English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 23 November 2018, 13:21   #161
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 264
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Not from me but someone else might do one

Update: I've now swapped to v0.70 which from my testing looks like the best one (still don't expect any miracles though!)
Couldn't get it to run..... There was a severe lag at the mount screen, hitting a key resulted in a 2 or 3 second delay and couldn't get beyond that point. Tried an earlier version to make sure it wasn't just me, no problem with the older versions.
Reido is offline  
Old 23 November 2018, 21:34   #162
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reido View Post
Couldn't get it to run..... There was a severe lag at the mount screen, hitting a key resulted in a 2 or 3 second delay and couldn't get beyond that point. Tried an earlier version to make sure it wasn't just me, no problem with the older versions.

Exactly the same result with 0.70 for me... very very slow, impossible to use.The 0.74 version was much better for me.
jurassicman is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 03:02   #163
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,537
That's a shame, obviously my new auto scaling core update doesn't work on real hardware

It works perfectly on WinUAE!

Anyway, thanks for testing guys

I've done a new build in the Zone using v0.70 with fixed cycles set to 1000 which I'm guessing is close to the optimal setting for a real 80Mhz 060. This is only my best guess, you might get more performance if you increase the setting in the config file to somewhere between 1000 and 2000. From my testing in WinUAE it seems that the included copy of LOOM EGA will run OK with 1000 cycles but DOTT VGA requires at least 2000 cycles. My laptop running WinUAE can go up to 8000 cycles BTW which still not enough to run DOOM properly but perfect with slower paced VGA games.

Please note that you must always use the config file that comes with the zip in the Zone, don't mix up the config files with other versions or you will have problems.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 24 November 2018 at 04:58.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 06:40   #164
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,336
Hi nova,
I found some problems with your older dosboxaga...
Is there a place where i can put them or i could create a new thread ??
I know that you will first finish your actual work on dosboxaga.
But i prefer to list the problems now before i forget.
Thank you to be back.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 24 November 2018, 09:58   #165
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
Hi nova,
I found some problems with your older dosboxaga...
Is there a place where i can put them or i could create a new thread ??
I know that you will first finish your actual work on dosboxaga.
But i prefer to list the problems now before i forget.
Thank you to be back.
Hiya,

I'm not interested in fixing up bugs at the moment as there is no point unless it's actually fast enough to be of some use on real hardware.

Saying that I've got no problem if you want to document any bugs you have found on this thread and I'll look at fixing them if it's worth doing a new release of this port.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 25 November 2018, 15:10   #166
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 264
Indy 3
[ Show youtube player ]

Loom
[ Show youtube player ]

DOTT
[ Show youtube player ]
Reido is offline  
Old 25 November 2018, 16:35   #167
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,537
Great thanks for the new videos, it looks slightly faster to me... what did you think?

I assume those videos used 1000 cycles? Can you try 1400 to see if that makes it faster. If 1400 is better than 1000 then also try 2000.... thanks for testing
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 25 November 2018, 17:43   #168
jurassicman
Registered User

jurassicman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Bologna/Italy
Posts: 120
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
Great thanks for the new videos, it looks slightly faster to me... what did you think?

I assume those videos used 1000 cycles? Can you try 1400 to see if that makes it faster. If 1400 is better than 1000 then also try 2000.... thanks for testing

I've tested the new version with my usual game.
The graphic issue doesn't happen with this version and it seems just a bit faster than the previous version but it is still unplayable. Another thing that I noticed is that the game closes as soon as I press any keys.
I've tried 1000 to 2000 cycles without noticing any differences.
jurassicman is offline  
Old 25 November 2018, 19:34   #169
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 264
Yep big improvement! Here's 1400 cycles
[ Show youtube player ]

2000 cycles was a full minute slower. But with 500 cycles...
[ Show youtube player ]

Fastest yet but at the expense of some animation frames on the intro? At 400 cycles there is graphic glitches when indy walks.

700 cycles (says 800 on intro screen - my bad) seems to offer the best value for money, finishing a good 25 seconds ahead of 1000 cycles. (800 and above are the same as 1000)
[ Show youtube player ]

Last edited by Reido; 25 November 2018 at 20:45.
Reido is offline  
Old 25 November 2018, 23:47   #170
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,537
Cool, thanks mate.

This tells me that your 80Mhz 060 is stalling above 700 cycles which unfortunately is still too slow to be able to play EGA games properly. You need to able to support at least 1000 for EGA adventure style games and 2-3000 for VGA adventure games.

I'm going to have to park this for now, nothing else I can do with it.

Yep I know about the keyboard handling bugs, this new port was just an experiment to see how much faster I could get it.

Last edited by NovaCoder; 12 December 2018 at 04:07.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 26 November 2018, 02:12   #171
Reido
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Dublin/Ireland
Posts: 264
Ah ok. That's a shame but it sounds like you've pushed the 060 as far as possible to get this bad boy playable, trojan effort!
Reido is offline  
Old 27 November 2018, 17:37   #172
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,336
Nova,
do you think it could be possible to add a preload option ??? For thos who has 128 mb ram ???
I have a blackscreen with dosboxaga when i set in winuae 32-bit chip but the music is playing great and the game seems to work... Do you think it could be possible to use this 32 bit chip ?? And will it improve dosboxaga ' speed within winuae ??
And the last one do you think you could find a way to support mscdex ??
cdda etc in a way or other. Iso or real cd ???
edited : is there a way to show the framerate in doom ??

Last edited by turrican3; 27 November 2018 at 18:13.
turrican3 is offline  
Old 30 November 2018, 00:01   #173
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,537
Quote:
Originally Posted by turrican3 View Post
Nova,
do you think it could be possible to add a preload option ??? For thos who has 128 mb ram ???
I have a blackscreen with dosboxaga when i set in winuae 32-bit chip but the music is playing great and the game seems to work... Do you think it could be possible to use this 32 bit chip ?? And will it improve dosboxaga ' speed within winuae ??
And the last one do you think you could find a way to support mscdex ??
cdda etc in a way or other. Iso or real cd ???
edited : is there a way to show the framerate in doom ??
These are all big changes I'm afraid, unless the core speed can be improved then this project is on hold as far as I'm concerned.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 30 November 2018, 01:09   #174
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 42
Posts: 3,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
These are all big changes I'm afraid, unless the core speed can be improved then this project is on hold as far as I'm concerned.
Ok, i understand.
I hope you will succeed.
turrican3 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 20 07 June 2018 03:17
[ongoing] Descent DXX-Rebirth AGA (v0.57.3) NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 49 09 January 2018 04:39
68k SoftCore development for DosBox AGA NovaCoder Coders. Asm / Hardware 0 18 February 2013 07:04
KG's HOL problems (Ongoing) killergorilla HOL data problems 102 24 April 2011 13:34
Is this still an ongoing project? garyg AMR suggestions and feedback 17 04 October 2010 23:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.08506 seconds with 16 queries