English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 November 2009, 20:32   #61
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 1,592
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Not realy relevent but just for kicks, I tried running it on my A1200 which only has AmigaOS4 classic on it atm. Unfortunatly ...it didnt work, just froze the system
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 02 November 2009, 01:16   #62
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Not realy relevent but just for kicks, I tried running it on my A1200 which only has AmigaOS4 classic on it atm. Unfortunatly ...it didnt work, just froze the system
Yep my version will never run on OS4 because the sound library 'bangs the hw'
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 02 November 2009, 01:16   #63
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
I tried dott (from there : http://amiga.h-plus-t.com/) on my A1230. As just saying "great work" isn't very helpful in improving anything, get ready for the big bad flood

I've removed the link to the original version at the start of this thread as way too many people were getting confused
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 02 November 2009, 09:44   #64
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
You should use Novacoders latest version from here; http://www.underground-arcade.com/
There was no download link in here, so checked whatever I could get...

When will the other version be available ?
meynaf is offline  
Old 02 November 2009, 10:36   #65
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 44
Posts: 5,184
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
There was no download link in here, so checked whatever I could get...

When will the other version be available ?
Yup not your fault meynaf, Novacoder simply removed the old exe from undergroundarcade in readiness for his FINAL update!!!
When you do get it, a report in the style of your previous post would be great to see though!
DDNI is offline  
Old 02 November 2009, 11:36   #66
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by DDNI View Post
When you do get it, a report in the style of your previous post would be great to see though!
You will see it
meynaf is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 03:01   #67
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,539
I've now upload all the version 1.0.0 exe's to www.underground-arcade.com (eg 030, 040 & 060).

I'll create a special cut-down version for 020's using the original MOD files as I've found that a standard 020 is just not powerful enough to do MIDI + speech & 256 colour VGA.

Next up Sam & Max.....

Last edited by NovaCoder; 12 November 2009 at 13:42.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 12 November 2009, 15:29   #68
pbareges
Registered User
pbareges's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: montreal / canada
Age: 42
Posts: 722
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I'll create a special cut-down version for 020's using the original MOD files as I've found that a standard 020 is just not powerful enough to do MIDI + speech & 256 colour VGA.

Next up Sam & Max.....
thank you very much sir! do you intend to improve MOD / SFX mixing compared to my version ? i hope somebody is willing to improve the midi2mod conversion to match your perfect rendering through MIDI interpreter.

good luck with sam&max...
pbareges is offline  
Old 13 November 2009, 15:22   #69
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I've now upload all the version 1.0.0 exe's to www.underground-arcade.com (eg 030, 040 & 060).
One word: Awesome Thank you for this, it's great on a 50 mhz '030 Plays well, looks good and sounds nice, great, keep up the good work

Any change of this going open source?
Thorham is offline  
Old 13 November 2009, 23:32   #70
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
One word: Awesome Thank you for this, it's great on a 50 mhz '030 Plays well, looks good and sounds nice, great, keep up the good work

Any change of this going open source?
Cool, glad you liked it.

Yep it will go open source after I release Sam & Max (I still want to make some improvments).
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 14 November 2009, 16:05   #71
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 41
Posts: 314
I have graphic problems... When the main character is moving, I get graphical residue on screen. It is like garbled sprite leftovers from the main character. I am having this problem with OS 3.9 Installed, and in OS 3.1 the problem doesn't exist.

I tried all versions of the game. I am using WinUAE.
nikvest is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 05:06   #72
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikvest View Post
I have graphic problems...
I tried all versions of the game. I am using WinUAE.
WINUAE is not supported, that is why it's called DOTT AGA

If you want to play DOTT on the PC, use the PC version instead.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 14:15   #73
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 41
Posts: 314
It IS working under WinUAE for me, because I have several virtual hard disks. I just wanted to alert you to the problem with newer operating systems, and to confirm this post from Oct.29.2009:

Quote:
Originally Posted by nujack View Post
Runs perfect on my A4000/060 from Workbench. Great job.
Only some gfx-glitches when figure moved over screen. Sound and sfx without any problems. Save/Load-function works too. Next I'll try it out on my A1200/030.
nikvest is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 22:03   #74
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,462
Quote:
Originally Posted by nikvest View Post
. I am having this problem with OS 3.9 Installed, and in OS 3.1 the problem doesn't exist.

I think you resolved your own problem.
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 15 November 2009, 23:13   #75
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
If you want to play DOTT on the PC, use the PC version instead.
Actually, ScummVM is great for that, works like a charm on my old 550 mhz PIII with WinXP.
Thorham is offline  
Old 16 November 2009, 17:23   #76
meynaf
son of 68k
meynaf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Lyon / France
Age: 45
Posts: 3,345
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Next up Sam & Max.....
Not so fast guy

Now finally I can make my bloody report heheh
I promised, didn't I ?
Version tested is 030, on a 030. Yes . Used data files from pbareges' port.

Soooo... let's go :
- Still no vertical screen centering...
- Sometimes sprites aren't correctly turned off -> remains of mouse pointer on the screen (doesn't happen often, but it did).
- Display tearing visible when scrolling. But I can say that anims are, this time, done at right speed !
- Loading time relatively important ; game constantly accesses the disk (perhaps the situation is better on SFS, I put that on FFS for now - if so, the readme could be updated). Okay, this is a pc game
- Still dependent to things such as SystemPatch (as I said, I can help in that area). If you forget SystemPatch and run it on 3.0, you'll see black screen, no error message and no easy way to get outta here (as F10 no longer quits).
- It happened to me that the "pull" command was damaged - perhaps it was the original position of the mouse pointer.
- Freeze after "step one : find plans" in the intro (no "step two - save world") and no means to get out of this apart Esc key. All "Meanwhilst" cut-scenes seem to freeze in a similar way.
- From time to time, something which sounds like random audio garbage can be heard - sounds like bad dma wait to me. Note : small .mus test app you gave to me does the same !
- Old scummvm graphical problem I had is still there : talk to Edna, then to Ed and you will see wrongly displayed texts (bad colors). I can make a grab to show you.

Some remarks :
- Tool types : wouldn't it have been simpler to do "thing" and "(thing)" instrad of "thing=true" and "thing=false", as many other programs do ?
- I wonder why it opens mathieeedoub(bas/trans).library ?
- Why did you write that it "runs best in vga mode" in the readme ? For me it's not valid, because VGA in 320x200 has horribly pixelated display. PAL are much better for this.
- If you do amiga-m, it's like F5 and I don't like this.
- In readme, you wrote "coded 10 Nov 2010". Is it a typo, or did you (or me ?) fall in a time quantum hole ?
meynaf is offline  
Old 16 November 2009, 18:14   #77
nikvest
Vertigo User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Belgrade/Serbia
Age: 41
Posts: 314
Quote:
Originally Posted by xpect View Post
I think you resolved your own problem.
Yes, and I think I shouldn't have said anything about the problem on different platform, right?
nikvest is offline  
Old 16 November 2009, 18:32   #78
Thorham
Computer Nerd

Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 42
Posts: 3,085
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
- In readme, you wrote "coded 10 Nov 2010". Is it a typo, or did you (or me ?) fall in a time quantum hole ?
He's using a Chrono-john
Thorham is offline  
Old 16 November 2009, 23:56   #79
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorham View Post
He's using a Chrono-john
Yeah that's right, that's when it was finished
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 16 November 2009, 23:58   #80
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,539
Quote:
Originally Posted by meynaf View Post
Not so fast guy

Now finally I can make my bloody report heheh
I promised, didn't I ?
Version tested is 030, on a 030. Yes . Used data files from pbareges' port.
Thanks for the report
NovaCoder is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Day of the Tentacle DamienD request.Old Rare Games 25 18 May 2007 18:41
Day of the tentacle frikilokooo project.Amiga Game Factory 50 19 March 2007 01:28
day of the tentacle AGA - talented musician needed pbareges project.Amiga Game Factory 46 14 March 2007 02:39
Day of the Tentacle and/or Knightmare Vitruvian request.Old Rare Games 1 14 July 2006 18:29
Day of the Tentacle alexh HOL data problems 3 28 June 2005 15:58

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:42.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.13768 seconds with 14 queries