English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 March 2017, 18:35   #21
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
I was going to add just VGA connector to mine and thats it. Maybe a header for the TTL level Serial port... but thats just for using with DiagROM (which is almost working on the Atari ST!!!).
TTL serial port with a device driver for AmigaOS would be awesome, especially if it can be slightly faster than native Amiga CIA driven serial ports are
kolla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 March 2017, 18:46   #22
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
TTL serial port with a device driver for AmigaOS would be awesome, especially if it can be slightly faster than native Amiga CIA driven serial ports are
Gotta echo talybont:
Quote:
Originally Posted by talybont View Post
Please don't let this thread devolve into a feature request/wish list.
Akira is offline  
Old 15 March 2017, 20:21   #23
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by kolla View Post
TTL serial port with a device driver for AmigaOS would be awesome, especially if it can be slightly faster than native Amiga CIA driven serial ports are


The Amiga serial port isn't in the CIA. It's in The custom chips.

The CD32 already has the signals and they are brought out to the connector


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Last edited by plasmab; 16 March 2017 at 00:27.
plasmab is offline  
Old 16 March 2017, 10:43   #24
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 3,076
Isn't the Aux port on CD32 a TTL serial port?
idrougge is offline  
Old 16 March 2017, 10:46   #25
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Isn't the Aux port on CD32 a TTL serial port?


Not sure which port you are talking about? The round din type port is a A4000 keyboard port IIRC


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 16 March 2017, 11:00   #26
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
@spidi
Delightful work, I look forward to seeing more =)

@plasmab

On the CD32 the AUX Port is both a Keyboard Input and a serial port

Interestingly there was a MODEM dongle made for it, I think it was call the Navigator or something similar.
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 16 March 2017, 11:06   #27
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,573
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
@spidi
Delightful work, I look forward to seeing more =)

@plasmab

On the CD32 the AUX Port is both a Keyboard Input and a serial port

Interestingly there was a MODEM dongle made for it, I think it was call the Navigator or something similar.


I did not know that. Useless though because I'll have a keyboard plugged in there.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 16 March 2017, 11:16   #28
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
Yes, I used to have a serial port/keyboard splitter for the CD32, long vanished. About the CIAs and the serial port (and parallel port), they are what stand between the custom chips (Paula, really) and the actual physical ports. On CD32, Akiko does this job (iirc). From what I recall, Jens has written a few times that there isn't much one can add to a CD32 expansion without also having to add CIA chips to it, the SX32Pro certainly has two 8520s.
kolla is offline  
Old 16 March 2017, 11:22   #29
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,573
Erm. Not for RS232. Yes for parallel. Paula is connected to a line driver. Other bits of the serial port are controlled by the CIAs but RX/TX are not. I know this because DiagROM still outputs with the CIA missing.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 16 March 2017, 11:25   #30
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
Here is what I would add to an easily accessible TTL:
http://www.dx.com/p/bt06-bluetooth-s...-module-440026

kolla is offline  
Old 16 March 2017, 11:29   #31
kolla
Registered User
kolla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Trondheim, Norway
Posts: 767
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Erm. Not for RS232. Yes for parallel. Paula is connected to a line driver. Other bits of the serial port are controlled by the CIAs but RX/TX are not.
Yes, you are of course correct - I see that now. RX/TX, along with AUDIN/AUDOUT (audio? really?) are the only pins on the serial port not going via CIA

http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/download...schematics.pdf
kolla is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 01:23   #32
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by spidi View Post
Expansion port and VGA connector designed for Amiga CD32.


The project has been completed
Soon in stores.

https://retro.7-bit.pl/?lang=en&go=p...&name=CD32EXSL
spidi is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 02:43   #33
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,422
Splendid work, Spidi!
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 10:01   #34
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 389
Please excuse the ignorance, but what does one plug into the expansion slots? I have a freshly arrived CD32 which is practically begging for some kind of upgrade.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 10:24   #35
talybont
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Norway
Posts: 77
Quote:
Originally Posted by E-Penguin View Post
Please excuse the ignorance, but what does one plug into the expansion slots? I have a freshly arrived CD32 which is practically begging for some kind of upgrade.
As mentioned earlier in this thread: Fast RAM and IDE controller. But these are not done yet AFAIK.
talybont is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 14:31   #36
E-Penguin
Banana

 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Location: Darmstadt
Posts: 389
I'd read that, but assumed it meant just spidi's boards in particular, rather than generally nothing was yet available.
E-Penguin is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 18:36   #37
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,304
There's a couple old accelerators that I Would not recommend, the SX1 and SX32.
Other than that and the FMV module, nothing connects back there.

Spidi: GREAT work!!! Looking forward to IDE+Fast RAM expansion
Akira is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 20:27   #38
th4t1guy
Registered User
th4t1guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Kansas City, MO, USA
Posts: 543
The sx1 would not be able to work with this, as it wouldn't fit inside the cd32, but it has RGB anyways.

On nice thing about the accelerator add-ons though is I believe they support 64mb RAM. Otherwise, you need a processor board to go past 8mb.
th4t1guy is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 20:28   #39
plasmab
Registered User

plasmab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Glasgow
Posts: 1,573
Not open source = someone will have to reinvent it


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
plasmab is offline  
Old 13 June 2017, 21:38   #40
spidi
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Wroclaw/Poland
Posts: 117
Quote:
Originally Posted by plasmab View Post
Not open source = someone will have to reinvent it

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Good luck for your open-source projects.
spidi is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What is Address $08000000? Coprocessor Slot Expansion? selco support.Hardware 2 18 March 2015 12:53
Amiga 500 Expansion slot switch HR186S Hardware mods 5 09 March 2015 14:42
Group buy - A1200 expansion slot connectors kipper2k support.Hardware 6 26 December 2014 21:49
Wanted: CD32 Expansion slot bezel Pacemaker MarketPlace 1 20 January 2012 09:31
CD32 expansion slot to A1200 possible? Akiko support.Hardware 2 18 November 2011 19:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.22452 seconds with 15 queries