English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 03 October 2009, 05:11   #1
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
cd32 stopped working, just like that !

hi all,
cd32 just went dead whilst running a game, one second fine, then next second blank screen, no life in the old dog whatsoever, no activity lights, nowt when switch on.

what usually goes most commonly, is it maybe the power brick ?
how could i pinpoint the problem,
does the bugger have an internal fuse ?

any comments most welcome, i just need ideas, i dont know squat about the cd32, i only kept it all these years for pinball illusions.

cheers
kirk is offline  
Old 03 October 2009, 10:07   #2
Shadowfire
Registered User
Shadowfire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Connecticut USA
Posts: 561
Your post leaves very little information to go on. At this point, I would suggest finding another CD32 power supply to test with your unit.

If a fuse *did* blow, then it blew for a reason, and you would still have to find and correct the problem that caused it to blow out in the first place. (Unless you did something silly like short out the power supply contacts.)
Shadowfire is offline  
Old 04 October 2009, 02:15   #3
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
alas, i know not where to source another power supply locally.

i was just wondering what the likely suspect is, and what problems have other cd32 users have faced, and how they fixed it.

apart from just suddenly dying, ive no further info to give, ive no real experience with the cd32, and ive not even opened it up cos i dont know what to look for.
kirk is offline  
Old 04 October 2009, 04:19   #4
SMILASMURF
 
Posts: n/a
Amigakit.com for all your CD32 needs

Yes, it's THAT good!
 
Old 04 October 2009, 10:48   #5
DDNI
Targ Explorer

DDNI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Northern Ireland
Age: 45
Posts: 5,204
Send a message via ICQ to DDNI Send a message via MSN to DDNI
Have you checked the fuse in the Plug?
DDNI is offline  
Old 05 October 2009, 04:00   #6
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
thanx for input all.

yup, plug fuse was not the culprit.

im on Amigakit.com right now having a look, but i dont wanna get a new power brick if thats not the problem.
kirk is offline  
Old 05 October 2009, 04:03   #7
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
wow, some pricey stuff on Amigakit.com !

anyone used them to buy owt, are they reliable ? did you get your order ok ?
kirk is offline  
Old 05 October 2009, 05:08   #8
Fingerlickin_B
Amiga Nut
Fingerlickin_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Belco, Australia
Posts: 2,239
AmigaKit are EXTREMELY reliable, anyone who has used them before can vouch for that

PZ.
Fingerlickin_B is offline  
Old 05 October 2009, 10:31   #9
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 52
Posts: 3,555
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Kirk you really orta spend more time round here then you`d know how good Amigakit.com are.
they are also a forum member if you want to ask em any questions
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 05 October 2009, 22:15   #10
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
Kirk you really orta spend more time round here then you`d know how good Amigakit.com are.
they are also a forum member if you want to ask em any questions
Aye, drop me or amigakit.com a PM if you have an questions.
FOL is offline  
Old 05 October 2009, 22:29   #11
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 399
I got a CD32 power supply off of them, worked fine. In the past i've got kickroms and other stuff, worked fine. I wouldn't get any CD32 pads off them though, terrible.
twiggy is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 00:38   #12
kirk
Zone Friend
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: uk
Posts: 148
thanx all for ur input

yes, i should spend more time perusing this section !

but ive never had a miggy of any description die on me in 15yrs, this mint condition cd32 (prob used no more than a couple of dozen times in 15yrs) is the first failure ive ever had,

my old mig500 still boots and thats been totally hammered !, although not recently cos of the great winuae and its save state function (how many original mig games let u save highscores, a handfull only, thats how many, disgracefull)

a quick ques for twiggy, do you mean cd32 pads from amigakit or cd32 pads in general ? (personally, i think my original cd32 pad is diabolical, but ok for pinball illusions)
kirk is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 00:50   #13
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fingerlickin_B View Post
AmigaKit are EXTREMELY reliable, anyone who has used them before can vouch for that

PZ.
Yes, this is true. I ordered two russian brides, 20 floppy blank discs and they all came in just a couple of days!

I would suspect it's the PSU... you can pretty much rule it out cheap enough by using one of these and an ATX psu;


http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=885
Paul_s is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 11:11   #14
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by kirk View Post
a quick ques for twiggy, do you mean cd32 pads from amigakit or cd32 pads in general ? (personally, i think my original cd32 pad is diabolical, but ok for pinball illusions)
I meant the ones from amigakit. There was a comment on the site saying how they don't work very well and generally are low quality (plus they don't match the picture). But I ignored it and got one anyway, unfortunately they were right.

The only other CD32 pad I have is a Competition Pro one which came with my CD32 when I got it from ebay, that works brilliantly.

But as said, apart from that, everything else i've got from AmigaKit has been fine.
twiggy is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 15:38   #15
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by twiggy View Post
I meant the ones from amigakit. There was a comment on the site saying how they don't work very well and generally are low quality (plus they don't match the picture). But I ignored it and got one anyway, unfortunately they were right.

The only other CD32 pad I have is a Competition Pro one which came with my CD32 when I got it from ebay, that works brilliantly.

But as said, apart from that, everything else i've got from AmigaKit has been fine.
Which CD32 pad are you refering to? Boomerang?
FOL is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 16:34   #16
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 399
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Which CD32 pad are you refering to? Boomerang?
Yeah the Boomerang. I swear that was the only CD32 pad on there at one point. I just checked to see the official one on there too.
twiggy is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 22:33   #17
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by twiggy View Post
Yeah the Boomerang. I swear that was the only CD32 pad on there at one point. I just checked to see the official one on there too.
Well the boomerang cant be all that bad, we have sold out of them 3 times
Plus we have never had any come back.
FOL is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 22:44   #18
twiggy

twiggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Devon, U.K.
Age: 30
Posts: 399
Well, that's good to know. But based on that comment, the price and my own personal experience I personally wouldn't recommend the boomerang pad.

But everything else from AmigaKit has been fine.

Better luck just ebaying one.
twiggy is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 22:50   #19
Paul_s
Stuck in the 80s

Paul_s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Amigaville
Age: 41
Posts: 3,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by FOL View Post
Well the boomerang cant be all that bad, we have sold out of them 3 times
Plus we have never had any come back.
If your boomerang isn't coming back then you can't be throwing it properly

Honeybee pad wins!
Paul_s is offline  
Old 06 October 2009, 23:27   #20
FOL
PSPUAE DEV

FOL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Barry / UK
Age: 41
Posts: 5,737
Send a message via MSN to FOL
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul_s View Post
If your boomerang isn't coming back then you can't be throwing it properly

Honeybee pad wins!
LMFAO!!!!!
FOL is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
2.5.1 has stopped working sege support.WinUAE 3 16 April 2013 12:40
CD32 stopped working twiggy support.Hardware 14 15 June 2009 11:44
My A4000 has stopped working!!! BinoX support.Hardware 19 03 June 2007 00:19
Highway just stopped working... Smiley support.Hardware 3 04 September 2006 18:20
A2091 Stopped working Gary Harrison support.Hardware 5 19 June 2004 21:30

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 14:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09880 seconds with 13 queries