English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 18 February 2016, 22:52   #41
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 873
Wish was in your skills to replace soome of the sprites hand made with those from the original arcade or the PC-Engine version (skeleton warriors look ugly on amiga) plus the jewel-life meters, but i know is asking too much...
saimon69 is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 00:00   #42
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,848
Quote:
Originally Posted by saimon69 View Post
Wish was in your skills to replace soome of the sprites hand made with those from the original arcade or the PC-Engine version (skeleton warriors look ugly on amiga) plus the jewel-life meters, but i know is asking too much...
I've done it before (see: Giana II). Assuming the sprites aren't crunched it should be doable, assuming they're a similar size and palette (master system sprites are another option).

I'd need Sprite rips though. The closest I can find are these from Adventure Island (some of those are identical to WBIML arcade?)

earok is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 00:07   #43
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
I could only find these ill have another look
http://www.spriters-resource.com/mas...ml/sheet/5603/
and these monster world
http://www.spriters-resource.com/master_system/wbimwms/

Not going to far are all the Maps etc packed -

How did you locate the camera angle never seen anyone do that.

and here http://www.smspower.org/maxim/Maps/W...yInMonsterLand
ill be able to generate a Tile set if you want

Last edited by Retro1234; 19 February 2016 at 00:16.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 00:31   #44
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 35
Posts: 2,977
Quote:
I'd need Sprite rips though. The closest I can find are these from Adventure Island (some of those are identical to WBIML arcade?)
I had never noticed this, but it's kinda curious, since Adventure Island = Wonder Boy indeed.. the story behind the series is a mess, but the first Wonder Boy was ported as Adventure Island on a few systems, then it's like 2 different series span out from that, but they have the same root even though play a lot different.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 00:32   #45
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 873
@earok
I assume that use adpro or ppaint to remap colors to the WB base palette should be possible, given the correct palette with colors in the right order...

btw usually sprites in the arcade have their own independent palette, that is why often you can see recolored enemies
saimon69 is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 00:34   #46
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shatterhand View Post
I had never noticed this, but it's kinda curious, since Adventure Island = Wonder Boy indeed.. the story behind the series is a mess, but the first Wonder Boy was ported as Adventure Island on a few systems, then it's like 2 different series span out from that, but they have the same root even though play a lot different.
As far as i know is because Sega had the rights on the Wonder Boy name (developer is the same) so at the end yes, is the same series...
saimon69 is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 00:45   #47
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,848
@booboo I used WinUAE's trainer to find a variable that changes as you go higher and lower. I then found a block of code that sets the camera position off by 48 pixels from the player's position, I just edited this value to be more like the arcade version.

I don't know what is and isn't packed yet, I'll need to have a closer look. If I can rip the tiles from the Amiga version you can probably paint over them with the Master System or arcade tiles. There are some complications though, I think the palette changes several times throughout the game.

@shatterhand A very complicated history indeed! Especially when you add in the Brazilian games too

@saimon69 My current workflow for sprite hacks is entirely Windows based, here's what I do
- Use maptapper to rip the source sprites
- Do edits in Paint Shop Pro
- Export to PNG
- Use my own C# utility to convert back to planar and paste into the source file
earok is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 04:09   #48
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 873
Used to work on multimedia apps using director on pc/mac soi can give you some hints:
- try to grab a screen from amiga and use it as palette
- i think you can generate a .pal file from paint shop pro;
at this point you can remap the colors of the indexed bitmap, but i would suggest you to use either dither or plain (details could be lost)
saimon69 is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 04:17   #49
Retro1234
Bo Bo

Retro1234's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: 5150
Posts: 3,988
You can probably get the palette with MapTapper/GFRip exact address or use ARIII Sp filename and you have IFF indexed palette.

To Rip and replace graphics - use Maptapper or GFXRip etc to find - ArtPro to convert to IFF and back to Raw.

Last edited by Retro1234; 19 February 2016 at 04:47.
Retro1234 is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 14:46   #50
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
I've done it before (see: Giana II). Assuming the sprites aren't crunched it should be doable, assuming they're a similar size and palette (master system sprites are another option).

I'd need Sprite rips though. The closest I can find are these from Adventure Island (some of those are identical to WBIML arcade?)

Earok, on the arcade version, the maps or graphics are packed. I got a look at the video driver for wmbl.

the screens are build per page (256x256px), and then palette system for this arcade board is a bit particular.
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 15:01   #51
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
check here :

Wonderboy ML is a system 2 game.

https://github.com/mamedev/mame/blob...eo/system1.cpp
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 15:36   #52
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
Guys, i have right now the arcade sprites of Wonderboy in monsterland.

The graphics are bitmap, chunky mode

I'll post them once i get something nice !!
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 15:52   #53
s2325
Zone Friend

s2325's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Gargore
Age: 38
Posts: 17,789
I'm curious if this creature was inspiration for Kirby:

s2325 is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 16:22   #54
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
here are some sprites rips from the arcade gfx files in chunky 5 bitplan :
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	_kong_boss_Arcade.png
Views:	92
Size:	2.6 KB
ID:	47558   Click image for larger version

Name:	_strange arremer boss_Arcade.png
Views:	108
Size:	1.8 KB
ID:	47560   Click image for larger version

Name:	_calmarboss_Arcade.png
Views:	95
Size:	1.8 KB
ID:	47561  
Attached Images
   
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 18:25   #55
Toni Galvez
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Malaga/Spain
Posts: 100
Quote:
Originally Posted by earok View Post
Argh, I keep starting new projects!

Since it's a straight ST port, the palette is really drab. I've been working to try and get it as close to the original as possible (bearing in mind there's much fewer colours than the arcade machine had, so I've had to compromise here and there). Reds are fully red. Greens, browns, whites and blues are more vibrant.

Original is on the left, demo of the palette hacks are on the right.

Not really sure what else I could do with it. I haven't been successful with tweaking the controls (second button jump) so far.

I am very happy to see you are improving this wonderful game, please continue like that, it will get much better.

I hope some day, someone can hack Lotus 2 to transform into a Outrun game.
Toni Galvez is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 19:32   #56
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 41
Posts: 7,860
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
here is a shot (it's not complete, since some sprites are very small), but all the enemies sprites are in it :
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WBML_Arcade_Sprites.png
Views:	175
Size:	50.8 KB
ID:	47564  
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 20:44   #57
saimon69
J.M.D - Bedroom Musician

 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: los angeles,ca
Posts: 873
Quote:
Originally Posted by Toni Galvez View Post
I am very happy to see you are improving this wonderful game, please continue like that, it will get much better.

I hope some day, someone can hack Lotus 2 to transform into a Outrun game.
The Outrun turbo Challenge! Love it!
However, in order to keep songs and some variety, gotta use the v3 i think - that or use v2 with no songs...
saimon69 is offline  
Old 19 February 2016, 23:52   #58
trydowave
Registered User
trydowave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Watford UK
Posts: 766
Is this available on adf? Will it run on an A500?

If its CD32 iso only will it run on my A1200s SCSJ cdrom?

Cheers
trydowave is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 03:41   #59
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,848
Currently CD32 only, not sure if it will work with that CD drive. Don't worry, we'll do an ADF version for A500 and an HD version for A1200
earok is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 06:01   #60
earok
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Auckland
Posts: 1,848
Ok! So I've done some work towards the Skeleton Monster (thnx dlfrsilver for the arcade rips). Not yet imported into the game (I'll need to update my import utility to support Atari ST format)



Unfortunately there's only one red so I can't do shading or anti-aliasing on his clothing.

He's a bit thinner too so it might cause issues with players colliding with him when they're not right up next to him.

There's two skeletons in the disk image - I don't know why? They only differ on the color of their clothes, is there a differently coloured skeleton in the game?



Edit: Check out what I found in the disk image! Mecha Dragon doesn't make an appearance in the Amiga version, but he's sure as hell in the disk image!




Edit 2: I think I've worked out why there's multiple skeletons. The "red" colour appears in different places in different palettes, so I think it's meant to be the exact same art but against a different palette.

Last edited by earok; 20 February 2016 at 09:18.
earok is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WonderBoy in Monsterland 1time project.WHDLoad 30 01 March 2013 02:05
Astar Land in Flames - Astar Land in Flammen Beawolf request.Old Rare Games 0 27 November 2010 14:44
Super WonderBoy In Monsterland -Rob- support.Games 10 09 May 2006 21:32
Super Wonderboy - crack ripoff? andreas support.Games 0 21 October 2005 23:19
finishing wonderboy in monsterland gimbal support.Games 10 09 March 2005 14:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:27.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.11243 seconds with 14 queries