English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware > Hardware mods

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 February 2011, 21:25   #1
ceedy
Old-Amiga-Git
ceedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset , in the UK
Posts: 175
Tower or not to tower,that is the question.

Just dusting off my A1200 Tower .. a bit of a home brew i did in 1900 and christ Knows..

But a long while ago..

I did the m/board with the pcmcia sticking out the rear and lots of flying leads.

Cut up the A1200 case for the top and an old IBM keybd base, made a nice slim keyboard.

Must be OK its still working ..


But her'se the thing .. I fancy another modding session , maybe ??? . ( every 15 years iniit!!)

(got a new dremel for Xmas)

Shall I refine the tower .. ??? or have ago at putting it all in an Old 500 case I have .. for summat different.

I'm sure if i ask for some opinions I get some ?? ..

Come on fill yer boots !!

Chris
ceedy is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 20 February 2011, 22:28   #2
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
IMO nice desktop is ok - IMO search for some small decent desktop (old PC or MAC - i use MAC's as asource 68040MAC's are good only as a source of the CPU for Amiga).
pandy71 is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 22:35   #3
jmmijo
Junior Member
jmmijo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: PDX
Age: 55
Posts: 2,355
I don't own a 1200 so I can't really make the call here, however I think they look nice as a desktop machine.

I took my A4000 Desktop and modded it into an Standard ATX Full Tower case, looks ok as it was a quick dirty mod.
jmmijo is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 22:41   #4
johnim
Amibay Mod/Staff

johnim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: birmingham uk
Age: 42
Posts: 1,024
you got any piccys
johnim is offline  
Old 20 February 2011, 23:34   #5
ceedy
Old-Amiga-Git
ceedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset , in the UK
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by johnim View Post
you got any piccys

well yes ..

heres the keyboard .. with its 2mtre lead

it predates PS2 plugs as well ..



And the tower now I've vacuumed it out a bit .. lots of creepies living in there
Not the most sytlish case but it is 16 years oldish, and the deepest i could find . No drives in as you can see..



The rear end ..

nice logos on sticky labels !

and the carefully penned wiring info lll





The innards .. super tidy .. errm!! maybe not !.



See slot on lower right to let the blizzard stick through .. case wasn't quite big enough !!..
with specially applied duck tape insulator .

But it still all works ..

Chris

Last edited by ceedy; 21 February 2011 at 00:42. Reason: Back to back posts merged. Use the edit function.
ceedy is offline  
Old 21 February 2011, 01:08   #6
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
maybe something like this?
pandy71 is offline  
Old 21 February 2011, 01:24   #7
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
i have been tempted to A1200T for years, recently came close to buying a starter one from amibay... but adding up all the costs involved to get it up to the highest spec possible and run games like wipeout 2097 at full res

well, i am gonna have to be happy with my A1200D with blizzard 030/50 64mb and 4.gb CFHD with a personal reg'ed WHDLoad

i would never really use the power of my A1200T and would end up the Amiga i always wanted but never really used

but hey... the skys the limit
Djay is offline  
Old 21 February 2011, 04:20   #8
GrizzlyAdams
 
Posts: n/a
Towering has been done too much. What is needed is more Desktop conversions. I'm working on one of my own: http://picasaweb.google.com/grizzlytwi/AmigaA1200D
 
Old 21 February 2011, 10:25   #9
ceedy
Old-Amiga-Git
ceedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset , in the UK
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by GrizzlyAdams View Post
Towering has been done too much. What is needed is more Desktop conversions. I'm working on one of my own: http://picasaweb.google.com/grizzlytwi/AmigaA1200D
I'm swaying that way..

My tower was not for a power setup , just for the look really at the time ..
its only a little more that standard.

Will scout round the junk store at work to see whats about..

can't spend too much eh!!

C
ceedy is offline  
Old 21 February 2011, 14:27   #10
ceedy
Old-Amiga-Git
ceedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset , in the UK
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
maybe something like this?
nice looking but we'd have to cut the 1200 in half to get it in ...
its less than 300mm wide.
ceedy is offline  
Old 21 February 2011, 18:56   #11
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
It was only example - i have in home 3 quadras (660 - 655 etc) and AFAIR they close to 50 than 30 cm...

But so called "pizza box" was always my favourite size for desktops - some old Suns, Wyse terminals AFAIR are this size.
pandy71 is offline  
Old 21 February 2011, 21:58   #12
ceedy
Old-Amiga-Git
ceedy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Somerset , in the UK
Posts: 175
Quote:
Originally Posted by pandy71 View Post
It was only example - i have in home 3 quadras (660 - 655 etc) and AFAIR they close to 50 than 30 cm...

But so called "pizza box" was always my favourite size for desktops - some old Suns, Wyse terminals AFAIR are this size.

No probs I just went by this info on wiki pedia

  • Weight: 8.8 lb / 4 kg standard. A Quadra 605 can support a monitor up to 35 lb / 15.9 kg.
  • Dimensions: 2.9" high x 12.2" wide x 15.3" deep / 7.4 cm high x 31 cm wide x 38.8 cm deep.
But I like the look of it ..to'

Chris
ceedy is offline  
Old 22 February 2011, 01:27   #13
pandy71
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: PL
Posts: 1,546
605 is one of smaller Mac's - 660 is much bigger.
pandy71 is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Micronik Infinitiv Tower - Keyboard Adapter question + something else jbenam support.Hardware 5 14 October 2009 18:52
A1200 Tower DDNI Hardware mods 14 19 February 2009 23:26
Tower of Souls HD Solid Snake request.Old Rare Games 9 23 May 2006 19:24
A1200: to TOWER or not to tower - that is the question buckrogers New to Emulation or Amiga scene 23 08 March 2005 17:15
Amiga Tower Djay Amiga scene 37 24 March 2003 17:25

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:23.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.21916 seconds with 12 queries