English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 24 September 2017, 21:07   #141
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
How do you mean? I've never noticed this. Like on a grenade throw?
It's a little hard to explain, maybe this vid will show it. PC on the left, Amiga on the right. The gun/hand animation on the pc is smooth, the Amiga is like it has frameskip 2 or 3 on! This occurs with default config.

[ Show youtube player ]
trixster is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 24 September 2017, 23:19   #142
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 819
I see what you mean that is very noticeable. What resolution on the Amiga? Is it any smoother at lower res?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 24 September 2017, 23:30   #143
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 315
There's some info in the thread
"cl_maxfps" -maybe- could help with this: If I remember well, the refresh is on a higher value (for PC) by default (but the value doesn't get recorded when closing game).

Is different from original Hyperion?


About hardware donations, well If I can get myself soon a proper hardware with a "compatible Amiga-like OS" & can tinker stuff as I did, I will be fine.

On the other hand, if I have something cool to show & there's an absolute need for hardware surely I will ask for it.

But again, thanks
Cowcat is offline  
Old 24 September 2017, 23:59   #144
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 843
Quote:
Originally Posted by grelbfarlk View Post
I see what you mean that is very noticeable. What resolution on the Amiga? Is it any smoother at lower res?
640x480, same at low res and in software.

cl_maxfps is 90 which is the default, changing it does not affect the animation behaviour. I will install the Hyperion version to compare.

Last edited by trixster; 25 September 2017 at 00:15.
trixster is offline  
Old 29 September 2017, 21:10   #145
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 843
In Hyperion quake 2 the gun animation is smooth.
trixster is offline  
Old 30 September 2017, 12:28   #146
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 315
Quote:
In Hyperion quake 2 the gun animation is smooth.
Have to check out that whenever I got my old hard drive chained to my new hardware.


2 things: Maybe fixes/updates done by Hyperion after release the aminet sources or the undisclosed minigl sources have something to do.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 22:24   #147
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 315
Test, test, test for the warpos world.

New widescreen modes, the classic mods (taken from Yamagi), fixes here & there.

Options "gl_fog" (various commands) , "horplus" (to fix fov when using widescreen).

Not 99% proved.

Only gl_nolru.dll by now. vidplay.dll not needed anymore (movies finally on same screen/window).
Attached Files
File Type: lha Quake2_wos_beta3.lha (1.44 MB, 23 views)

Last edited by Cowcat; 27 October 2017 at 22:29.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 27 October 2017, 22:30   #148
Hedeon
Sonnet Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 398
Bad timIng for me.. I'm at Neuss. :-)

Great work, cowcat!
Hedeon is offline  
Old 30 October 2017, 22:36   #149
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 616
The new beta works fine here, until you change GL NO LRU to GL in video settings menu
Game attempts to reload but we get a wos exception hit and all stops.

Also why force wb shutdown by default ? It dows not work here when you run Q2 from shell, and produces some funny effects, should be an option, and not on by default imho.
Michael is offline  
Old 30 October 2017, 23:28   #150
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 315
Ups, redoing the old beta I forgot to put "0" to wb_shutdown. Easy changed on config.cfg

I only built gl_nolru.dll this time -fact is gl.dll never worked well for the warpos vbcc version- .

Don't mix the game with an older gl.dll if still exist in same place (of course is a blatant crash). When a gl.dll is missing, game just return to soft rendering.

Maybe a second release some days from now and other mod from Yamagi. Tighting up some code and old mistakes. And the 68k version build.

The frame drop of drawing gun that was reported is still a mistery but I guess the use of the provided dll source could be the cause, because not only happens on gl render but also in soft render.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 05:50   #151
Michael
A1260T/PPC/BV/SCSI/NET

Michael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Moscow / Russia
Posts: 616
gl.dll seemed to work a bit faster for me (first posts) ;-) or was the original CB binary...
Michael is offline  
Old 31 October 2017, 09:52   #152
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 315
Quote:
gl.dll seemed to work a bit faster for me (first posts)
Never was a gl.dll : It was a glnolru modded a little bit that for convenience I renamed to test between both non modded-modded. I said it

I prefered now to go back to the original code in some parts I changed in the search of possible bugs I might done. There has been multiple Q2 versions in those last years with frustating results.

A lot is done like inline endian swap code (still littlefloat to test) some inlines for gl calls, small fixes like the scroll animations -the computer screens on the game had frozen text originally-, some rotating gl code that was allways done no matter what ( fixed on last versions of blitz & hexen2), etc, etc.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 14:45   #153
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 843
I've been testing beta 3 today.

With beta2 and previous versions the default config.cfg command gl_ext_multitexture is 1 and all works ok, but with beta 3 this results in all textures not showing (at least this is the case on my Voodoo3). When that command set to 0 followed by vid_restart all is well, textures appear fine. Any ideas why this might be the case?
trixster is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 14:50   #154
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 315
New versions and updates:

Inlined endian code, upgraded baseq2 game dll with the same savemode like used in yamagi mods, fixes for shadows, new debug rendermodes, etc, etc.

The 68k version is in dubious state: Some render problems appear using Morphos (happens also with older versions I did), so I don't know if 68k users noticed that or is something with the emulation. Some endianess was missing on earlier versions (wrong colours on models) & maybe now works with the upgraded code.
Also some stuff is changed now from earlier versions too...

Can't check cd audio (doesn't seem to work on MOS) & if gl dlls free the textures as supposed to do (more MOS issues with emulation - like no fog !!!!).

Still the render frame dropping with gun, but doesn't seem to be a problem with thirdperson mode playing.

Probably a random crash when going from level to level.
The new savemode works much better and survives changing code and doesn't care of old builds (a little bigger game.dll).

Source to be uploaded soon : I have to make room and delete some of my earlier stuff of all threads so grab now till you can.
Attached Files
File Type: lha Quake2-wos-beta3-r2.lha (1.62 MB, 30 views)
File Type: lha Quake2-060-beta3-r2.lha (1.28 MB, 127 views)
Cowcat is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 18:21   #155
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,195
Tested con WinUAE AFA_OS it works fine 640x480 and 800x600 rendering software, in window mode you get red screen,

With mode MiniGL the game is a little slower, some bad artifactgraphic, work fine in window 640x480 and 800x600 but little slower.

[ Show youtube player ]
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Quake2 RTG.jpg
Views:	1171
Size:	127.7 KB
ID:	55399  
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 13 November 2017, 19:26   #156
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 315
Quote:
With mode MiniGL the game is a little slower, some bad artifactgraphic, work fine in window 640x480 and 800x600 but little slower.
Technically should be faster with the gl versions but in UAE/Wazp3D territory that could be an issue.

Happens the same with older 68k beta2 ?

There are some gl vars usefull to gain more speed commented in this thread (gl_particles, gl_mintriarea, etc.)

Oh, some show off video by the way of "good" emulation
(No pun intended) [ Show youtube player ]
Cowcat is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 00:07   #157
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,195
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cowcat View Post
Technically should be faster with the gl versions but in UAE/Wazp3D territory that could be an issue.
With Wazp3D much better and it's fast enough even 800x600

With 68040 it works welll
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Quake 2.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	86.1 KB
ID:	55405  

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 14 November 2017 at 10:17.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 14 November 2017, 11:45   #158
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 315
Just to point out that sometimes using multitexture for this kind of engines compiled with old mgl, doesn't really work with some emulation/gfx cards.
So now for Q2 I have "gl_ext_multitexture" set to "0". There's no real multitexture with old mgl source: It is simulated.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 21 November 2017, 15:49   #159
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 315
Attached Files
File Type: lha Q2_vbcc_Beta3r2_src.lha (2.03 MB, 14 views)
Cowcat is offline  
Old 22 November 2017, 02:21   #160
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 819
Cowcat, I know you're a VBCC man, but I just wondered if you have built a GCC version of libmgl.a ?
grelbfarlk is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADF-Workshop (formerly DMS-Workshop) Crashdisk project.TOSEC (amiga only) 134 28 July 2017 19:39
Anim Workshop Manual _amigan request.Other 0 03 December 2012 16:30
Looking for Anim Workshop 2.0 amigagenie request.Apps 12 10 July 2011 18:07
Quake, Quake 2 and Heretic 2 don't run after update to Mediator TX Turrican(AEB) support.Games 14 25 August 2008 22:11
Workshop Pron Boot_WB Hardware pics 19 06 June 2008 21:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31545 seconds with 15 queries