English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04 December 2019, 13:42   #1
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 262
Cd32 tf330 max file size

hi all, I have searched solutions for put big files (up to 2GB) on my CD32 cause I have done with Markus shordan some test for converted mp4 TO CDXL file and wanted to convert entire movies but it luges files, about 3/4 gb for half movie ! , actually I on classic workbench with SCSI version 40.60, I have FFS/PFS3 partition format with large partitions but stuck with the limitation of file size
a friend told me to install SFS , I have tried for add it , can add partition but when I save the change, reboot and my system is over, no more boot. I saw that I need to update the SCSI version but after reboot, same issue, is it possible to handle file around 4go with my system ? , I saw that the SCSI patched version is for A1200, so is it may be limitation ! thanks for open my eyes
or may be I have to install a entire new system ? , I have bought a 2x ide CF card, If I install new system on the second CF card, did I could saw the sfs partition ?
edit : I have success to upgrade to SCSI device 43.24

Last edited by thairacerjp; 04 December 2019 at 14:18.
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 04 December 2019, 21:51   #2
Rochabian
The Big White Cat

Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 40
Posts: 520
Did you tried PFS3 3.1 AIO updated in 2018 by Toni Willen

It seems to support file larger than 4Gb :
http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=961062&postcount=58

Wich version do you use ?

EDIT : With PFS3 19.2 it doesn't seems to work.....

Last edited by Rochabian; 04 December 2019 at 22:09.
Rochabian is online now  
Old 04 December 2019, 22:56   #3
thairacerjp
Registered User

thairacerjp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: FRANCE
Posts: 262
Hi Rochabian , yes I have installed PFS3 system since one year and it's great for larger partition, my version is 19.2, is is it the issue ? , I will check this, thanks !
thairacerjp is offline  
Old 04 December 2019, 23:27   #4
Rochabian
The Big White Cat

Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 40
Posts: 520
Apparently 19.2 is the latest version (PFS3 3.1) so no luck with PFS....
I think you have to do with FFS or SFS and rebuild the disk RDB with the one you choose.
Not sure that you can mix PFS and other partitions with the 4GB partition limit.

Tony Willen, author of PFS3 AIO can surely help

Last edited by Rochabian; 05 December 2019 at 00:31.
Rochabian is online now  
Old 05 December 2019, 00:57   #5
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian View Post
Apparently 19.2 is the latest version (PFS3 3.1) so no luck with PFS....
I think you have to do with FFS or SFS and rebuild the disk RDB with the one you choose.
Not sure that you can mix PFS and other partitions with the 4GB partition limit.

Tony Willen, author of PFS3 AIO can surely help

Yep you can mix partitions no problem and you need SFS/2 for large file manipulation, SFS/0 will only do <4gb
supaduper is offline  
Old 05 December 2019, 01:16   #6
Rochabian
The Big White Cat

Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 40
Posts: 520
Is not SFS/2 OS4.1 Only ?
Rochabian is online now  
Old 05 December 2019, 08:27   #7
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 901
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rochabian View Post
Is not SFS/2 OS4.1 Only ?
No
supaduper is offline  
Old 06 December 2019, 20:32   #8
Rochabian
The Big White Cat

Rochabian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: France
Age: 40
Posts: 520
Thanks for the info
I've read somewhere that SFS2 was for OS4.1 only, so i've not tried it
Now i can
Thanks ;-)
Rochabian is online now  
Old 06 December 2019, 21:28   #9
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,900
AmigaDOS up to version 3 has a file size limit of 2147483647 Bytes (that's 2GB-1). There is no way to handle larger files.

You can write programs which use custom packets to make bigger files on SFS\2. But with existing software, there is no way.
thomas is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tf330 cpld wrong size RiotRetroGaming support.Hardware 6 18 April 2019 16:27
OS 3.5 Max HD Size TheCorfiot support.Hardware 19 01 April 2009 12:50
Max size for 1.3 HDF? Jherek Carnelia support.Other 7 08 May 2007 08:21
MAX size HD with rom 3.1 Stormrider support.Hardware 1 04 March 2006 15:00
Avatars max size goes down to 64*64 RCK project.EAB 6 08 January 2002 01:13

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 16:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07927 seconds with 15 queries