so there is a little story...
Not much information.. When booting? When changing some option and returning back to emulator? Screen mode change?

Quote:
"Remove interlace artifacts" seems to slowdown the emulator even if I dont open a interlaced screen, it gets very slow. "Double fields" and "double fields+" seems to slow it even if a non interlaced screen is frontmost. I may be wrong of everything, naturally.
What mode? Even in normal PAL/NTSC modes? (Programmed modes are totally different world)

Quote:
Certain combinations of native chipset and RTG options, seems to slowdown the emulation, mainly that from VSync and "Buffer mode" combo boxes, on both "expansions" panel and "display" panel, even without RTG board.
"Seems" is not scientific enough result, also I don't think "Certain combination" is exact enough explanation.

Quote:
After I copied the Quickstart 1200 to the configuration "2", without modify the RTG options, I ran it, and it crashed. My intention, was to remove any comflict between the RTG options with a fresh configuration.
Where is crash dump file?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 22 May 2014, 04:01   #3
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,150
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Not much information.. When booting? When changing some option and returning back to emulator? Screen mode change?
Oh, sorry. Yes, on boot, on the black screen with OS 3.9.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
What mode? Even in normal PAL/NTSC modes? (Programmed modes are totally different world)
The emulator I was running inside WinUAE opened a NTSC LowRes screen.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
"Seems" is not scientific enough result, also I don't think "Certain combination" is exact enough explanation.
I would be very imprecise if I say that every option present for both RTG and "Chipset" gives a negative effect, because I simply unchecked all the options on both. But I can say certainly, the "Buffer mode" in the RTG panel, slowed down the NTSC screen.

You see, I am not a scientist and as such, never touched the WinUAE source code...

Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
Where is crash dump file?
In the "crash2" folder, inside the archive.

Last edited by Leandro Jardim; 29 May 2014 at 11:50.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
Old 22 May 2014, 15:50   #4
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,657
Crash dump unfortunately is unusable because for some reason I don't have b19 symbol file. b18 exists and also 2.8.0.

Code:
58-517 [774 129-163]: Illegal lget at a584002c PC=fd261e
58-613 [779 119-131]: warning: FFFF written to BEAMCON0 PC=001DC3AC
58-613 [779 122-131]: warning: 00FF written to BEAMCON0 PC=001DC3AC
58-613 [779 224-142]: warning: FFFF written to BEAMCON0 PC=001DC398
58-614 [779 001-143]: warning: 00FF written to BEAMCON0 PC=001DC398
58-614 [779 097-146]: warning: FFFF written to BEAMCON0 PC=001E1AFE
58-614 [779 099-146]: warning: 00FF written to BEAMCON0 PC=001E1AFE
58-631 [780 000=000]: BEAMCON0 0020 -> 00ff PC=001dda06
58-641 [780 000=000]: VSync remembered: 50.003555Hz/1.0=50.003555Hz. MinV=41 MaxV=1120 Adj=0 Units=51198 89.0%
58-650 [780 000=000]: PAL mode V=50.0036Hz H=13855.0586Hz (256x256+0) IDX=10 (PAL) D=0 RTG=0/0
58-650 [780 000=000]: Buffer size (968*2) Native
58-650 [780 000=000]: Created 3840x2160x32 (07398048) surface in DefaultRAM (1)
58-661 [780 000=000]: RTGFREQ: 256*50.0036 = 12800.9102 / 50.0 = 256
58-661 [780 000=000]: BEAMCON0=00FF VTOTAL=00FF  HTOTAL=00FF
58-661 [780 000=000]:   HSSTOP=00FF HBSTRT=00FF  HBSTOP=00FF
58-661 [780 000=000]:   VSSTOP=00FF VBSTRT=00FF  VBSTOP=00FF
58-661 [780 000=000]:   HSSTRT=00FF VSSTRT=00FF HCENTER=00FF
58-661 [780 000=000]:   HSYNCSTART=01FF HSYNCEND=00FD
Something crashed on Amiga side and wrote garbage to custom registers. (Of course this shouldn't trigger the "hpos" warning)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 May 2014, 01:04   #5
Leandro Jardim
Registered User
Leandro Jardim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Legoland
Age: 38
Posts: 1,150
Toni, I guess the crash was caused by lack of memory. The configuration would need at least 4 MB. Sorry.
Leandro Jardim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hello, from my AmigaPC 256!!! Ecalius Member Introductions 15 23 February 2013 21:56
Increasing PM count in message box for regular users NewDeli project.EAB 10 02 August 2009 01:15
WANTED: A600 wild weird wicked box - just the box :P Smiley MarketPlace 0 23 May 2005 17:51
Using 256 colors sence2001 support.Apps 0 02 October 2004 21:34
Cody's 'Good Box, Bad Box' CodyJarrett Nostalgia & memories 15 02 May 2004 11:36

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17962 seconds with 15 queries