English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 25 September 2007, 13:47   #1
tabu
 
Posts: n/a
4000d tower

hi can anybody help me for a4000d tower with mediator 4000 ?
because mirage tower case so expensive. How can I use standart pc tower case ?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 25 September 2007, 14:20   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,367
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
The easiest way is to simply make a large enough hole in the rear of the PC case and then insert the A4000 case's bottom part inside the PC case. (heh, I just gave the same suggestion to someone wanting to make an A2000 tower) You'd have to use the Mediator 4000Di in that case, to be able to use the A4000D case's card bracket.

Other than that, you're in for some heavy modifications to the ATX case, there is no simple answer other than get a tape measure, a drill, an angle grinder, a dremel, some pop-rivets, a pop-riveter, some sheet metal and start modifying.

No mounting holes will line up, the card cage will be in the wrong place and the power supply connector is different.

Thus your question is a little too generic for the task at hand. Unfortunately I don't know of any step by step instructions for this kind of job either. Remove the back panel and fabricate a new one yourself with the card bracket in the right place. Drill and tap new mounting holes for the motherboard. Make standoffs so that the Mediator backplane does not hang loose on top of the A4000D motherboard.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 September 2007, 14:23   #3
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Hello tabu

welcome to the EAB, i am sure you will like it here, theres plenty of mischief to get int0

there are some guides on the net on how to go about making or converting your own tower, so let me provide you a few links to help you in your search.

It seems that when searching for amiga hacks this page comes up lot... so its a start

http://theweeks.org/toms-stuff/AMYHACKPAGE.html

heres a discussion on the NewTek forums about building an A4000 into an ATX chassis, includes some good links..

http://www.newtek.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31200

and when all else seems lost theres this gallery of Amiga 4000 Mods

http://www.amiga.org/modules/myalbum...?num=10&cid=12

I hope they help
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 25 September 2007, 17:54   #4
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,367
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Zetro to the rescue.. Thanks for filling me in.
Jope is offline  
Old 25 September 2007, 18:06   #5
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 43
Posts: 9,769
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jope View Post
Zetro to the rescue.. Thanks for filling me in.
shhh.... dont tell... fred would get jelious

besides i have a welcome post on a macro.... errr maybe
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 25 September 2007, 20:14   #6
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,367
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
Heh, don't admit it.. :-)
Jope is offline  
Old 28 September 2007, 05:10   #7
tabu
 
Posts: n/a
thank for your help I know this problems, but I dont found example project on the net. My firstly big problem is, I have so much zorro cards(v-lab motion, toccata,retina,IV-24 etc...) I want mount all cards, how can I zorro holder part on the tower back side ?
 
Old 28 September 2007, 13:00   #8
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,367
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
You will need some kind of busboard to hold them all.. I don't think there are others still available than the Elbox Mediator.

The PC tower's original card mounting bracket will be suitable for this, but it has to be drilled out of the back panel and moved to a new location.

I'm sorry, I didn't fully understand what you were asking.
Jope is offline  
Old 28 September 2007, 23:43   #9
tabu
 
Posts: n/a
ok thanks
 
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amiga 4000d mal101 support.Hardware 10 21 May 2013 08:12
Kickstart3.1 in 4000D merlin1968 support.Hardware 1 14 July 2012 17:44
so, now i have a 4000D Paul_s Hardware mods 21 31 July 2009 16:14
Grex 4000d alexh MarketPlace 4 11 May 2006 21:56
A1200: to TOWER or not to tower - that is the question buckrogers New to Emulation or Amiga scene 23 08 March 2005 17:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 22:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.13777 seconds with 12 queries