English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 20 May 2016, 22:14   #1
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,037
Amiga CD32 Power supply

Why did they use a PSU like the C64 with the Amiga CD32,was it to do with money so the system was cheaper..?

Can you use a Amiga PSU with a adapter on the CD32..?
spannernick is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 21 May 2016, 02:01   #2
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,413
The PSU for the CD32 was actually something they intended to use for the never released C65. When the c65 project was cancelled they figured they could reuse the PSU for the CD32.

Some Atari XEGS also use a nearly identical PSU for some reason.

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 21 May 2016, 08:06   #3
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 16,662
The CD32 power supplies are repurposed 1541-II power supplies, which were also used for A590s and 1581s, so they had that shitty model around for a while and probably had it in excess, so the CD32 got it. They didn't intend to use those on the C65, they had them long before.
Akira is offline  
Old 21 May 2016, 11:45   #4
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
The CD32 power supplies are repurposed 1541-II power supplies, which were also used for A590s and 1581s, so they had that shitty model around for a while and probably had it in excess, so the CD32 got it. They didn't intend to use those on the C65, they had them long before.
This got me thinking, maybe Commodore used different power supplies in different regions? (they were known for recycling stuff anyway)
Also, when one talks about "same PSU", are we talking about the interiors with delivered ouitput or the exterior...or everything?

Anyhoo... Here's my gallery of PSU shots.
http://www.exretro.com/galleries/com...on/index.html#

This is what the European CD32 PSU lookeld like (AFAIK - at least the two working ones I own) and the PSU for the 1541 uses the same connectors and probably delivers enough current at 5V, but at least in Europe, they do not *look* the same, meaning they use completely differnt molds for the plastic case.
And then there's the Atari XEGS mystery. Take a look at the pics, the similarities are "uncanny" but it could also simply be that the base mold was sold around and reused by several companies.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 21 May 2016, 13:59   #5
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,037
I didn't even notice the Atari PSU looked the same,I have a Atari XEGS and a ATARI 800XL,the XL uses different PSU but its still a enclosed brick,just looked wow.

Will the 5v go on CD32 PSU like the C64 and blow the CD32..?
spannernick is offline  
Old 21 May 2016, 20:42   #6
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by spannernick View Post
I didn't even notice the Atari PSU looked the same,I have a Atari XEGS and a ATARI 800XL,the XL uses different PSU but its still a enclosed brick,just looked wow.

Will the 5v go on CD32 PSU like the C64 and blow the CD32..?
The Commodore PSU also has 12V out. (5/12V)
Just noticed Vesalia is selling this replacement PSU:
http://www.vesalia.de/e_psu1541iicd32a590.htm
As the page says, it's a replacement for 1541-II , 1581, A590 as well as CD32.
As you can see it has 5 and 12V out and delivers ~ 2A.

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 22 May 2016, 06:29   #7
idrougge
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Stockholm
Posts: 2,446
Watch out for the Vesalia replacements; they may be incorrectly wired or soldered.
idrougge is offline  
Old 22 May 2016, 09:43   #8
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Watch out for the Vesalia replacements; they may be incorrectly wired or soldered.
Thanx for the warning @idrougge but in this case I merely referenced them as a listing of the devices that can share the same PSU design.
I guess a multimeter and some measuring on the pins before use is recommended when in doubt :-)

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 22 May 2016, 15:02   #9
thgill
Registered User

thgill's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Mason, Ohio / USA
Age: 41
Posts: 344
There have been a couple folks mention that those Vesalia cd32 power supplies are complete junk. They cause audio and video interference and tend to burn out.
thgill is offline  
Old 23 May 2016, 14:42   #10
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York City
Posts: 16,662
Quote:
Originally Posted by eXeler0 View Post
Also, when one talks about "same PSU", are we talking about the interiors with delivered ouitput or the exterior...or everything?
Everything, the voltages and pinouts as well as the exterior were the same for CD32, 1541-II and 1581 PSUs.

And it's easily replaceable by an ATX power supply.
Akira is offline  
Old 23 May 2016, 20:04   #11
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 36
Posts: 6,040
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
There are (at least) three different kinds of 1541-ii/1581 PSU here in Europe.

The CD32 actually uses a beefier one.

What is shared is the pinout + voltages.

Here's a few distinct 1541-ii ones:

http://jope.fi/cbm/cbm/1541psu.jpg
Jope is offline  
Old 24 May 2016, 18:41   #12
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by Akira View Post
Everything, the voltages and pinouts as well as the exterior were the same for CD32, 1541-II and 1581 PSUs.

And it's easily replaceable by an ATX power supply.
Do you have some pics of your CD32 PSU?
I have not seen one as the CD32 produced for the USA, officially never left the Philippines (although I have one of those NIB sans the original PSU as it would have been illegal to sell it in Sweden as "new" with the wrong PSU.)


http://www.exretro.com/galleries/com...on/index.html#

And in case you missed it, my European PSUs I have for the 1541-II and CD32 *look* very different.

Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk

Last edited by eXeler0; 26 May 2016 at 22:01.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 29 May 2016, 23:50   #13
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,413
Another pic:

http://www.exretro.com/galleries/com...XEGS_PSU_1.jpg

Image shows the Atari XEGS PSU vs a Commodore 64G PSU.

Last edited by eXeler0; 29 May 2016 at 23:57.
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 30 May 2016, 10:41   #14
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 422
Quote:
Originally Posted by idrougge View Post
Watch out for the Vesalia replacements; they may be incorrectly wired or soldered.
Can confirm these are Sh@t I bought two and both failed , and personally I i think damaged one of my CD32s, stay clear of them !
supaduper is offline  
Old 30 May 2016, 19:13   #15
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
Can confirm these are Sh@t I bought two and both failed , and personally I i think damaged one of my CD32s, stay clear of them !
Did you return them or at least let them know they were crap? You'd think they'd want to remove crappy stuff from the store and replace it with products that actually work?


Skickat från min HTC One via Tapatalk
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 30 May 2016, 19:24   #16
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 422
No I did not return them, cost will outweigh the need, but wish I had seen more of the feedback for them ,but hey most of their stuff is great
supaduper is offline  
Old 30 May 2016, 23:45   #17
eXeler0
Registered User

eXeler0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Sweden
Age: 43
Posts: 1,413
Quote:
Originally Posted by supaduper View Post
No I did not return them, cost will outweigh the need, but wish I had seen more of the feedback for them ,but hey most of their stuff is great
I hear ya, but if no one tells them the PSU are crap they will probably keep selling them.
What did you do afterwards btw, did you get a second hand original PSU of did you find another source for new compatible PSUs?
eXeler0 is offline  
Old 31 May 2016, 08:00   #18
supaduper
Registered User
supaduper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Birmingham UK
Posts: 422
Ok I will drop them an Emaol to tell them to check their stock
I bought a couple of NOS ones from Anologic Computers
supaduper is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wanted CD32 Power Supply prabmire MarketPlace 5 01 October 2011 15:37
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 15:10
CD32 Power supply Xytec Hardware pics 2 08 May 2009 21:05
Wanted Amiga Cd32 Power Supply charles_bronson MarketPlace 1 15 October 2005 01:45
CD32 power supply yadster support.Hardware 5 10 June 2003 20:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:24.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.33480 seconds with 12 queries