English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 17 November 2009, 13:42   #81
Exit
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Holland/The netherlands
Age: 44
Posts: 121
which version of scumm is supported, and when it works , are you planning more ports?

thnx for the great work for the amiga community
Exit is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 15:33   #82
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exit View Post
which version of scumm is supported
The game doesn't need ScummVM, it's a stand alone game. It needs '030+, Aga, SystemPatch and BlazeWCP (both on Aminet).
Thorham is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 15:58   #83
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 11,047
Doesn't seem to work with BlazeWCP on OS3.0 though so if you've only got that just use SystemPatch.
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 16:02   #84
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
Doesn't seem to work with BlazeWCP on OS3.0 though so if you've only got that just use SystemPatch.
Strange, I have 3.0 and it works fine with BlazeWCP+SystemPatch (on a Blizzard '030)
Thorham is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 17:20   #85
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 42
Posts: 722
it's because systempatch includes the blazewcp patch for 3.0...blazewcp has no effect on your 3.0 system so you could remove it and it would be the same...

i think that blazewcp patches the os 3.1 writechunkypixels routine wich does not exist in 3.0...systempatch implements writechunkypixels in a patched form from scratch above 3.0 rom.
pbareges is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 17:45   #86
Graham Humphrey
Moderator
Graham Humphrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Norwich, Norfolk, UK
Age: 32
Posts: 11,047
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
Strange, I have 3.0 and it works fine with BlazeWCP+SystemPatch (on a Blizzard '030)
Ah, you use both? I only used BlazeWCP on its own - I get all the sounds but the screen stays black. That might be the problem then (I am running it on an '040 but it shouldn't make any difference I guess). With just SystemPatch it works fine.

Looks like pbareges has nailed that one then. Perhaps BlazeWCP just has no effect at all on 3.0? Would explain why I can use it fine with other programs but not this one...
Graham Humphrey is offline  
Old 17 November 2009, 17:56   #87
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by pbareges View Post
it's because systempatch includes the blazewcp patch for 3.0...blazewcp has no effect on your 3.0 system so you could remove it and it would be the same...

i think that blazewcp patches the os 3.1 writechunkypixels routine wich does not exist in 3.0...systempatch implements writechunkypixels in a patched form from scratch above 3.0 rom.
Thanks for clearing that up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Graham Humphrey View Post
Ah, you use both? I only used BlazeWCP on its own - I get all the sounds but the screen stays black. That might be the problem then (I am running it on an '040 but it shouldn't make any difference I guess). With just SystemPatch it works fine.
The game always needs SystemPatch, without it, it wont work.
Thorham is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 23:11   #88
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 42
Posts: 722
lucasarts routines were far from optimized on amiga, they were mainly coded in c to be as portable as could be on any platform...

scummvm ports rely on sdl libraries implemented on amiga...dott version ported by novacoder make a good use of optimized chunky pixels routines so the issue does not come from gfx, it comes from the midi interpreter that must mix real time up to 16 channels into 4 to fit paula specs. i tried to perform midi to module conversion to avoid this loss of cpu power in the music playing routine but i'm afraid we need a really talented musician with a lot of spare time to perform this!

we can still hope...
pbareges is offline  
Old 26 November 2009, 23:50   #89
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 3,085
One way would be to simply convert the midis to 28 khz stereo Amiga samples so they can be replayed using DMA with the 14 bit trick. The sound effects most likely have a fixed sample rate, so they can be converted to 28 khz, too. Now the mixing becomes a lot faster, at the price of the game data becoming larger.
Thorham is offline  
Old 27 November 2009, 01:19   #90
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
One way would be to simply convert the midis to 28 khz stereo Amiga samples so they can be replayed using DMA with the 14 bit trick. The sound effects most likely have a fixed sample rate, so they can be converted to 28 khz, too. Now the mixing becomes a lot faster, at the price of the game data becoming larger.
Yep I had a look a doing this but it turns out that the music tracks would become HUGE

MIDI files are just instructions of what instruments to play so they are very small in comparison and can be pre-loaded into FASTRAM (no disk access during game-play, the digital SFX are actually streamed form disk).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 28 November 2009, 00:54   #91
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,537
Sorry but I've had to take those links down (GPL stuff), will re-release when the next version is ready....
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 December 2009, 14:19   #92
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,537
A quick update is in the Zone, grab it while it's hot

I've managed to fix the screen tearing by using double buffering.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 17 December 2009, 14:26   #93
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 37
Posts: 7,924
Nice work
killergorilla is offline  
Old 17 December 2009, 20:40   #94
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 826
where in the zone is it? can't find it....
vulture is offline  
Old 17 December 2009, 20:43   #95
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
It's called 'DOTT_AGA_030.lha' and is right at the top
TCD is offline  
Old 17 December 2009, 20:49   #96
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 826
sorry for the lame question, but I'm right now in the file server under "the zone" and I can only see older dott versions. What am I doing wrong?
vulture is offline  
Old 17 December 2009, 20:51   #97
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
Look at the top right of this page (scroll up). That's 'The Zone!' The fodler on the file server is just an archive.
Oh and if you can get access, have a look here : http://eab.abime.net/faq.php?faq=vb_...ezone_faq_item
TCD is offline  
Old 17 December 2009, 20:52   #98
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 826
Many thx! I always thought I just couldn't access the zone from here....
vulture is offline  
Old 17 December 2009, 20:57   #99
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 40
Posts: 24,012
You're welcome That's why it's worth to read the rules... just saying
TCD is offline  
Old 17 December 2009, 21:00   #100
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 45
Posts: 2,292
great job!!!

Why not a day... SamNMAx ?
CFOU! is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Day of the Tentacle DamienD request.Old Rare Games 25 18 May 2007 18:41
Day of the tentacle frikilokooo project.Amiga Game Factory 50 19 March 2007 01:28
day of the tentacle AGA - talented musician needed pbareges project.Amiga Game Factory 46 14 March 2007 02:39
Day of the Tentacle and/or Knightmare Vitruvian request.Old Rare Games 1 14 July 2006 18:29
Day of the Tentacle alexh HOL data problems 3 28 June 2005 15:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:35.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.12842 seconds with 14 queries