English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 19 January 2015, 16:51   #1
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 567
RGB SCART VESALIA Problem.

Hi Folks.

I have a RGB SCART Cable for my Amiga (from Vesalia-Germany)

BUT the weird thing is,
when i move the Mouse the Picture begins to flicker,
if i stop the mouse, the picture is fine.

Basically, everything that need power....
for example...
if the CF-Card loads - the screen flickers
if i move the mouse - the screen flickers
if i load a partydemo, and the demo is already in ram -
it flickers like crazy.

why is that ?

The thing is.. there are no resistors or anything like that in the plug.
Only direct soldering to the pins.

( The should be Resistors, like in the picture, right ?
ohhh Vesalia, i have always problems with your stuff !!! )

No resistors whatsoever, and the Grounds are all soldered together.

What can i do ? - just get those resistors ?
Please help, the picture with composite is.... Mehhhh at best

Little Nibbler needs help for his baby Amiga
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	amiga-to-scart.png
Views:	109
Size:	69.9 KB
ID:	42913  
Nibbler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 19 January 2015, 16:58   #2
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
I think this is a case for replacing the caps, seems power is being starved when the Amiga isput to work. do you also get flicker when floppy drive loads ?
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 January 2015, 17:15   #3
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
I think this is a case for replacing the caps, seems power is being starved when the Amiga isput to work. do you also get flicker when floppy drive loads ?
Thanks Kipper !

The CAPS in my Exp. Amiga Cd32 are all super sweet. ( i used multimeter )

And on all TVīs the Cable works super fine,
EXECPT on my gaming Sony Trinitron WEGA. (KV-14LM1E)

I have also a second Cd32 .. Same problem with that cable on that TV...
but i like that TV.....
Dawm
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	TV.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	61.0 KB
ID:	42914  
Nibbler is offline  
Old 19 January 2015, 17:20   #4
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nibbler View Post
Thanks Kipper !

The CAPS in my Exp. Amiga Cd32 are all super sweet. ( i used multimeter )

And on all TVīs the Cable works super fine,
EXECPT on my gaming Sony Trinitron WEGA. (KV-14LM1E)

I have also a second Cd32 .. Same problem with that cable on that TV...
but i like that TV.....
Dawm

may not be all lost, it could be the capacitors on the power invertor board on the TV so give it a check
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 January 2015, 17:23   #5
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 567
Ohh , and the weirdest thing is...
That the picture is WAYYY to bright and total Off if i plug it straight into the TV.

But if i use a scart splitter.. like something in the picture.. i get this "Flickering when i use POWER"

what they... like i said, it only affects this TV. hmmmm. my luck
( i tyed 4 tvs... only on the sony wega i get this problem )
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	hama-av-selector-100s.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	7.0 KB
ID:	42915  
Nibbler is offline  
Old 19 January 2015, 17:26   #6
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 567
Quote:
Originally Posted by kipper2k View Post
may not be all lost, it could be the capacitors on the power invertor board on the TV so give it a check


thanks KIP

BUT i would NEVER open up this TV .... i am afraid it would EXPLODE !!!
nahh, just kidding, BUT thats nothing for me.

WAY to DANGEROUS for little Nibbler
Nibbler is offline  
Old 19 January 2015, 17:26   #7
kipper2k
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Thunder Bay, Canada
Posts: 3,617
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nibbler View Post
Ohh , and the weirdest thing is...
That the picture is WAYYY to bright and total Off if i plug it straight into the TV.

But if i use a scart splitter.. like something in the picture.. i get this "Flickering when i use POWER"

what they... like i said, it only affects this TV. hmmmm. my luck
( i tyed 4 tvs... only on the sony wega i get this problem )
On some flyback transformers there are 2 adjusters, brightness and focus so there could be an issue there too.. Be careful if you open up the TV... there are very high voltages on the transformer circuit and the big capacitors
kipper2k is offline  
Old 19 January 2015, 23:48   #8
Stedy
Registered User

Stedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 40
Posts: 578
@Nibbler

Add a resistor, value 330 ohms, between pin 10 of the Amiga and pin 20 of the SCART cable. This will reduce the sync signal at the TV by >50%, in line with what it expects. This fixed the majority of SCART cable issues.

http://www.ianstedman.co.uk/Amiga/am...iga_scart.html

Ian
Stedy is offline  
Old 20 January 2015, 14:00   #9
Nibbler
nam nam nam

Nibbler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Austria
Age: 38
Posts: 567
Thank you Stedy !
Nibbler is happy now
Nibbler is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
RGB to Scart & Scart to HDMI converter Retrofan support.Hardware 24 20 August 2017 11:16
RGB scart from A1200 to lcd problem Ox. Amiga scene 11 13 October 2014 13:22
RGB to Scart Output Problem fruitlesseffort support.Hardware 5 23 February 2011 22:43
Returning user - Problem with RGB Out to Scart Reaper_FBB New to Emulation or Amiga scene 13 03 March 2008 15:40
Defective? (RGB)-Scart SEGA Mega Drive Model 1 cable & 4:3 to 16:9 display problem... ST Dragon Retrogaming General Discussion 2 31 January 2006 09:50

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.20796 seconds with 15 queries