English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 February 2018, 22:01   #81
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 577
Toni,
On post #1, the following link is not working ( http://www.winuae.net/files/b/pfsdoctor_experimenal.zip ).
It goes to :

Not Found
The requested URL /winuae/files/b/pfsdoctor_experimenal.zip was not found on this server.
----------
Apache/2.2.22 (Debian) Server at download.abime.net Port 80
malko is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 23 February 2018, 22:02   #82
DamienD
Global Moderator

DamienD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: London / Sydney
Age: 41
Posts: 10,883
Quote:
Originally Posted by malko View Post
Toni,
On the post #1, the following link is not working ( http://www.winuae.net/files/b/pfsdoctor_experimenal.zip ).
Being a GM has it's advantages sometimes (rarely though) as I can see all post history

Try this: http://www.winuae.net/files/b/pfs3aio_v3.0_test4.zip

...mind you, the very 1st URL Toni posted in the 1st post of the thread also works
DamienD is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 22:18   #83
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 949
@DamienD

malko is asking for link to experimental pfsdoctor, not pfsaio itself. Link on posting #1 now works though, so I guess you fixed it.
kolla is online now  
Old 23 February 2018, 22:20   #84
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 577
Test #4 already downloaded Damien. Thanks .
I wanted to download" pfsdoctor" indeed. Maybe I am tired but I can't download it : neither in github nor in the zip file (see text in bold below).
Please, don't tell me that I am tired, I would prefer to know that the link is broken
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
[...]Souces available from https://github.com/tonioni/pfs3aio (and pfsdoctor)
Source tree also includes experimental >4G file size (48 bit file length field) support but it is not enabled in this version. Contact me if you want to test it.

>104G partition support and >4G file size support requires reformat and on-disk structures are not anymore compatible with old PFS3 or PFSDoctor versions. (http://www.winuae.net/files/b/pfsdoc...perimental.zip Note: command line only, no GUI like in official pfsdoctor)[...]
malko is offline  
Old 23 February 2018, 22:23   #85
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
@DamienD

malko is asking for link to experimental pfsdoctor, not pfsaio itself. Link on posting #1 now works though, so I guess you fixed it.
You write faster than me .

PS: Yes, working now. My thanks to the person who corrected the link
malko is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 00:26   #86
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1,087
Just an empty "it seems to be working report":
Test3 seems to be working on A4000d with 32GB Sandisk Extreme on IDE.
Uninteresting specs:
A4000 LC060@50MHz w/64MB motherboard hack.
Will try test4 soon.

Also Thank you and good work as always.

I have a few different SCSI cards I can test if anyone has any requests.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 11:42   #87
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 949
Been testing out on my CD32/TF328 setup, with some mixed results, using a CF card and scsi.device 46.0 It is a little unclear to me - should one use pfsformat at all? Or just AmigaOS format quick, and then use setfnsize and setdeldir to set those options? I tried using pfsformat quick, but then pfsdoctor often finds errors after copying data back to the partition and rebooting. It seems better with OS3.9 format, but I am not confident Also, quite a few times, formatting a device still leaves the content there, as if not formatted.

Well, as I mentioned, this is CD32 with TF328, and with scsi.device 46,0 (http://wt.exotica.org.uk/test.html) which _seems_ to be the only scsi.device working with multiple partitions on my setup (but that may just be an illusion of course). With scsi.device 43, the system goes into a repeated reboot cycle upon boot when I have more partitions defined
kolla is online now  
Old 24 February 2018, 11:55   #88
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Been testing out on my CD32/TF328 setup, with some mixed results, using a CF card and scsi.device 46.0 It is a little unclear to me - should one use pfsformat at all? Or just AmigaOS format quick, and then use setfnsize and setdeldir to set those options? I tried using pfsformat quick, but then pfsdoctor often finds errors after copying data back to the partition and rebooting. It seems better with OS3.9 format, but I am not confident Also, quite a few times, formatting a device still leaves the content there, as if not formatted.

Well, as I mentioned, this is CD32 with TF328, and with scsi.device 46,0 (http://wt.exotica.org.uk/test.html) which _seems_ to be the only scsi.device working with multiple partitions on my setup (but that may just be an illusion of course). With scsi.device 43, the system goes into a repeated reboot cycle upon boot when I have more partitions defined
I don't really care when using drivers or hardware that may or may not have other issues..

pfsformat or format, no difference (just don't select full format).

Last edited by Toni Wilen; 24 February 2018 at 12:04.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 February 2018, 12:00   #89
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 614
That reboot issue could be a known bug in scsi.device 43.43 (from 3.9 Boing Ball 2)
it has a bug that fails with all drives >4G that are reporting lba48 capability.
Try scsi.device version 43.45.
Don Adan's version 46.0 is not something I would trust. He couldn't tell its basic features or even which version it was based on. ('just some version someone sent him')
fgh is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 12:01   #90
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 614
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
I don't really care when using drivers or hardware that may or may not have other issues..

pfsformat or format, no difference (just don't select quick format).
DON'T select quick format?!
fgh is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 12:04   #91
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,897
It was supposed to be "don't select full format". Fixed
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 February 2018, 14:41   #92
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 782
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
Been testing out on my CD32/TF328 setup, with some mixed results, using a CF card and scsi.device 46.0 It is a little unclear to me - should one use pfsformat at all? Or just AmigaOS format quick, and then use setfnsize and setdeldir to set those options? I tried using pfsformat quick, but then pfsdoctor often finds errors after copying data back to the partition and rebooting. It seems better with OS3.9 format, but I am not confident Also, quite a few times, formatting a device still leaves the content there, as if not formatted.

Well, as I mentioned, this is CD32 with TF328, and with scsi.device 46,0 (http://wt.exotica.org.uk/test.html) which _seems_ to be the only scsi.device working with multiple partitions on my setup (but that may just be an illusion of course). With scsi.device 43, the system goes into a repeated reboot cycle upon boot when I have more partitions defined
I have a TF328 and never encounter problems with PFS3aio, I have used 4, 8, and 16 gb CF`s with multiple partitions and even before Toni`s updates they all ran flawlessly and thats with scsi.device 40.5 !

The only time I did have errors was when I had bad IDE to cf adapter and that was throwing up `wrong index` and all the other normal errors but when I changed it for a good one then I had no problems and thats with a £2 cf adapter
supaduper is online now  
Old 24 February 2018, 16:37   #93
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,897
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
the system goes into a repeated reboot cycle upon boot when I have more partitions defined
Can you still enter early boot menu? Does it stop rebooting if you disable all partitions in early boot menu? (and yes, try 43.45, it is known working)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 February 2018, 17:00   #94
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,303
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
Test #4 working here : both FS-UAE / real A1200/060 using the same CF-Card
Foul is online now  
Old 24 February 2018, 18:53   #95
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 1,030
Updated to test4 without any ill side effects. Thank you again.
See below for my config.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Sinphaltimus View Post
PFS3aioTest3 successfully applied to my Vampirized A500 Apollo OS r43 SSD. After successful reboot, PFSDoctor is happy with all devices.

DH0:777MB, DH2:512MB and DH1:27.5GB

- Thank you.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 21:12   #96
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 577
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Wilen View Post
[...] pfsformat or format, no difference (just don't select full format).
Except the consideration that a quick format take less time, is there any reason not to perform a normal format (full) ?
malko is offline  
Old 24 February 2018, 21:46   #97
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 455
If you're using a flash-based memory device, the full format will use up a lot of the limited number of write cycles for the device.
E-Penguin is online now  
Old 24 February 2018, 21:53   #98
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 43
Posts: 20,897
>4G safe filesystem won't make full format >4G safe. Even if format is >4G safe, it may not use same (working) access mode that filesystem uses (Full format bypasses filesystem) so you may still get bad results..

Unsafe format program + full formatting partition that is not fully inside first 4G: partition table and first partition will get fully or partially overwritten..

It is safer to never use full format.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 24 February 2018, 23:09   #99
malko
Registered User

malko's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: CH
Posts: 577
What a big surprise to learn that "Full format bypasses filesystem".
Will look at the "format" command with different eyes now .

Thank you for the explanation .
malko is offline  
Old 25 February 2018, 00:10   #100
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 949
With scsi.device 43.45 all my problems vanished, everything working great!

I am baffled how this version of scsi.device has been flying under my radar, considering that it is from 2008, on Aminet and all.
kolla is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3aio vs SFS/02 White support.WinUAE 10 13 April 2018 21:44
PFS3AIO Probs ? Foul support.FS-UAE 0 21 February 2018 22:49
PFS3AIO Questions manic23 support.Hardware 26 22 April 2014 13:49
Pfs3aio ???? stingray76 support.Hardware 2 19 February 2014 09:15
FinalWriter 97; FinalCalc 1.04; Final Data 2.00 & Final Copy aebrown-u request.Apps 20 12 July 2009 11:19

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:22.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.28937 seconds with 13 queries