English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 January 2015, 19:26   #1
bugsymalone666
Amiga baby yeah!

bugsymalone666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 70
My Amiga has become a bit flakey..!

So recently I have been playing with my amiga more and more, got an A590 for it which now has a 1gb HD, and was going to start installing workbench 2.1 and tons of games on it, when it became a little flakey.

So 12 months ago using instructions off the internet I built an adaptor which uses a raspberry pi to replace the existing floppy drive that had died, but also had an external diskette drive for using real disks. Its been working okish until recently where I have encountered a few issues:

Chip memory amount is intermittent - I soldered ram sockets on the motherboard in the spare gaps to replace a dead trapdoor expansion, using chips/caps from a section of Amiga bought on ebay and modding the solder pads built an inboard 1mb chipram expansion. Now initially this was fine but recently when I load workbench sometimes its 512k sometimes its 1 mb.

ability to read/format disks - now I am not 100% sure, I had a load of unused PC disks which have been stored in a disk box for years, all brand new that had driver software on so I thought I'll use those, but the Amiga would format some and others would have bad tracks even though they have never been used, I guess it could be the disks but still seemed a bit weird how lots of disks would fail at the same point.

Up until the last few weeks, my Raspberry Pi drive has been fine, I select the disk I want to load and thats what it does, now it seams to hang when loading as if the disk drive isnt working properly. I thought this may be a disk controller issue based on the issue above.

I tried swapping the CIA chips over as I understand they can be a probem, the 68k has been out of its socket recently and reseated, but I dont seem to be able to basically get the thing to work anymore which is annoying.


Any ideas?
bugsymalone666 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 January 2015, 20:18   #2
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by bugsymalone666 View Post
So recently I have been playing with my amiga more and more, got an A590 for it which now has a 1gb HD, and was going to start installing workbench 2.1 and tons of games on it, when it became a little flakey.

So 12 months ago using instructions off the internet I built an adaptor which uses a raspberry pi to replace the existing floppy drive that had died, but also had an external diskette drive for using real disks. Its been working okish until recently where I have encountered a few issues:

Chip memory amount is intermittent - I soldered ram sockets on the motherboard in the spare gaps to replace a dead trapdoor expansion, using chips/caps from a section of Amiga bought on ebay and modding the solder pads built an inboard 1mb chipram expansion. Now initially this was fine but recently when I load workbench sometimes its 512k sometimes its 1 mb.

ability to read/format disks - now I am not 100% sure, I had a load of unused PC disks which have been stored in a disk box for years, all brand new that had driver software on so I thought I'll use those, but the Amiga would format some and others would have bad tracks even though they have never been used, I guess it could be the disks but still seemed a bit weird how lots of disks would fail at the same point.

Up until the last few weeks, my Raspberry Pi drive has been fine, I select the disk I want to load and thats what it does, now it seams to hang when loading as if the disk drive isnt working properly. I thought this may be a disk controller issue based on the issue above.

I tried swapping the CIA chips over as I understand they can be a probem, the 68k has been out of its socket recently and reseated, but I dont seem to be able to basically get the thing to work anymore which is annoying.


Any ideas?
Whenever hardware acts up, it is always advisable to revert the Amiga to its default condition, remove all addons and put your original floppy driv back in to see if the problem remains, if all is well, add one addon at a time to see when the problem restarts.
kipper2k is offline  
Old 01 January 2015, 21:07   #3
bugsymalone666
Amiga baby yeah!

bugsymalone666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 70
Well I'm thinking that it seems to be since the a590, so i removed that but its still flakey even though it was working before. Which is why i found it odd that with the RPI drive and memory its been fine for 12 months but now regardless it wont operate properly. My theory is it might be something to do with the RPI drive and i have contacted the guy who designed them to see if he has any ideas.

I just wondered if there are any other bits on amigas that cause them to act up for no particular reason.
bugsymalone666 is offline  
Old 02 January 2015, 01:52   #4
Cymru
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Dorathea/AT
Posts: 371
Question Your kidding, right?

These are 30 year old computers meant to last only a few years, so "Flakey" is the Amiga's bread and butter. The forums list everything for capacitors and power supplies down to software patches, brittle solder joints, and poor plug in connections; so start with as basic, unexpanded machine as possible (Amigakit sells new replacement floppy drives) and see if it is still unstable or "flakey."
Cymru is offline  
Old 09 January 2015, 16:51   #5
bugsymalone666
Amiga baby yeah!

bugsymalone666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 70
So randomly, I think it may have actually been corrupt data on my SD card for my Pi drive, or maybe power.

Either way it seems to be working now and even booting from the Hard drive!
bugsymalone666 is offline  
Old 09 January 2015, 19:26   #6
Paul_s
needs more ice cream

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 39
Posts: 3,162
can't beat old technology vs. new
Paul_s is offline  
Old 13 January 2015, 14:46   #7
bugsymalone666
Amiga baby yeah!

bugsymalone666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Basingstoke
Posts: 70
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
can't beat old technology vs. new
Somedays you cant! At least with the Amiga its built in such away you can resolder stuff!

I think the problem with my Raspberry Pi drive is it uses an SD card to store all the data, the thing with this is, it doesnt take to kindly to being powered off suddenly. The problem with the Amiga is there is no 'shutdown' just power off.

The guy who originally built the pi drive did a great job, but after this it has made me consider that an extra shutdown circuit is needed to stop future issues of this!
bugsymalone666 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A1200 composite/rgb video port flakey? Akira support.Hardware 2 18 April 2012 00:44
Why is the 1200's internal IDE so Flakey? XDelusion support.Hardware 5 08 November 2011 02:54
REQ: 17-Bit Artwork 2 (1988-04)(17-Bit Software) Sea7 request.Demos 5 13 May 2011 02:07
8 bit to optimized 6 bit palette histogram improvements needed NovaCoder Coders. General 0 14 April 2011 03:13
Amiga 600 (16 BIT), Amiga 1200 (??? BIT)? etheridge support.Hardware 9 20 May 2002 03:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 17:04.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20623 seconds with 12 queries