English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 June 2017, 15:21   #41
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,188
Quote:
Originally Posted by th4t1guy View Post
The sx1 would not be able to work with this, as it wouldn't fit inside the cd32, but it has RGB anyways.
Sorry, I didn't think you meant to use with this.

There is nothing to use with these yet But I hope soon there will be!

And about RAM, I guess if you put a full 68020 in there, Fast RAM capacity might get larger (and I am hoping compatibility would be the same with an EC020?).
Akira is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 14 June 2017, 17:50   #42
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 535
Well, the FMV module should work, and possibly the sx32 might partially work, but yes, I would love to see new expansions for the cd32 as well!

I got the info about the RAM limits here: http://amiga.resource.cx/mod/cd32.html

You can run a lot with 10mb of RAM, but Workbench could be a little better with some more. I've run ClassicWB 3.1 and default 3.9 on the cd32, and both are very usable at 16 colors. However, it often feel likes 10mb is right on the edge.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 15 October 2017, 22:13   #43
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeċ
Age: 37
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I did not know that. Useless though because I'll have a keyboard plugged in there.
I bought some PS/2 Y-adapters/splitters made for laptops, used to connect both mouse and keyboard to a single PS/2 connector on the laptop. These forward the keyboard signals to one connector and the two unused PS2 pins to the other. As the amiga uses the same pins as PS/2 for the keyboard, and the two unused pins are /TXD and /RXD on the CD32, this is perfect. Both female connectors have GND and +5V.

So just chopped of the female PS2 connector connected to the serial pins and connected a DB9 TTL<->RS232 converter there.

Unfortunately, I have no idea if I was just lucky with my purchase, or if this is a the most common PS/2 Y-adapter/splitter pinout.

Attaching an image of how it looks like this when connected to a null modem cable and an A2000 keyboard.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_7592.jpg
Views:	80
Size:	514.0 KB
ID:	55050  
patrik is offline  
Old 17 October 2017, 17:52   #44
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 369
Did you have to invert the TTL serial lines for the RS232 converter, or are you passing them through as-is?

I want to make a SLIP wifi adapter for the CD32, or at least interface it to an existing one.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 19 October 2017, 11:11   #45
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeċ
Age: 37
Posts: 327
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
Did you have to invert the TTL serial lines for the RS232 converter, or are you passing them through as-is?
No, they are the correct the way they are already. I have also read that misinformation which unfortunately is circulating. They aren’t inverted in other amigas before the TTL<->RS232 converter btw, just check the schematics.

Works in 115200 in NComm with 8n1.device btw, but I wouldn’t count on it if the system is loaded with other things at the same time.
patrik is offline  
Old 19 October 2017, 21:25   #46
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 369
That's interesting - I've read in several places about the TTL inversion. I'll have to get out my arduino and start probing...
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 19 October 2017, 22:42   #47
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeċ
Age: 37
Posts: 327
I guess it’s a case of someone saying something they thought was correct, without verifying it, which unfortunately happened to be spread further and became “the truth”.

The CD32 Debug Board Schematics should be a good source for example, it passes /RXD and /TXD directly to a MAX241.

Also, I am quite sure there is no chance it would work at 115200 if the signal was inversed compared to what it should be.
patrik is offline  
Old 20 October 2017, 00:10   #48
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 369
Could it be the rs232 converter is triggering on the rising edge at the end of the bit, effectively performing the inversion by default? If you're only counting rising edges then both logics are equivalent.

The schematics do show it as being inverted on the connector.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 20 October 2017, 00:57   #49
patrik
Registered User
patrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Umeċ
Age: 37
Posts: 327
Yes, all the RS232-converters I have seen are shown as inverters in their internal schematics - just check the data sheet for say the classic MAX232. It is probably no coincidence that /RXD and /TXD are active low on Paula already.
patrik is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is Address $08000000? Coprocessor Slot Expansion? selco support.Hardware 2 18 March 2015 12:53
Amiga 500 Expansion slot switch HR186S Hardware mods 5 09 March 2015 14:42
Group buy - A1200 expansion slot connectors kipper2k support.Hardware 6 26 December 2014 21:49
Wanted: CD32 Expansion slot bezel Pacemaker MarketPlace 1 20 January 2012 09:31
CD32 expansion slot to A1200 possible? Akiko support.Hardware 2 18 November 2011 19:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17148 seconds with 14 queries