English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 13 January 2015, 11:03   #1
st graveyard
 
Posts: n/a
KMTECH Gotek on Amiga 500 plus - need help

Hello all,

Yesterday I received my Gotek drive from KMtech (fast delivery!). I hooked it up, but it doesn't seem to work or I'm doing something wrong here.

First of all, the link provided with the drive to download SELECTOR.ADF did not work, so I downloaded the file from the WORDPRESS site.
I've connected the gotek to the floppy connector (I tried it in all directions) but I can't get the thing to work. When I boot up the amige (with a 1GB Kingston USB stick with Selector.ADF and some ADF files) I get to the kickstart 2.0 screen with the floppy animation and nothing happens. There is a green light on the GOTEK for a moment but the display keeps on showing 3 'dashes'. Anyone else has experienced this?
The manual says if the only thing you see are dashes, the firmware might have gotten corrupted and it needs to be flashed again?

What I have done in my testing :
1) used another USB disc (32 GB Kingston) --> Same result
2) checked if Gotek jumper is set to ADF 0 --> ok
3) completely prepped the USB using RMPREP as FAT 32 --> same result

I might make a youtube movie this evening so you can clearly see it.

Anyone else has had this before?

Thanks,
Maarten
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 13 January 2015, 11:13   #2
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 728
more often than not it will be your USB not compatible with the gotek, some people have tried as may as 6 types before finding one that works with the gotek, try to keep below 8gb with the usb stick
supaduper is offline  
Old 13 January 2015, 23:49   #3
spatuluk
 
Posts: n/a
3 dashes means no memory stick inserted / USB stick not supported. I got it with a 16gb Kingston Datatraveler.

You can use card readers to attach SD cards and whatnot to it. Maybe try out a memory card or two? Mine's currently using a 32mb CF card while I wait for a SanDisk USB stick to turn up.
 
Old 14 January 2015, 21:06   #4
Dougal
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Malta
Posts: 60
Not all USB sticks work

Out of 5 sticks I tried only 2 worked. A SanDisk (small red one) and a 16Gb TDK
Dougal is offline  
Old 15 January 2015, 09:11   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,354
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Has anyone bothered checking the partition tables of these usb sticks? Any differences between the working vs non working ones?

I just plugged in the first one I found and it worked fine, so I didn't have to debug this myself.
Jope is offline  
Old 15 January 2015, 10:54   #6
Vot
Registered User

 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Australia
Posts: 646
KMTECH Gotek on Amiga 500 plus - need help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Has anyone bothered checking the partition tables of these usb sticks? Any differences between the working vs non working ones?

I just plugged in the first one I found and it worked fine, so I didn't have to debug this myself.

Anecdotally it seems the usb3 ones have worse support. I have seen a few posts where people say they don't work and the sandisk usb3 fit ones i bought don't work. In fact i haven't found a usb3 one yet that does work. They do get detected and the gotek comes up 000 but it seems unable to read the selector adf and just boots to the kickstart. (The gotek works fine with a different stick). I haven't looked at any of the usb protocol but maybe usb3 uses a slightly different protocol.

I would imagine that the usb support used by the gotek firmware is some vendor provided library for usb communication and its probably a bit dodgy.

As for the partition table the sticks i had were 16gb. I did try making a smaller 8gb partition on the stick but that didn't work either. I will have another look at the partition tables between a working and non working device ( i may just dd a working device to Non working one, partition table and all however i suspect its something more like the usb transfer mode,)
Vot is offline  
Old 15 January 2015, 17:40   #7
Arnie
R.I.P Smudge 18-08-16

Arnie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Leicester/UK
Age: 59
Posts: 3,861
I use a 32gb Integral stick and it works fine.
Arnie is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Gotek Floppy emulators and Amiga computers now working together! :) H.M News 674 02 October 2017 17:45
Gotek & Amiga 500 ransom1122 Amiga scene 19 07 November 2014 22:35
NEW!! The MKIV KMTech mouse adapter. This time it's USB... Mounty MarketPlace 0 18 August 2014 15:32
Huge price drop on kmtech external gotak adapter Mounty MarketPlace 0 12 August 2014 18:23
Joystick doubler - KMTech style! Mounty Retrogaming General Discussion 4 14 May 2014 21:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.23295 seconds with 14 queries