English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 16 October 2015, 06:29   #1
amigakit.com
Registered User

amigakit.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: www.amigakit.com
Posts: 1,709
New SCSI II to Micro SD Card Adapter At AmigaKit.com

We are pleased to announce availability of the new SCSI to Micro SD Card Adapter at AmigaKit.com



Please click here for more information

We can supply a range of SCSI cables also to complement this adapter.
amigakit.com is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 16 October 2015, 11:52   #2
strim
NetBSD developer
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Warsaw, Poland
Posts: 398
So I guess this is just SCSI2SD ?
strim is offline  
Old 16 October 2015, 11:56   #3
Dagger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Dagenham / England
Posts: 175
Cool Will these work as replacements for our hd's in say an A590 or Supra 500 etc?
Dagger is offline  
Old 16 October 2015, 12:01   #4
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,335
Looks like it, but without the $26 shipping & duties from the US which is good for us Europeans.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 16 October 2015, 16:28   #5
brett71
Registered User

brett71's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Ames, IA, USA
Posts: 349
This is an awesome new development. I remember how much of pain it was in my old A3000 to have the SCSI2IDE board and then a cable that had to go around the daughterboard and to a module that consumed a slot for a CF card. With this, could've kept the whole thing right where the HD was intended to mount.
brett71 is offline  
Old 16 October 2015, 17:22   #6
esc
 
Posts: n/a
Yeah, same thoughts as brett71. I think this will be right at home in my A3000D.
 
Old 16 October 2015, 18:12   #7
Amiga_CDTV
Mind Walker
Amiga_CDTV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 140
I have the older release (bigger board). I remember reading it had almost the transfer speed of Amiga-dated SCSI-1 hard disks (early 90's). Are these newer boards now faster (ie. the bottleneck would be the SCSI interface, not the drive)?
Amiga_CDTV is offline  
Old 16 October 2015, 20:50   #8
Locutus
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Finland
Posts: 768
Wouldn't it have been nice and fair if they attributed that this is actually a opensource project on their sales page with a link where a user could find all the documentation and support they'd need?
Locutus is offline  
Old 17 November 2015, 05:12   #9
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
so this could be a full replacement for a bootable drive then? how big of micro sd card could we use? 16 gig would be ok? Cause I am thinking of a replacement soon for that hard drive in my a3000.. Also could I just pop this out and put it in a adapter in the pc and totally redo a system if need be?Would winuae see this microsd card? Looks like it has the basic 2.5 meg transfer rate as a scsi so would be no real noticeable speed loss. right .. . ?

edit: would all micro sd cards work? has there been test on certain brands?

lost

Last edited by lost_loven; 17 November 2015 at 13:46.
lost_loven is offline  
Old 18 November 2015, 15:41   #10
tekopaa
Registered User
tekopaa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Finland
Posts: 117
i preordered mine couple days ago
tekopaa is offline  
Old 19 November 2015, 11:55   #11
voyager_1701e
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sydney / AUSTRALIA
Posts: 174
I got mine working with a 16Gb card on a GVP 030 Combo in a 2000.

The only PIA was both my Win 10 machines will read the card details via the USB port, but wont allow updating the firmware or other settings. I had to drag out my old WIN XP laptop to update it. Maybe something to do with USB drivers/permissions...dont know...fn Windows!

Overall a nice compact solution.
voyager_1701e is offline  
Old 20 November 2015, 11:50   #12
Yulquen74
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Kleppe / Norway
Posts: 162
A nice product, really.

Pity it does not support sync transfers.

Acard adapter in sync mode + IDE SSD does 3300KB/s in a A590 system, but at twice the price.

Will probably order a piece or two anyway.
Yulquen74 is offline  
Old 20 November 2015, 18:37   #13
Etze
A500-Fan
Etze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 116
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dagger View Post
Cool Will these work as replacements for our hd's in say an A590 or Supra 500 etc?
Yes, it does work here with an A590.
Etze is offline  
Old 20 November 2015, 21:06   #14
Graham Humphrey
Global Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 31
Posts: 10,974
Looks nice! Would it work with my SCSI Squirrel adaptor on my A1200?
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 21 November 2015, 01:04   #15
McTrinsic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 302
Could someone confirm the maximum capacity of the SDHC card in GB??

Thanks,
McT
McTrinsic is offline  
Old 21 November 2015, 01:42   #16
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
woot order is waiting to be dispatched! .. 32 gig cards are on sale here but 16 would be more than enough. Hello weekend! Prep time! might be a good ideal to start from scratch. So I am guessing install this on the amiga and quick format/partition the Micro SD card to what ever and how many partitions needed then put back in pc and dump what ever install over would be the correct procedure most would do? Is there any other suggestions ?
lost_loven is offline  
Old 21 November 2015, 14:09   #17
voyager_1701e
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sydney / AUSTRALIA
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_loven View Post
woot order is waiting to be dispatched! .. 32 gig cards are on sale here but 16 would be more than enough. Hello weekend! Prep time! might be a good ideal to start from scratch. So I am guessing install this on the amiga and quick format/partition the Micro SD card to what ever and how many partitions needed then put back in pc and dump what ever install over would be the correct procedure most would do? Is there any other suggestions ?
That is exactly how I did my setup. For whatever reason, if I try to use the PC/WinUAE to setup the drive, on a MicroSD, it simply wont allow the drive to be partitioned because of the "drive type". However, setting the partitions on the Amiga, then using them in the PC/WinUAE to transfer the OS setup and all files/demos/games works well!

This issue only seems to plague me on microSD and frequently SD cards also. CF cards are rarely an issue.
voyager_1701e is offline  
Old 21 November 2015, 17:51   #18
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
k cool. I pretty much expected that. And scsi id's I guess we would have to connect the board to our pc's via usb to set it then also or did you leave it as is and have no conflict?
I kinda went on that link provided earlier and gave it a quick look .. been awhile since I messed with that but I thinking mine are set at 5 and 6 for my hd and cd rom if memory serves. Need measurements to. Guess gonna need to prefab some sort of housing/bracket to sit in a 3000 D when eventually ditch that big clunky hd. Guess power consumption will be less too and will make things easier on power supply too. (that might have to be a next upgrade seeing that the current one is original .. who knows how long that will last)

Last edited by lost_loven; 21 November 2015 at 18:23.
lost_loven is offline  
Old 22 November 2015, 14:05   #19
voyager_1701e
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Sydney / AUSTRALIA
Posts: 174
Quote:
Originally Posted by lost_loven View Post
k cool. I pretty much expected that. And scsi id's I guess we would have to connect the board to our pc's via usb to set it then also or did you leave it as is and have no conflict?
I kinda went on that link provided earlier and gave it a quick look .. been awhile since I messed with that but I thinking mine are set at 5 and 6 for my hd and cd rom if memory serves. Need measurements to. Guess gonna need to prefab some sort of housing/bracket to sit in a 3000 D when eventually ditch that big clunky hd. Guess power consumption will be less too and will make things easier on power supply too. (that might have to be a next upgrade seeing that the current one is original .. who knows how long that will last)
Mine was set to ID 0 out of the box. I thought the mechanical drive I was to copy and replace was likely to be 0, so as you suggested I connected it to the PC with USB and set it to 1. Didn't need to do it as my mechanical drive wasn't 1 or 0 anyway!

However it was frustrating that I couldnt program the unit with either of my Win10 PC's
voyager_1701e is offline  
Old 22 November 2015, 18:16   #20
lost_loven
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: winnipeg
Posts: 358
really? Doh. hope there will be a update for that.. is there OS X support? Have to check and see. All evils in this house lol.

Edit : looks like there is!
lost_loven is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Slave CF card setup disappears after reboot with dual CF card adapter tygre support.Hardware 43 22 March 2016 11:21
New PCMCIA Right Angled Adapter www.amigakit.com amigakit.com MarketPlace 1 17 November 2014 17:26
SCSI-III to SCSI-II adapter on GVP HC+8 Series II Hewitson support.Hardware 6 03 April 2011 12:22
IDE SCSI Bridge with CF Card Adapter for Video Toaster Flyer crazyegg support.Hardware 48 16 December 2009 09:18
wrong pcmcia adapter tranfer from amigakit.co.uk? pubzombie support.Hardware 13 18 January 2009 17:56

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21976 seconds with 14 queries