English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11 December 2015, 13:28   #1
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,224
PCIe pass-through for RadeonHD series?

This is a question for Master Wilen - I was wondering about the 3D support in OS4.1FE.

Since making a RadeonHD card emulator is utterly unfeasible, what would be the odds of being able to do some sort of PCIe pass-through (like QEMU does) and just dedicate an entire RadeonHD (or maybe non-emulated PCI cards as well, like the Voodoo 3 or the Radeon 9250) to WinUAE, letting the emulated Amiga able to do whatever it needs to do with it?

I remember reading ages ago some really old WinUAE docs about doing PCI passthrough with S3 Virge/Trio cards, to use CGX with it. So maybe there's already some kind of support for this feature? The file in question was called README.PCI.

Just an idea, don't shoot me, Toni

Thanks for all your hard work on WinUAE
jbenam is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 11 December 2015, 15:22   #2
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,674
That documentation snipped most likely came from Amithlon (when JIT was being done) or something like that.

And answer is of course: No. It is someone else's problem. I don't like software emulation + hardware combination (it usually creates worst of both worlds results), not going to touch anything that requires host OS special drivers. And so on. UAE is software emulator first.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 December 2015, 16:08   #3
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,224
Ah, I see!

So it's doable? Well, your motivations are perfectly understandable, no worries

Maybe one day someone will contribute this function to WinUAE - who knows!

Thanks for taking the time to answer my question
jbenam is offline  
Old 11 December 2015, 16:17   #4
sturme
Zone Friend

sturme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seymour/USA
Posts: 46
Not trying to stir the pot tony, honest

But since glide2x.dll emulates voodoo functions, could it possibly do something to emulate 3d on the amiga? I am not a coder, but was just curious.
sturme is offline  
Old 11 December 2015, 17:05   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,674
Quote:
Originally Posted by jbenam View Post
Ah, I see!

So it's doable? Well, your motivations are perfectly understandable, no worries

Maybe one day someone will contribute this function to WinUAE - who knows!

Thanks for taking the time to answer my question
It can only happen when/if someone else writes license compatible emulation of required graphics chip X, Y or Z. Anything passthrough to some extra graphics card: No.

Quote:
Originally Posted by sturme View Post
Not trying to stir the pot tony, honest

But since glide2x.dll emulates voodoo functions, could it possibly do something to emulate 3d on the amiga? I am not a coder, but was just curious.
No. It is driver API wrapper (glide API to some other 3D API), it does not touch hardware.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 11 December 2015, 17:34   #6
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,224
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
It can only happen when/if someone else writes license compatible emulation of required graphics chip X, Y or Z. Anything passthrough to some extra graphics card: No.
Ah, so HW passthrough is not an option. I see!

Oh well, I suppose we need to keep watching MAME's Voodoo 3 driver...
jbenam is offline  
Old 11 December 2015, 18:24   #7
sturme
Zone Friend

sturme's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Seymour/USA
Posts: 46
thank you for the reply Tony
sturme is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Offer you can't possibly pass... Anubis Nostalgia & memories 5 29 September 2015 03:34
Warp3D for RadeonHD Southern Islands amigakit.com News 12 14 April 2015 16:47
New RadeonHD Driver Release amigakit.com Amiga scene 1 18 November 2013 17:00
Mediator 1200 pass-thru bust Boot_WB support.Hardware 0 25 April 2005 19:46
How pass levels in Globdule?? JudasEZT support.Games 5 09 June 2004 11:27

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:49.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.15195 seconds with 14 queries