English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 02 January 2008, 18:24   #1
Heula
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spijkenisse / Netherlands
Posts: 74
why pre loaded games don't work?

Yesterday I installed the Classic Workbench and it looks real nice.

I have all my preloaded hd games ( downloaded from http://www.guildserver.co.uk/kgwhd/) on a network folder and added a directory to it. The games all shown up like it should be but I noticed some games won't work. Did not test all of them off course. With some games the screen stays black and with other games it just return to the Classic WB screen.

I tested for example persian gulf inferno and it didn't work as preloaded hd game but when I play the game with adf file in df0 it works just fine.

I use Winuae 1460b4

How come and can it be fixed some how?

Last edited by Heula; 02 January 2008 at 18:47.
Heula is offline  
Old 02 January 2008, 19:25   #2
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 2,033
Are you using the latest WHDLoad? Does classicWB come bundled with WHDLoad? Perhaps its an old version? Are you extracting the whdload zip files with windows or within the emulated amiga environment?
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 02 January 2008, 20:10   #3
Heula
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spijkenisse / Netherlands
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
Are you using the latest WHDLoad? Does classicWB come bundled with WHDLoad? Perhaps its an old version? Are you extracting the whdload zip files with windows or within the emulated amiga environment?
WHDload came with classic WB. Don't know what version. I'll try updating WHDload.
The games are on my server ans I have added that folder to the winuae config of the Classic WB. They are not in the hardfile!

All the games in the games folder are about 6 or 7 GB so I think that is a little to big for creating a hardfile?
Heula is offline  
Old 02 January 2008, 20:26   #4
Heula
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spijkenisse / Netherlands
Posts: 74
Downloaded and installed the latest WHDLoad_dev.lha from http://www.whdload.de/ but no difference. The examle game PGI keeps returning to the CWB.
Heula is offline  
Old 02 January 2008, 20:37   #5
T_hairy_bootson
Workbitch 1.3

T_hairy_bootson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 42
Posts: 2,033
Try making a HDF and mounting it. Then extract the zip files of some of your problem games to the HDF from within the ClassicWB emulated environment. Using dopus makes it easy enough. And see how you go.

edit: just spoke to someone on irc and he suggested extracting from within the amiga emulated environment to your windows game folder as there are certain filenames that windows will have a problem extracting without renaming.

Last edited by T_hairy_bootson; 02 January 2008 at 20:42.
T_hairy_bootson is offline  
Old 02 January 2008, 21:08   #6
Heula
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spijkenisse / Netherlands
Posts: 74
Quote:
Originally Posted by T_hairy_bootson View Post
Try making a HDF and mounting it. Then extract the zip files of some of your problem games to the HDF from within the ClassicWB emulated environment. Using dopus makes it easy enough. And see how you go.

edit: just spoke to someone on irc and he suggested extracting from within the amiga emulated environment to your windows game folder as there are certain filenames that windows will have a problem extracting without renaming.
I have created a hdf and placed several games to it but still the same problem. All the preloaded games are already extracted so I can't extract them in the amiga environment.
Perhaps I can download the file again and try extracting it in the amiga environment.

The games I tried were Persian Gulf Ingerno, Pinball fantasies and Leisure suit Larry.
With pinball fantasies I got a software failure 8100 0008. I remember this one when I had my amiga 500 (about 18 years ago)
Heula is offline  
Old 02 January 2008, 21:33   #7
Heula
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Spijkenisse / Netherlands
Posts: 74
I downloaded the games in zip format and extracted them to new created hdf with Mira wizarc but this didn't do the trick. I guess I have to live with it that some games just don't work from hd.
Heula is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which old games don't work with A600? 1988 support.Games 17 19 July 2011 12:45
Many WHDLoad games don't work anymore. alkis21 project.WHDLoad 19 26 August 2009 12:51
90% of my games don't work dreamkatcha New to Emulation or Amiga scene 38 28 March 2007 16:10
keyboard don't work with some games Unregistered New to Emulation or Amiga scene 2 22 July 2002 17:53
Lots of games don't work Unregistered support.Games 6 07 July 2001 15:51

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:28.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07988 seconds with 13 queries