English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01 January 2018, 21:34   #741
Methanoid
Retired Quartex Sysop
Methanoid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Roman Verulamium
Age: 52
Posts: 1,633
Sorry but I am gonna ask the dumb Qs I have been browsing the thread for...

My Gotek has one LED and one hidden behind the panel. What does the 2nd one do and do I just make a hole and route it thru?

Where can I get a decent knob for the rotary encoder, that fits and allows it to still be used to select (eBay link?). It looks a bit "urban" as a bare knob!

Thanks Kaffer for some excellent firmware BTW!
Methanoid is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 01 January 2018, 23:45   #742
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 721
It's the power LED.

I pulled a knob off an old amplifier

Last edited by Sinphaltimus; 01 January 2018 at 23:45. Reason: And then glued a boing ball to it.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 02 January 2018, 19:29   #743
FREEMILK
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: North Bay Canada
Posts: 13
I am doing up a few 3d print files to make a nice A1200 install i will share here once completed.
Also has anyone thought about making a badge display, for example a nice display that fits exact where the badge is on A1200 then have the firmware display the model LOGO instead of putting the display to sleep.
FREEMILK is offline  
Old 04 January 2018, 18:09   #744
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,490
How reliable are the 1602A LCD's?

I've just connected my FF back up to my A500 to test an ADF and the display is now blank? Was working fine a few months ago, all I've done is unplug the floppy/power and put it to one side and now reconnected it and the display is blank, still has same config on the USB stick and same firmware? Tried adjusting the pot on the backpack but can see a faint display when full up but that's all!!
BarryB is online now  
Old 11 January 2018, 12:38   #745
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
How reliable are the 1602A LCD's?

I've just connected my FF back up to my A500 to test an ADF and the display is now blank? Was working fine a few months ago, all I've done is unplug the floppy/power and put it to one side and now reconnected it and the display is blank, still has same config on the USB stick and same firmware? Tried adjusting the pot on the backpack but can see a faint display when full up but that's all!!
Is the LCD connected to 5v power (not 3v)? If connected to less than 5v then display contrast is very poor.
kaffer is offline  
Old 11 January 2018, 12:40   #746
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Methanoid View Post
Sorry but I am gonna ask the dumb Qs I have been browsing the thread for...

My Gotek has one LED and one hidden behind the panel. What does the 2nd one do and do I just make a hole and route it thru?

Where can I get a decent knob for the rotary encoder, that fits and allows it to still be used to select (eBay link?). It looks a bit "urban" as a bare knob!

Thanks Kaffer for some excellent firmware BTW!
The second LED is connected to display data line. When an LCD/OLED is connected this means it is apparently always on and functions as a kind of power LED. But it's pretty pointless for indication purposes and I would only route it through if you really want a red light on the front of your Gotek
kaffer is offline  
Old 12 January 2018, 17:23   #747
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by kaffer View Post
Is the LCD connected to 5v power (not 3v)? If connected to less than 5v then display contrast is very poor.
The backpack has a bright red led lit so power is getting to it, just not the display. SDA, SCL and GND are plugged into the pins where the original LED was and the +5v tapped off the pin near the power connector, might have soldered pins on for that though!
BarryB is online now  
Old 13 January 2018, 18:53   #748
Sinphaltimus
Registered User

Sinphaltimus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Cresco, PA, USA
Age: 47
Posts: 721
OK, I have some questions because I think I am short changing myself on some features.

First I'm running flashfloppy v0.8.1a which I flashed over the Cortex.
Installed the OLED and the Rotary Push Button mods.

It works fine, I can traverse directories, load, eject, etc...

AFAI can tell, I'm running the config-less setup. That is to say I do not have anything but directories and ADFs on my USB drive.

But seeing chatter about configuration files to alter the display timeout among other things has me wondering if I am not taking full advantage of my GoTek drive.

Given my setup, what do I need to do to take better advantage of its capabilities?
Am I restricting myself with a config-less setup?

Can I have anything else given the mods that are in place and the fact that I went from Cortex to flashfloppy without any HxC involved?

I've read about some HxC config files and such that can be used, are they compatible with my setup? I mean, I don't need to load ADF files into "slots" like I did with cortex and I see no reason to ever have to do that the way I am using it now.

I'm just curious about what I can/should be doing with the OLED and Rotary mods that can enhance my experience a bit.
Sinphaltimus is offline  
Old 14 January 2018, 05:41   #749
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,514
Cyclone-like dongles

Perhaps I'm asking a stupid question:

if I connect to an Amiga an external Gotek unit as DF1 (with an appropriate cable and box), will I be able to use a Cyclone-like dongle and make an analog copy of protected original disks (with long tracks etc.)?
From DF0 (real floppy drive) to DF1 (Gotek, raw/extended adf).
Supamax is offline  
Old 14 January 2018, 13:05   #750
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,407
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supamax View Post
if I connect to an Amiga an external Gotek unit as DF1 (with an appropriate cable and box), will I be able to use a Cyclone-like dongle and make an analog copy of protected original disks (with long tracks etc.)?
From DF0 (real floppy drive) to DF1 (Gotek, raw/extended adf).
That won't work with any of the current gotek firmwares. The data would have to be stored in some kind of raw format, but that isn't implemented.

It would probably be best to have some kind of special bus sniffing mode in the gotek, combined with some special software on the Amiga to run the drive. Then again, it could be possible to make an image reading firmware for the gotek and connect the drives together directly, forgoing a host computer..
Jope is online now  
Old 14 January 2018, 13:12   #751
BarryB
Amigaholic

 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: UK
Posts: 2,490
Quote:
Originally Posted by BarryB View Post
How reliable are the 1602A LCD's?

I've just connected my FF back up to my A500 to test an ADF and the display is now blank? Was working fine a few months ago, all I've done is unplug the floppy/power and put it to one side and now reconnected it and the display is blank, still has same config on the USB stick and same firmware? Tried adjusting the pot on the backpack but can see a faint display when full up but that's all!!
Have now found the problem, the jumper on the LED pins on the backpack was 'missing' so stopped the backlight working, putting a jumper on those 2 pins gets it working again
BarryB is online now  
Old 14 January 2018, 22:00   #752
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
That won't work with any of the current gotek firmwares. The data would have to be stored in some kind of raw format, but that isn't implemented.

It would probably be best to have some kind of special bus sniffing mode in the gotek, combined with some special software on the Amiga to run the drive. Then again, it could be possible to make an image reading firmware for the gotek and connect the drives together directly, forgoing a host computer..
I thought that the Gotek was read/write compatible with some raw formats (i.e. hfe)...
Supamax is offline  
Old Yesterday, 07:33   #753
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,407
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
It can write HFE? Then it might be able to get it on par with any other unanalysed raw dump of a protected floppy. Means some protections will work, some won't.
Jope is online now  
Old Yesterday, 21:53   #754
Supamax
Da Digger :)

Supamax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Monza, Italy
Posts: 2,514
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
It can write HFE?
I'm not sure...

Is the .hfe format supported for writing too?
Supamax is offline  
Old Today, 15:39   #755
kaffer
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Cambridge
Posts: 433
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
It can write HFE? Then it might be able to get it on par with any other unanalysed raw dump of a protected floppy. Means some protections will work, some won't.
Yes it supports write to HFE. This means it will support write of custom tracks, including long tracks, but it does not support variable-rate tracks (eg. Copylock, Speedlock).
kaffer is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 17 (0 members and 17 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help to open-source SAS/C Hauke Coders. General 35 26 September 2017 23:39
LCD on Gotek (with HxC firmware) christopherpm Hardware mods 1 08 January 2017 03:51
Gotek drive firmware for mounting .iso cd images Ox. Amiga scene 7 05 November 2014 06:14
Gotek drive firmware for Amiga general USB mass storage solution Supamax Amiga scene 2 20 September 2014 09:35
BlitzBasic - Is now open source Djay Amiga scene 2 08 February 2003 02:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 23:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.31992 seconds with 14 queries