English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Other Projects > project.Amiga Game Factory

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 08 September 2011, 07:00   #1
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,733
BOOM - New AGA DOOM Port

I've been meaning to update ADoom for a while but can't really get on with the source code so I've started a new project based on BOOM.

You can read all about it here.

I'm using the source code from both ADoom and DoomAttack for reference so I don't expect any major issues.

I'm not bothered about online play so I'll just leave that stubbed out for now.

Music will be MUS only and use the ADOOM music/sfx library.

First release will probably be using C2P, with the newer releases using Graffiti.

I'm currently coding it using AmiDev (gcc) but I'm hoping to get it to compile under vbc after it's working for some extra speed.

Test version (or YouTube video) when it's done......

Last edited by NovaCoder; 24 January 2012 at 04:47.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 08 September 2011, 09:43   #2
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,099
That's sounds neat, cant wait to see it working!

With all your ScummVm work and the tweaking and optimising c2p youve been doing, i was thinking you might make a demo next. But i think this is better!

Last edited by mihcael; 25 February 2012 at 06:41.
mihcael is offline  
Old 24 September 2011, 10:04   #3
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
...
Test version (or YouTube video) when it's done......
Is it done?
mihcael is offline  
Old 27 September 2011, 02:57   #4
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
Is it done?
2 more weeks
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 24 January 2012, 04:46   #5
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,733
Managed to tear myself away for ScummVM tweaking to move this project along a bit and reached an important milestone today and got the code to compile and link

My rough to-do list:

1) Get it to load up a demo WAD file
2) Get the screen display working (double buffered C2P)
3) Get the sound/music working (going to use the DOOM sound library for this).
4) Maybe have a look at getting the networking stuff working (if I can be bothered).

As soon as this thing is loading up a WAD file I'll update this thread again....
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 25 January 2012, 01:56   #6
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,733
It's alive....

Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	BOOM AGA.gif
Views:	423
Size:	13.8 KB
ID:	30431  
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 25 January 2012, 02:46   #7
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,205
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Beta tester over here!
DDNI is offline  
Old 25 January 2012, 06:38   #8
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,733
Hey no probs, as soon as I have something worth testing, I'll upload it to the Zone for ya.

Made some more progress today....


Last edited by NovaCoder; 12 July 2013 at 14:18.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 February 2012, 00:44   #9
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,733
Finally got it to start up and run the main loop without any problems....now on to the graphics

Last edited by NovaCoder; 12 July 2013 at 14:18.
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 03 February 2012, 01:05   #10
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 40
Posts: 6,387
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
You da man NovaCoder
fitzsteve is online now  
Old 03 February 2012, 01:38   #11
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
It's alive....

Yes, bring it to live doctor [ Show youtube player ]
Retrofan is offline  
Old 04 February 2012, 15:17   #12
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,733
I love it when a plan comes together

[ Show youtube player ]
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 04 February 2012, 22:41   #13
mihcael
Zone Friend
mihcael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Aussie
Posts: 1,099
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I love it when a plan comes together

[ Show youtube player ]
Tough game! You unloaded a full clip into that wall but it just wouldnt die.
mihcael is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 02:42   #14
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by mihcael View Post
Tough game! You unloaded a full clip into that wall but it just wouldnt die.
That's not the way to remove tiles
khph_re is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 03:27   #15
Retrofan
Ruler of the Universe

Retrofan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Lanzarote/Spain
Posts: 6,068
Quote:
Originally Posted by NovaCoder View Post
I love it when a plan comes together

[ Show youtube player ]
So, what does it mean? What remains for a better video? jeje... and yes, your accuracy isn't the best...

EDIT: And to have it clear: the objetive is to have a faster ADoom or different?

Last edited by Retrofan; 05 February 2012 at 03:39.
Retrofan is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 05:47   #16
NovaCoder
Registered User
NovaCoder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Melbourne/Australia
Posts: 3,733
Quote:
Originally Posted by Retrofan View Post
So, what does it mean? What remains for a better video? jeje... and yes, your accuracy isn't the best...

EDIT: And to have it clear: the objetive is to have a faster ADoom or different?
bug-fixed, better WAD support and other improvements
NovaCoder is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 12:33   #17
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,599
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Would it be trivial to add camd.lib support while this is developed ?. Would be a nice option to have external midi support and it might give back 1-2 fps to the game.
Mad-Matt is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 13:40   #18
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 400
Out of interest, how possible would it be for Boom to work on ECS?
twiggy is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 15:09   #19
khph_re
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Northampton/UK
Posts: 256
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mad-Matt View Post
Would it be trivial to add camd.lib support while this is developed ?. Would be a nice option to have external midi support and it might give back 1-2 fps to the game.
Stripping out midi and adding mod support would be more Amiga friendly, but probably a big job.
khph_re is offline  
Old 05 February 2012, 17:45   #20
Mad-Matt
Longplayer

Mad-Matt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Lincoln / UK
Age: 40
Posts: 1,599
Send a message via ICQ to Mad-Matt Send a message via MSN to Mad-Matt
Quote:
Originally Posted by khph_re View Post
Stripping out midi and adding mod support would be more Amiga friendly, but probably a big job.
With the doomattack source out, it shouldnt be a big job. Having the sound system plugin based would allow to choose between software/hardware midi, mod and whatever else.
Mad-Matt is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BOOM (DOOM Enhanced) port to 68k NovaCoder News 133 18 November 2019 16:29
DosBox v0.74 AGA 68k Port NovaCoder Amiga scene 20 07 June 2018 03:17
AmiWolf - new AGA Wolfenstein 3D Port NovaCoder project.Amiga Game Factory 100 16 September 2013 02:44
New port coming - Strife AGA lantus360 News 54 17 April 2013 09:06
Possible to port Alien Breed 3D maps to Doom? (I know AB3D has features Doom can't) dex Coders. General 2 21 January 2012 23:06

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:38.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.10459 seconds with 14 queries