English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.FS-UAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 July 2016, 11:06   #1
GuitarAns
 
Posts: n/a
minimum pc requiments

i want to build a "modern amiga" for game usage( kind a portable ) . i Got a Raspberry pi 3 installed retropie on it, but the amiga emulator uae4all and uae4all isnt that well
ive tryed to install debian on a sd card for the raspberry pi 3 and installed the fs-uae, but it seems that it dosnt have enough power to run it.
so, i would like to get a mini pc, install debian on it and try again. but i am afraid to buy a mini pc that isnt powerfull enougt..

any one have a better solution or an ideer ?
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 30 July 2016, 13:19   #2
jayminer
Registered User

jayminer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Umeå / Sweden
Posts: 168
I don't know what exact requirements you have but last time I tried this: https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/v...?f=78&t=110488 on the Raspberry Pi the speed was quite decent. Felt about as fast as a 030 Amiga. Since it's JIT some things will be very fast and some others not so fast. I tried a few games and all ran well enough.

On the PC side of things I think whatever you can buy nowadays will give you decent enough Amiga-emulation. I ran FS-UAE on an old 1.6GHz Atom netbook and it ran very well.
jayminer is offline  
Old 30 July 2016, 15:48   #3
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 605
uae4arm on a PI is much faster than uae4all.

https://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/v...c.php?t=110488
https://github.com/Chips-fr/uae4arm-rpi
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 30 July 2016, 17:03   #4
GuitarAns
 
Posts: n/a
thanks for the answers, i just dont think that uae4all and the uar4arm works very well.. :-/ so im looking for an better alternative..
 
Old 30 July 2016, 20:42   #5
FrodeSolheim
FS-UAE Developer

FrodeSolheim's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Førde, Norway
Age: 37
Posts: 3,427
Please look at this page: https://www.cpubenchmark.net/singleThread.html (single thread performance) and check the performance rating for the CPU you are considering.

If the CPU scores about 800-ish or above, it will probably run A1000/500/600 emulation (cycle-exact) well. But no guarantees, I don't have any exact minimum requirements. Faster CPU is better, of course. Dual-core (or more cores) is highly recommended! Consider 1000+ score if you want to have more confidence that it will work smoothly now and in the future.

For cycle-exact A1200 emulation you need a faster CPU (but you can also run without cycle-exact emulation. This will lower the CPU requirements).

(You also need hardware-accelerated OpenGL, but you don't need any powerful GPU).

(Disclaimer, I cannot know how well it will run on a given (weak) CPU, so don't blame me if purchased hardware isn't powerful enough).

If anyone of you has a weak-ish CPU and FS-UAE runs well (or not), please consider posting about it

Last edited by FrodeSolheim; 30 July 2016 at 20:50.
FrodeSolheim is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Minimum sector gap Blueberry Coders. Asm / Hardware 11 03 May 2016 11:23
Minimum Utilities to get up and running allanmb Amiga scene 3 30 September 2015 16:08
minimum requirents for whdload... gntavelis support.Hardware 13 10 March 2014 15:10
Minimum requirements for MFMWarp? andreas project.WHDLoad 4 28 October 2005 23:18
WinUAE Minimum System Req's? Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 10 15 December 2004 17:15

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 09:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06096 seconds with 13 queries