English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 November 2012, 18:55   #1
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 588
PFS3 All-in-One released

Toni Wilen has just released PFS3 All-In-One!

Improvements over normal PFS3 include NSD support, KS1.x and 68000 support and maxtransfer bug workaround.
In addition the TD64/NSD/direct-SCSI versions are merged into one, using fail-safe autodetection.

Check it out, it might just be the last file system you'll ever need..

Quote:
Originally Posted by Aminet Readme

This is improved all-in-one 100% OS 1.x/2.x/3.x/68000+ compatible
port of recently open sourced Professional File System III (PFS3),
SVN version. Sources available in AROS source tree.

Changes:

2.0
---

- Improved version of PFS3 for KS1.x
- Direct SCSI merged with standard PFS3.
- NSD support added.
- Autodetects block access mode (TD, TD64, NSD, DirectSCSI),
does not mount any partitions that can't be fully or partially
accessed due to driver limits.
- >256 block transfer ROM IDE driver bug workaround included.
("Max Transfer" bug)

Includes also all PFS3 for KS1.X updates:

1.1
---

- Merged latest official SVN updates.
- Compatible with KS 1.3 + 2.x extended ROM CDTV with v37 exec.
- Enabled removable media support.
- Fixed ACTION_DIE (unmount) crash.
- WB 1.x C:Info reports correct state information.

Autodetection details:
----------------------

If last block of partition is inside of first 4G of drive:

- Test if standard CMD_READ can access last block.
- Test if HD_SCSICMD Read(10) can access last block.

If both tests failed, do not mount, show error requester.

HD_SCSICMD test is needed because A590 pre-7.0 and CDTV SCSI
CMD_READ have 1G limit, HD_SCSICMD does not have any limits.
(Other old SCSI controllers may have similar restrictions.)

If last block of partition is outside of first 4G of drive:

- Test if NSD is supported and can access last block.
- Test if TD64 is supported and can access last block.
- Test if HD_SCSICMD Read(10) can access last block.

If all tests failed: do not mount, no requester shown.

If DOSType = PDSx: test HD_SCSICMD Read(10) first.
fgh is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 08 November 2012, 19:59   #2
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,267
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
is it normal version shown is 18.0 ? when i add it in hdtoolbox, it show 18.0..must be 18.4 no ?



working well anyway

Thx for it !

Last edited by Foul; 08 November 2012 at 20:05.
Foul is offline  
Old 08 November 2012, 20:08   #3
fgh
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Norway
Posts: 588
This release by Toni Wilen is not part of the 'official' PFS3 sourceforge project. (at least not yet)
As far as I can understand from this post, it's to avoid conflicts with the official PFS3 project.
fgh is offline  
Old 08 November 2012, 20:16   #4
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,267
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
i understand but a "ver pfs3_aio-handler" gives ver 18.4 soooo !?!
Foul is offline  
Old 09 November 2012, 18:55   #5
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,961
I am not sure where exactly the version/revision numbers shown in hdtoolbox comes from. You can ignore it, it is not used by hdtoolbox or AmigaOS or filesystem itself.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 09 November 2012, 21:18   #6
Foul
Registered User

Foul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Perigueux/France
Age: 43
Posts: 1,267
Send a message via ICQ to Foul Send a message via MSN to Foul Send a message via Skype™ to Foul
ok
Foul is offline  
Old 10 November 2012, 04:05   #7
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 18,314
This sounds exciting! I Will give it a try, even though SFS has served me well, I can install this one in my A600
Akira is online now  
Old 10 November 2012, 20:30   #8
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
Just saw this was uploaded on aminet:

http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/PFS3_svn_134

but no changelog (or is there?). How does this version compare to Toni's?
vulture is offline  
Old 10 November 2012, 20:46   #9
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,961
Quote:
Originally Posted by vulture View Post
Just saw this was uploaded on aminet:

http://aminet.net/package/disk/misc/PFS3_svn_134

but no changelog (or is there?). How does this version compare to Toni's?
Appears to be "simple" repackage of official SVN version.

Differences: (I think, readme is really minimal..)

- 2.04+ only
- separate normal and DS versions
- No autodetection or NSD support. (Does not guarantee data safety if driver has >4G issues)
- has 68020+ only CPU versions
- maybe more optimized build, I guess it is SAS-C compiled. (GCC 68k support is not that good but aros build environment is required for 1.x compatibility tricks)
- documentation and other stuff included

(1.x compatibility tricks and hacks are the reason why I don't want to include it in official SVN tree)
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 10 November 2012, 21:33   #10
vulture
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Athens , Greece
Posts: 685
ah, I see, thx Toni
vulture is offline  
Old 06 December 2012, 17:40   #11
tom256
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Poland
Posts: 121
Has anyone benchmark this new filesystem??? Is it faster or slower??
tom256 is offline  
Old 06 December 2012, 17:47   #12
turrican3
Moon 1969 = amiga 1985

turrican3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: belgium
Age: 41
Posts: 3,159
in the real world pfs3 was faster, under winuae, it's a test do do
turrican3 is offline  
Old 09 December 2012, 12:04   #13
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,961
I found 1.3 DOS undocumented (not even Guru book mentions it) bug/feature that causes access fault when filesystem handler starts and handler was expecting documented ACTION_STARTUP packet contents.

For some reason 1.3 autoboot startup packet has only single valid field (dp_Arg2 is valid, dp_Arg1=garbage, dp_Arg3=NULL). Only manual mounting creates fully valid packet.

Update coming soon.
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 23 December 2012, 14:36   #14
jonathan
Pastafarian

 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Uppsala/Sweden
Posts: 243
Thanks a lot to Toni. Just did a dropin replacement of pfs3ds file on my 1200/060, and everything seems to work fine after testing. Don't know if it's placebo, but i imagine that it's blazingly fast
jonathan is offline  
Old 27 March 2013, 19:30   #15
Fieldday
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Germany
Posts: 76
Question

Hi,
is there any way to tag pds3 as rom module?
Fieldday is offline  
Old 27 March 2013, 21:18   #16
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 39
Posts: 5,591
Send a message via MSN to FOL Send a message via Skype™ to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fieldday View Post
Hi,
is there any way to tag pds3 as rom module?
I second this, be nice if it was romable.
FOL is offline  
Old 27 March 2013, 22:05   #17
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,961
Why? Does some situation really exists where you don't have automount/boot harddrive (filesystem in RDB) and still need PFS3?
Toni Wilen is online now  
Old 27 March 2013, 23:26   #18
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 39
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
I agree with Toni on this.
Since PFS3 exist in the RDB of the Hard Drive... I see no reason for it to be in the ROM.
mfilos is offline  
Old 28 March 2013, 10:59   #19
Gilloo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Grenoble, Isère, Rhône-Alpes, France, Europe, Earth
Posts: 159
Hello world, I take advantage of this thread to ask something concerning the loading of the filesystems from the RDB: how to do that on an external device ?
Gilloo is offline  
Old 28 March 2013, 11:38   #20
Toni Wilen
WinUAE developer
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hämeenlinna/Finland
Age: 42
Posts: 19,961
Note that this is PFS3 news thread. Very offtopic.
Toni Wilen is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PFS3 or PFS3 SCSI Direct xalakibaniou project.ClassicWB 105 27 July 2013 23:08
PFS3 why cant i... zharn support.Apps 9 27 January 2013 07:27
Install PFS3 ? Mr B project.ClassicWB 10 19 August 2012 02:15
PFS3 error: INVALID PFS3 COPY !!! WTF? keropi support.Apps 10 18 March 2008 23:30
Pfs3 Hewitson request.Apps 3 22 December 2007 15:32

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.24445 seconds with 13 queries