English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Other

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 August 2017, 14:28   #101
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 61
It's been a while since my last post and I want to let people know what's going on.

I have been quite active and my main focus has been to support Amiga OS 3.9 and with it more tweaks was needed, so here's a list of the features that next release will include:
- Installation of Amiga OS 3.9 from either cd-drive or iso mounted through WinUAE supported by both install and self install modes. For self install mode it will fallback to mount iso through Amiga system using filedisk.device and AmiCDFS. This is to support installation from Amiga OS 3.9 iso from OS39DIR: directory added in emulator, if emulator doesn't have support for cd-drive emulation. In it's current state I don't know how to make it work properly on a real amiga as there's are many different cd-rom drive solutions Amiga and it will be hard to support them all, therefore Amiga OS 3.9 installation is only possible through an emulator.
- Installation of Boing Bags 1-4. HstWB Installer will detect presence of boing bag lha files in OS39DIR: directory added in emulator.
- Automated detection of Workbench 3.1 adf from WORKBENCHDIR: for self install mode. This prevents the manual need for inserting Workbench 3.1 disk in any floppy device and thereby improving speed of installation through an emulator. It will fallback to floppy devices, if WORKBENCHDIR: doesn't contain a valid Workbench 3.1 adf file.
- Added ClassicWB 3.9 package.
- Added Picasso96 package.
- Verified self install works in both WinUAE and FS-UAE.
- Running HstWB Installer in install or self install modes will now build configuration files for both WinUAE and FS-UAE with powershell install script that changes paths for harddrives and kickstart rom files to be system specific making self install images easy to install and use. It also adds adf files as swappable floppies in FS-UAE from detected workbench directory containing adf files for Workbench 3.1. A python version of install scripts will be created as well to support Mac/Linux environments running self install images.

I will soon release new BETA versions of self install images with Amiga OS 3.9 support for anyone to test. Then I need to update the documentation, but the self install images has good guides build-in just by running the self install images.

I also want better support for Vampire accelerator cards and plan to make a Vampire-Support-Package, that automatically installs Saga drivers and relevant programs (RiVA etc.) to use Vampire card to its fullest.
cyberhead97 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 August 2017, 17:34   #102
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,044
I would avoid leaving WB3.1, better WB3.0 to avoid small incompatibilities, Well too install 3.9 directly from CD-Rom.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 21:50   #103
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 61
Is it better/recommended to install Amiga OS 3.9 on top of Workbench 3.1?

I have no experience with Amiga OS 3.9 and a complete newbie in that area, so just asking to make HstWB Installer build a better Amiga OS 3.9 installation. I can easily make an option that allows installation of both, first Workbench 3.1 then Amiga OS 3.9 if available.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 28 August 2017, 23:38   #104
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,044
WB3.1+OS3.5+OS3.9 or WB3.0+OS3.5+OS3.9 (In my opinion the best choice)
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 01:50   #105
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 5,595
Send a message via Skype™ to Retrofan
Quote:
Originally Posted by AMIGASYSTEM View Post
WB3.1+OS3.5+OS3.9 or WB3.0+OS3.5+OS3.9 (In my opinion the best choice)
Why do you need OS3.5 in the middle of the installation?

And why do you prefer to install it over OS3.0 instead of OS3.1?
Retrofan is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 08:42   #106
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 61
All right, it will make the support to install Amiga OS 3.9 over Workbench 3.1.

Actually, the Amiga OS 3.9 install script I have created does the same as running the installer from Amiga OS 3.9 cd selecting full installation over wb3.0/3.1 or empty hd. This installation process first copies AmigaOS3.5 files and then AmigaOS3.9 files from cd-rom to hard disk and I have replicated the same process by examining the installer.

I guess you would only install OS3.9 over WB3.0, if that's the only Workbench one would have at hand. I would personally go for WB3.1+(OS3.5 indirectly installed)+OS3.9.

Last edited by cyberhead97; 29 August 2017 at 08:46. Reason: Added response to Retrofan
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 09:21   #107
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,044
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
Why do you need OS3.5 in the middle of the installation?
If you install 3.1+3.9 you can find icons without color, see scrennshot

OS3.5 upgrade 3.0/3.1
OS3.9 Is upgrade 3.5

Quote:
And why do you prefer to install it over OS3.0 instead of OS3.1?
I feel a cleaner update.


Screenshot Install 3.1+3.9 / Install 3.1+3.5+3.9

Last edited by AMIGASYSTEM; 16 October 2017 at 22:51.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 15:07   #108
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 61
Hmm interesting, there seems to be a visual difference with the colors of icons. I just tried 3.1+3.9 using my installer and I get same result as your first screenshot.

Then I noticed you have AmigaOS3.9 drawer open in your screenshots where icons has the better colors. Examining icons on the Amiga OS 3.9 cd in drawer "AmigaOS3.9:OS-VERSION3.9/Workbench3.5" looks the same as your second screenshot, which indicates that the Amiga OS 3.9 cd has and does install these icons with high colors. But during the installation of Amiga OS 3.9 something must touches/patches them resulting in low colors.

Looking at the installer script the only part that does anything with icons, is a tool called "IconPos" located at "AmigaOS3.9:OS-VERSION3.9/INSTALL-TOOLS/ICONPOS" and modifying this gave following result with attached screenshots:
  1. Screenshot 1: Install 3.1+3.9, IconPos used all icons. All icons have low colors.
  2. Screenshot 2: Install 3.1+3.9, IconPos partly used for 3 icons. Icons Prefs, Prefs->Fonts and Prefs->Locale touched by IconPos and has low colors, but rest have high colors.
  3. Screenshot 3: Install 3.1+3.9, IconPos removed. All icons have high colors.

I'm not sure what IconPos does, but from it's name it sounds like a tool reposition icons within a drawer.

Removing use of IconPos seems to achieve same result as installing 3.1+3.5+3.9, which makes me believe that installation of OS3.5 is irrelevant and that IconPos is incorrectly used even by Amiga OS 3.9 own installer.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1_os3.1+os3.9_iconpos_all.png
Views:	27
Size:	54.5 KB
ID:	54371   Click image for larger version

Name:	2_os3.1+os3.9_iconpos_partly.png
Views:	26
Size:	42.9 KB
ID:	54372   Click image for larger version

Name:	3_os3.1+os3.9_iconpos_none.png
Views:	29
Size:	73.4 KB
ID:	54373  
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 15:20   #109
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 576
Great work, keep it up!
I'd make sure the unofficial boing bags 3-4 are optional, as many people prefer to stop at BB2.
But making the whole install as easy to use as possible is even more important, so I'd even consider defaulting to BB2 and just include BB3-4 install instead.
fgh is offline  
Old 29 August 2017, 15:28   #110
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 61
Quote:
Originally Posted by fgh View Post
Great work, keep it up!
I'd make sure the unofficial boing bags 3-4 are optional, as many people prefer to stop at BB2.
But making the whole install as easy to use as possible is even more important, so I'd even consider defaulting to BB2 and just include BB3-4 install instead.
Thanks, I'm getting deeper and deeper into the Workbench dungeon .

Boing bags are optional. They are detected from mounted OS39DIR directory and HstWB Installer will only install the ones that are present:
  • Empty OS39DIR = no boing bags are installed.
  • BoingBag39-1.lha in OS39DIR = install boing bags 1.
  • BoingBag39-1.lha + BoingBag39-2.lha in OS39DIR = install boing bags 1 and boing bags 2.
  • BoingBag39-2.lha in OS39DIR = no boing bags are installed as boing bags 1 doesn't exist and boing bags must be installed in the correct order 1, 2, 3, 4.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 30 August 2017, 23:17   #111
AMIGASYSTEM
Registered User
AMIGASYSTEM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Brindisi (Italia)
Posts: 2,044
If it may be interesting, there is also the way to install it OS3.9 Directly from the CD Os3.9 without using it WB3.0/3.1 and OS3.5, HERE find a nice tutorial by Thomas.
AMIGASYSTEM is offline  
Old 02 October 2017, 22:16   #112
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 61
Time for an update.

I'm actively working on the next version of HstWB Installer on a day to day basis and thought I was close to a release a few weeks ago... but then feature creep and bug fixing happened.

Here's an overview of new features:
  1. Reduced Windows start menu entries, so there is only 1: HstWB Installer. This will start a launcher.
  2. A new launcher is introduced to give better and simplified access to HstWB Installer and it's functions, help and support files. Arrow keys and return allows easy and fast navigation in the launcher.
  3. Added a Topaz truetype font for both launcher and powershell windows to give HstWB Installer a more Amiga like look and feel.
  4. Updated HstWB Installer to use both FS-UAE and WinUAE. A configure emulator menu will list auto-detected emulators and an option to select custom emulator .exe file, if HstWB Installer doesn't detect emulators as default locations.
  5. Removed installation of Boing Bags 3 & 4 through HstWB Installer. It's still possible to manually install Boing Bags 3 & 4 without HstWB Installer, if these are preferred.
  6. Added user package installation as a simple way of installing files like EAB WHDLoad Packs. This works in both install and self install mode, where self install mode requires an UAE emulator with USERPACKAGESDIR directory added containing a directory per user package. It's only requires a "_installdir" in each user package directory to notify HstWB Installer where the user package should be installed, eg. it could contain "DH1:WHDLoad/Games".
  7. Lot of small improvements and bug fixes.

The only new feature left now is getting package installation to automatically add package dependencies, eg. when adding HstWB package it will also add BetterWB package.

I have added a few teaser screenshots, so you can see what some of the new features look like.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	launcher.png
Views:	28
Size:	4.1 KB
ID:	54859   Click image for larger version

Name:	emulators.png
Views:	29
Size:	37.0 KB
ID:	54860   Click image for larger version

Name:	user_packages1.png
Views:	26
Size:	20.6 KB
ID:	54861   Click image for larger version

Name:	user_packages2.png
Views:	26
Size:	37.1 KB
ID:	54862   Click image for larger version

Name:	user_packages3.png
Views:	21
Size:	6.5 KB
ID:	54863  

Click image for larger version

Name:	user_packages4.png
Views:	25
Size:	10.0 KB
ID:	54864  
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 09 October 2017, 09:59   #113
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 61
I'm getting closer to a beta release.

The feature to automatically select package dependencies is implemented and works for both install and self install mode. It should help users to install e.g. both BetterWB and HstWB, if HstWB package is selected.

Meanwhile I have been working on Amiga OS 3.9 support and other updates, EAB WHDLoad Packs 3.0 has been released. I really want the next release to support this, so I have started running scripts to update and build new AGS2 and iGame menus for EAB WHDLoad Packs 3.0, which will result in EAB WHDLoad Games/Demos OCS/AGA Menu packages v3.0.0.

The support for user packages comes with a preconfigured installation of EAB WHDLoad Packs 3.0 demos, games, games aga and games that must be unpack on amiga. With a self install image, it is very easy to install these packs. It only required that users download, extract EAB WHDLoad Packs them selves and copies the extracted folders to a user packages directory with same naming of directories. The self install process will then detect these user packages and install them as part of the installation process.

To speed up the beta release I will make a video, showing how to use the new features instead of everyone having to wait for me to write documentation, which will be the finalizing part of the release.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 09 October 2017, 11:11   #114
ppill
CON: artist
ppill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Poland
Age: 36
Posts: 1,158
Send a message via Skype™ to ppill
Great project!

I had a look at the scripts and how it handles fms: and adf files (using diskwiz). One neat trick is to simply copy the adf file as unit0 to fms:

Code:
copy workbench3.1.adf as fms:unit0
and use

Code:
diskchange ff0:
to initiate it. Same thing applies to other units of fms.device.
ppill is offline  
Old 09 October 2017, 20:31   #115
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 61
Nice, why didn't I think of that. It makes changing adf's much easier with fms.

In the upcoming beta release, I have replaced fms and diskwiz with xadmaster. This seems faster when I need to scan multiple adf's, listing adf content and checking if certain files exist.
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 11 October 2017, 15:20   #116
Daedalus
Registered User

Daedalus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Dublin, then Glasgow
Posts: 2,160
I've installed OS 3.9 directly over a clean 3.1 install countless times, and never had any issues with icon colours. I think the problem might be that people are installing with a 3.0 or 3.1 icon library resident, which will cause IconPos to save the icon as an old-style image when it modifies its position. This is one of the reasons 3.9 is supposed to be installed when booted from the emergency floppy, even when you have a 3.1 install with working CD-ROM support.
Daedalus is offline  
Old 12 October 2017, 08:56   #117
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 61
That makes perfect sense as I’m currently installing/copying Amiga OS 3.9 in Workbench 3.1 context. I should make my installer boot a patched emergency boot that installs Amiga OS 3.9 so it’s done in a proper OS 3.9 context
cyberhead97 is offline  
Old 14 October 2017, 23:40   #118
cyberhead97
Registered User

 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Denmark
Posts: 61
I'm making progress updating EAB WHDLoad menu packages to support latest EAB WHDLoad Packs v3.0. At the moment I'm running tests with Games AGA and OCS menu packages to make sure they work as expected.

To aid users I have added a remove game WHDLoads menu, which allows selection and removal of unwanted languages and hardware versions, e.g. removing DE, CZ language and CDTV hardware versions. I have attached a screenshot of the first prototype, which is being tested.

After all menu packages is updated, I will look into using a patched OS 3.9 emergency boot to install OS 3.9 instead of the current Workbench 3.1 method. I don't expect this to take more than a few days to change.

I'm getting closer a beta release and I only have 1 other planned update, which is add a simple python version of a powershell install UAE config script. It updates paths to Kickstart roms and HDF files/dirs in UAE configs and installs UAE config files for both WinUAE and FS-UAE, if installed.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	remove_game_whdloads_prototype.png
Views:	12
Size:	19.0 KB
ID:	55030  
cyberhead97 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Legal Issues if Sharing RP9 Snapshots? tygre Retrogaming General Discussion 17 18 September 2014 20:04
ImageStudio preinstalled retrogamer request.Apps 5 31 March 2011 05:59
Making cf_ClassicWB_FULL.hdf bigger? emuola project.ClassicWB 3 06 June 2009 00:23
New ruling making retro-archives legal? Bloodwych Retrogaming General Discussion 3 24 November 2006 19:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:21.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.18718 seconds with 14 queries