English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.WHDLoad

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 30 January 2013, 14:20   #41
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 50
Posts: 425
Quote:
Originally Posted by Telemachus View Post
Cool Does the new imager mean smaller disk image files? or extracted data files?
The images are exactly the same as those made by the original imager. I just prefer rawdic over patcher.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 30 January 2013, 15:03   #42
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 42
Posts: 8,311
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
the patcher is outdated, and doesn't allow the use of MFM images

Rawdic is 10 times better
dlfrsilver is offline  
Old 30 January 2013, 16:09   #43
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Maybe updating to RAWDIC might help with Cool Spot and Global Gladiators.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...bal+gladiators

I've now been able to reproduce the problem on a A600 and CDTV since then.

Only two games that do it.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 01 February 2013, 05:32   #44
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 50
Posts: 425
Here is the update for Pegasus

version 1.1 (01-31-2013) done by Keith Krellwitz (Abaddon):
- Converted the install to use patchlists
- Updated cheat (filled in missing action for 3 of the keys)
- Created a new imager using RawDic
- Changed default quit key to * (* on keypad)
- Added support for the quit back to OS for 68000
- Second Button support maps to space
- Updated protection to completely bypass entry screen
- Fixed 2x set color bit (snoop bug)
- Added 1 additional blitter wait (snoop bug)
- Removed 1 disk initialization (snoop bug)
- Fixed Blit outside base memory (f6006) (snoop bug)
- Custom1=1 - Enable Programmers Cheat
- Custom4=1 - Testing Trainer
- Custom5=# - Set Default Start Level (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10)
This is then mulitplied by 5, so you can set the default
start level 5,10,15,20,25,30,35,40,45 and 50.
- Custom2=1 - Disable blitter patches
- Custom3=1 - Enable CD32 joypad support
Red - Fire
Blue - Weapon select (skip intro)
Play+Forward+Reverse - Quit
Play - Pause
Forward+Reverse+Yellow - Abort Game

With Custom1=1

Green+Reverse - Add Crystals
Green+Forward - Skip Level (with cheat active)
Yellow+Reverse - Add extra shots to special weapon
Yellow+Forward - Activate Shield
Attached Files
File Type: slave Pegasus.slave (2.7 KB, 62 views)

Last edited by Abaddon; 06 February 2013 at 05:20.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 01 February 2013, 09:05   #45
spajdr
Old fart
spajdr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Ostrava/Czech Republic
Age: 42
Posts: 309
Send a message via ICQ to spajdr
Abaddon > thank you very much sir!
spajdr is offline  
Old 01 February 2013, 12:49   #46
Psygore
Moderator

Psygore's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: France
Posts: 484
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retro-Nerd View Post
Here's a short WinUAE clip, but the same happens on my real Amiga with your testpatch.exe. Doesn't happen if you use the keys though.

http://www16.zippyshare.com/v/79938815/file.html
This 'buzz' is the flip sound played quickly and repeatedly.
It should check the pad button pressed only once.
Psygore is offline  
Old 01 February 2013, 12:59   #47
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,863
I see, thanks for the info. This should be an easy fix, right?
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 01 February 2013, 19:45   #48
Telemachus
Registered User
Telemachus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
Here you is the update for Pegasus

version 1.1 (01-31-2013) done by Keith Krellwitz (Abaddon):
- Converted the install to use patchlists
- Updated cheat (filled in missing action for 3 of the keys)
- Created a new imager using RawDic
- Changed default quit key to * (* on keypad)
- Added support for the quit back to OS for 68000
- Second Button support maps to space
- Updated protection to completely bypass entry screen
- Fixed 2x set color bit (snoop bug)
- Added 1 additional blitter wait (snoop bug)
- Removed 1 disk initialization (snoop bug)
- Fixed Blit outside base memory (f6006) (snoop bug)
- Custom1=1 - Enable Programmers Cheat
- Custom4=1 - Testing Trainer
- Custom5=# - Set Default Start Level (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10)
This is then mulitplied by 5, so you can set the default
start level 5,10,15,20,25,30,35,40,45 and 50.
- Custom2=1 - Disable blitter patches
- Custom3=1 - Enable CD32 joypad support
Red - Fire
Blue - Weapon select (skip intro)
Play+Forward+Reverse - Quit
Play - Pause
Forward+Reverse+Yellow - Abort Game

With Custom1=1

Green+Reverse - Add Crystals
Green+Forward - Skip Level (with cheat active)
Yellow+Reverse - Add extra shots to special weapon
Yellow+Forward - Activate Shield
Wow amazing Abaddon, I can't wait to try it out.
Telemachus is offline  
Old 01 February 2013, 19:47   #49
SolderPCB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake View Post
Maybe updating to RAWDIC might help with Cool Spot and Global Gladiators.

http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?...bal+gladiators

I've now been able to reproduce the problem on a A600 and CDTV since then.

Only two games that do it.
I can test these games on my CDTV tonight.
SolderPCB is offline  
Old 02 February 2013, 17:49   #50
SolderPCB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Hi whitesnake

I tried Global Gladiators and Cool Spot on my CDTV with the latest whdload and you are correct they don't work anymore?

I got the same screen you posted which happens after a few reads when loading Cool Spot.



Global Gladiators just gives a black screen but stops at the same point I think.

Maybe it is because both these games use a similar protection scheme, both virgin games?

I noticed there are older slaves on whdload.de maybe they will work?
SolderPCB is offline  
Old 04 February 2013, 14:20   #51
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolderPCB View Post
Hi whitesnake

I tried Global Gladiators and Cool Spot on my CDTV with the latest whdload and you are correct they don't work anymore?

I got the same screen you posted which happens after a few reads when loading Cool Spot.



Global Gladiators just gives a black screen but stops at the same point I think.

Maybe it is because both these games use a similar protection scheme, both virgin games?

I noticed there are older slaves on whdload.de maybe they will work?

The Read Delay option doesn't fix the issue, just in case anyone is thinking about trying that. Thanks for the reminder Boo Boo.

Like Galahad said sometime ago it is a disk check error of some kind? I'm not quite sure what that means but I think it is related to the game OS Swapping. Or it could be the absence of a DF0: device.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 05 February 2013, 14:44   #52
Whitesnake
Martin Shaw

Whitesnake's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 400
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
Here you is the update for Pegasus

version 1.1 (01-31-2013) done by Keith Krellwitz (Abaddon):
- Converted the install to use patchlists
- Updated cheat (filled in missing action for 3 of the keys)
- Created a new imager using RawDic
- Changed default quit key to * (* on keypad)
- Added support for the quit back to OS for 68000
- Second Button support maps to space
- Updated protection to completely bypass entry screen
- Fixed 2x set color bit (snoop bug)
- Added 1 additional blitter wait (snoop bug)
- Removed 1 disk initialization (snoop bug)
- Fixed Blit outside base memory (f6006) (snoop bug)
- Custom1=1 - Enable Programmers Cheat
- Custom4=1 - Testing Trainer
- Custom5=# - Set Default Start Level (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10)
This is then mulitplied by 5, so you can set the default
start level 5,10,15,20,25,30,35,40,45 and 50.
- Custom2=1 - Disable blitter patches
- Custom3=1 - Enable CD32 joypad support
Red - Fire
Blue - Weapon select (skip intro)
Play+Forward+Reverse - Quit
Play - Pause
Forward+Reverse+Yellow - Abort Game

With Custom1=1

Green+Reverse - Add Crystals
Green+Forward - Skip Level (with cheat active)
Yellow+Reverse - Add extra shots to special weapon
Yellow+Forward - Activate Shield
You really went to town on this game Abaddon.

I did some Pegasus testing this morning. I can confirm all the Start Level custom tooltypes work and the CD32 Controls.

The programmers cheat also works with the CD32 controls and the Testing Training makes you invincible.

Good to see there is a buttonwait for that nice title screen.
Whitesnake is offline  
Old 05 February 2013, 19:03   #53
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,420
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whitesnake View Post
The Read Delay option doesn't fix the issue, just in case anyone is thinking about trying that. Thanks for the reminder Boo Boo.

Like Galahad said sometime ago it is a disk check error of some kind? I'm not quite sure what that means but I think it is related to the game OS Swapping. Or it could be the absence of a DF0: device.
Yes it will be copy protection related, its the John Twiddy disk format which on first appearance is AmigaDOS normal tracks, but theres hidden information in the gaps that the games ingame loader checks for.

Aladdin, Cool Spot, Global Gladiators all use it.
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 01:22   #54
Telemachus
Registered User
Telemachus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Brussels
Posts: 78
Quote:
Originally Posted by SolderPCB View Post
I noticed there are older slaves on whdload.de maybe they will work?
I tried them and they do a similar thing


Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
Yes it will be copy protection related, its the John Twiddy disk format which on first appearance is AmigaDOS normal tracks, but theres hidden information in the gaps that the games ingame loader checks for.

Aladdin, Cool Spot, Global Gladiators all use it.
Are there any other HD installed version of Global Gladiators or Cool Spot? or do these games need repatched for WHDLoad?

Last edited by prowler; 06 February 2013 at 22:34. Reason: Back-to-back posts merged.
Telemachus is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 02:07   #55
Galahad/FLT
Going nowhere

Galahad/FLT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 46
Posts: 7,420
I'm unsure why they need repatching when there are installs for them?
Galahad/FLT is offline  
Old 06 February 2013, 13:58   #56
SolderPCB
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Germany
Posts: 87
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galahad/FLT View Post
I'm unsure why they need repatching when there are installs for them?
I think he mean a fix for the error that is happening.
SolderPCB is offline  
Old 15 February 2013, 14:53   #57
Retro-Nerd
Missile Command Champion

Retro-Nerd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Germany
Age: 47
Posts: 11,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abaddon View Post
Here is the update for Pegasus

version 1.1 (01-31-2013) done by Keith Krellwitz (Abaddon):
- Converted the install to use patchlists
- Updated cheat (filled in missing action for 3 of the keys)
- Created a new imager using RawDic
- Changed default quit key to * (* on keypad)
- Added support for the quit back to OS for 68000
- Second Button support maps to space
- Updated protection to completely bypass entry screen
- Fixed 2x set color bit (snoop bug)
- Added 1 additional blitter wait (snoop bug)
- Removed 1 disk initialization (snoop bug)
- Fixed Blit outside base memory (f6006) (snoop bug)
- Custom1=1 - Enable Programmers Cheat
- Custom4=1 - Testing Trainer
- Custom5=# - Set Default Start Level (1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10)
This is then mulitplied by 5, so you can set the default
start level 5,10,15,20,25,30,35,40,45 and 50.
- Custom2=1 - Disable blitter patches
- Custom3=1 - Enable CD32 joypad support
Red - Fire
Blue - Weapon select (skip intro)
Play+Forward+Reverse - Quit
Play - Pause
Forward+Reverse+Yellow - Abort Game

With Custom1=1

Green+Reverse - Add Crystals
Green+Forward - Skip Level (with cheat active)
Yellow+Reverse - Add extra shots to special weapon
Yellow+Forward - Activate Shield
Is it possible to add a jump button for the platformer levels? That would make your patch pretty perfect.
Retro-Nerd is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 16:17   #58
Abaddon
Registered User

Abaddon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Chicago/USA
Age: 50
Posts: 425
I'm sure its possible, I'll take a look when I get time. It may be a while before I get around to worto working on it.
Abaddon is offline  
Old 14 May 2013, 23:32   #59
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 44
Posts: 522
Now that Desert Strike WHDLoad supports a CD32 pad: Has anybody already tried to run it on a real stock CD32? .. and if it works: Would he/she share the iso?
mombasajoe is offline  
Old 17 May 2013, 21:20   #60
mombasajoe
Registered User

mombasajoe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: D
Age: 44
Posts: 522
Errorr on WHDloadCD32

..unfortunately.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	DesertStrike.JPG
Views:	95
Size:	17.8 KB
ID:	35405  
mombasajoe is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
best versions of desert and jungle strike ? turrican3 support.Games 28 06 November 2019 17:11
Desert Strike (PDX) Kettenhund support.WinUAE 8 21 September 2011 21:27
Desert Strike help DeafDaz support.Games 3 06 August 2011 02:00
Desert Strike extra campaign? Unregistered support.Games 4 13 August 2004 23:36
HD Version from Desert Strike !? nicolei request.Old Rare Games 2 20 July 2003 12:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 08:11.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09225 seconds with 14 queries