English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > News

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 January 2011, 10:11   #1
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
ADoom V1.4 released

Hello folks!

I have uploaded a new version of ADoom, which supports the Indivision GFX 256 colour direct chunky display of Indivision ECS. Grab it here: http://aminet.net/game/shoot/ADoom-1.4.lha

This means, every Amiga user having Indivision ECS and an Amiga capable of running ADoom (A600 computer with ACA630 for example... ) can now enjoy ADoom in 256 colours on ECS machines. Not only is ADoom more colourful, but graphics are also up to three times faster compared to the native ECS version. Just compare the speed of the "screen melt" effect during screen transitions.

This version requires Indivision ECS flickerfixers with V1.0 firmware or later. If you don't have V1.0, update your Indivision ECS by using the flash tools: http://www.icomp.de/products/ECS/Ind...n_ECS_V101.lha

Special thanks to Peter McGavin who was very open for my contributions.

If you have any bug reports, post them here.
Oliver_A is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 12 January 2011, 10:26   #2
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Awesome, I just spotted that on Aminet whilst I was testing out my network setup on the Miggy

How do you think this would run with a 25mhz 020 and Indi ECS?

I still have the Apollo 620 in my A600

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 10:33   #3
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
How do you think this would run with a 25mhz 020 and Indi ECS?
Faster than running ADoom with ECS graphics on your machine.
Oliver_A is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 12:34   #4
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Great release !!


How to get 71000us ?

Always 24000 here with -forcedemo -nosfx -indivisiongfx !
Cosmos is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 12:43   #5
fitzsteve
Professional slacker!
fitzsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Kent, UK
Age: 37
Posts: 6,340
Send a message via MSN to fitzsteve
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oliver_A View Post
Faster than running ADoom with ECS graphics on your machine.
Cheers!

Just a thought, is this of any use to people with RTG cards to play in higher resolutions like 640x480? At the moment not even ADoomPPC (on a 330mhz PPC) is playable above 320x240

Steve.
fitzsteve is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 13:29   #6
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cosmos View Post
Great release !!
Thank you.

Quote:
How to get 71000us ?

Always 24000 here with -forcedemo -nosfx -indivisiongfx !
71000us is SLOWER than 24000us! You don't want that!

24000us is the maximum speed possible to transfer data over the 16Bit Chip Bus. The ECS C2P routine takes around 68000us per frame, so it's almost 3 times slower than Indivison GFX!

Quote:
Originally Posted by fitzsteve View Post
Cheers!

Just a thought, is this of any use to people with RTG cards to play in higher resolutions like 640x480? At the moment not even ADoomPPC (on a 330mhz PPC) is playable above 320x240

Steve.
Well, I included the resolutions just because I could do it. It didn't occur to me to ask myself the question if it's any use to run ADoom on a 68030 Amiga at 1024x768 in 256 colours...

But again, 320x200 should be very playable on a 25 Mhz machine.

[advertisement]
On the ACA630-25Mhz, it's indeed VERY playable.
[/advertisement]

Oliver_A is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 15:11   #7
Cosmos
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: France
Posts: 655
Whaou... Ok, bedtime for me...
Cosmos is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 15:26   #8
Omolungo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Livorno, Italy
Posts: 312
But this new version is only for owners of an Indivision ECS or it works also without it (naturally without 256 colors)?
Omolungo is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 16:14   #9
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Omolungo View Post
But this new version is only for owners of an Indivision ECS or it works also without it (naturally without 256 colors)?
Uhhh, why should it be this way? 1.4 does of course still run on all Amigas. Without any difference to the previous version.
Oliver_A is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 18:01   #10
Omolungo
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Livorno, Italy
Posts: 312
Ok
Omolungo is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 19:57   #11
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,734
okay....

I would really like to see a youtube of an ACA630 with IndiECS running DOOM =D

PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 22:16   #12
mfilos
Paranoid Amigoid

mfilos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Athens/Greece
Age: 38
Posts: 1,576
Send a message via Skype™ to mfilos
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zetr0 View Post
okay....

I would really like to see a youtube of an ACA630 with IndiECS running DOOM =D

PLEASE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
There you go mate...

[ Show youtube player ]
mfilos is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 23:49   #13
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,734
@mfilos


AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME! AWESOME!
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 12 January 2011, 23:55   #14
watertonian
2 1200s in Wisconsin
watertonian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wisconsin, USA
Age: 39
Posts: 115
Send a message via AIM to watertonian Send a message via Yahoo to watertonian
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
There you go mate...

[ Show youtube player ]

"I'm too young to die"!?!? Actually, I shouldn't say too much. first thing I usually do is IDKFA and IDDQD.
watertonian is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 00:48   #15
cv643d
Registered User
cv643d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Stockholm/Sweden
Age: 39
Posts: 724
Nice! A bit slow but very playable in the video.
cv643d is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 01:38   #16
AmigaFriend
Registered User
AmigaFriend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: CLI
Posts: 1,464
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfilos View Post
There you go mate...

[ Show youtube player ]
Quote:
Don't laugh at me playing. Kinda difficult to record with the one hand and play with the other holding steady the camera
Priceless!

Great video, thank you mfilos!
AmigaFriend is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 02:22   #17
gibs
Banned
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: france
Posts: 932
I have also done a video : [ Show youtube player ]
gibs is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 02:35   #18
Vairn
The Grim-Button

Vairn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Melbourne Australia
Age: 36
Posts: 374
Send a message via Skype™ to Vairn
Nice video. It runs better then it did on my 386.
Vairn is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 03:02   #19
Djay
breakpointUK.com

Djay's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Founders System
Age: 41
Posts: 3,089
Send a message via MSN to Djay
would Adoom run on an A1200 with 4gb HD and ACA 1230/56 Accelerator
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1005

(connected via RGBscart?)
Djay is offline  
Old 13 January 2011, 03:09   #20
Oliver_A
Soldering Ironman
Oliver_A's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Germany, NRW
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Djay View Post
would Adoom run on an A1200 with 4gb HD and ACA 1230/56 Accelerator
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...oducts_id=1005

(connected via RGBscart?)
Of course! It runs great on ACA1230-56 (16fps in 320x200 full detail).
Oliver_A is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ADoom pantheman request.Old Rare Games 3 21 April 2010 11:50
ADoom FPS D4Ni3L3 support.Games 5 09 December 2008 15:56
ADoom V1.3 Install *Help* D4Ni3L3 support.Games 12 08 December 2008 23:02
ADoom frikilokooo support.Games 14 13 March 2008 18:32
16.6 Released alexh project.WHDLoad 6 09 June 2006 10:02

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 12:37.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.29395 seconds with 12 queries