English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Coders > Coders. General

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 May 2009, 18:41   #1
AB Positive
kachou ON!
 
AB Positive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Hampshire, US
Posts: 192
Can you program directly on an A500?

I've been wanting to futz about with C and Basic on my new A500. I've been coding for the A8 directly on the 600XL (using APE to save to a virtual disk). I would imagine there's gotta be a way.


I don't know that much about Amiga IDEs or Compilers... what would be possible? I know there's "Amiga Basic" (Microsoft) but I hear Blitz Basic is better. Can it be used with no HDD?

Can any C compiler run well on an A500 w/ 512 trapdoor ram?

It seems like I'll be forced to run WinUAE for programming but I love using the legit hardware. Any tips?

-AB
AB Positive is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 19:05   #2
coze
hastala vista winny vista
 
coze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: mt fuji
Age: 46
Posts: 1,335
Send a message via ICQ to coze Send a message via Yahoo to coze
well you can always code basic or asm on a A500 floppy system, but C will give you headaches cause it will need to look headers/includes/libs ... lots of disk swapping.
coze is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 19:30   #3
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,186
You can download the ADF images of AmosPro from the Amos Factory website if you sign up for the free membership. From there you can make original-quality AmosPro boot disks. You'll want a second floppy-drive minimum though and the code quality from the compiler is not as good as Blitz2. The manual is available online at the Amos Factory as well as on the Aminet in either HTML or PDF formats.

If you have trouble logging in, let me know. I'm a moderator on the Amos Factory and can fix you up if you need it.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 19:51   #4
AB Positive
kachou ON!
 
AB Positive's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: New Hampshire, US
Posts: 192
I'll check AMOS out - I saw a few PD games that have "Coded in AMOS" so I'm certainly intrigued.

I'm more into the Basic/ASM set anyway right now in my coding so those are fine - but good to know that C will be better off with a HDD or coding via WinUAE.
AB Positive is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 20:31   #5
Thorham
Computer Nerd
 
Thorham's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Rotterdam/Netherlands
Age: 47
Posts: 3,751
Let me warn you about languages like Amos: You'll outgrow them quickly if you're at least a reasonable C programmer (not a beginner). Go for assembler if 1) you don't want to be limited by a language and 2) you want the best performance (very important on an A500).

Another advantage is that a good assembler environment (AsmOne) doesn't use up a lot of space on a floppy (loads reletively quickly).
Thorham is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 22:00   #6
Vortex
Used Register
 
Vortex's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Headvillage / The Nethervoids
Age: 50
Posts: 103
Agree with Thorham.

I want to hammer away on the original hardware as well, and as soon as I get AsmOne transferred to my A500 I will lock myself up (brings back memories ).

I would def. avoid Amiga Basic.

Lars
Vortex is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 22:36   #7
ricco59
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Lille / France
Posts: 22
agree with Thorham
I used to use on my a500 asmone/trashmone and use it again on a1200 (few monthes ago) héhé

Have a good time programming on amiga using trash or asm One

see you
ricco59 is offline  
Old 12 May 2009, 23:17   #8
cosmicfrog
The 1 who ribbits
 
cosmicfrog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: leek, Staffs, UK
Age: 56
Posts: 3,557
Send a message via MSN to cosmicfrog
Amiga E, thats nice, ace basic nice basic, both found on aminet

then theres sas C or storm C for C
cosmicfrog is offline  
Old 13 May 2009, 04:54   #9
Samurai_Crow
Total Chaos forever!
 
Samurai_Crow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Waterville, MN, USA
Age: 49
Posts: 2,186
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmicfrog View Post
Amiga E, thats nice, ace basic nice basic, both found on aminet
AmigaE requires Kickstart 2+ and won't work on a Kickstart 1.3 system. ACE Basic might work better than Amos in terms of calculation speed but Amos has more graphics acceleration features.

If I was trying to make something with an Intuition GUI, I'd skip AmosPro and go directly to either C or ACE if I were you.
Samurai_Crow is offline  
Old 29 September 2009, 12:05   #10
onkelf
 
Posts: n/a
assemble on a action replay 3

hey i want to start programming asm on my A500 but i dont have an assembler.
so can i use my action replay 3 to assemble ? or do i need libraries or includes ?
 
Old 29 September 2009, 12:41   #11
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
@ onkelf - good for you - go for it.

My advice would be to grab yourself an assembler though.

You'll be able to find Devpac, AsmOne, AsmPro, PhxAss or Macro68k all over the place on the internet.

If you have trouble finding these, come back to me - I can supply you with any or all in .adf format or, if you really need real disks I can write the .adf's to floppies for you and send them - just PM your address if needed.

In my opinion you don't want to be poking assembly mnemonics into memory with Action Replay really - you'll get frustrated and annoyed at not having a proper assembler pretty quickly I'd say...
pmc is offline  
Old 29 September 2009, 12:55   #12
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat
 
StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmc View Post
In my opinion you don't want to be poking assembly mnemonics into memory with Action Replay really
Pfft, the kids today, no sense of fun. What's better than coding like "$70004e75"? Seriously though, I'd also look for an Assembler, the AR3 assemble command is OK for quick changes, but for serious coding there are better tools.
StingRay is offline  
Old 29 September 2009, 13:04   #13
pmc
gone
 
pmc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: completely gone
Posts: 1,596
Quote:
Originally Posted by StingRay
Pfft, the kids today, no sense of fun.
LOL.

What can I say? I'm weak and feeble.

They made 'em of stronger stuff in your day Grandpa Sting.
pmc is offline  
Old 08 October 2009, 04:30   #14
Photon
Moderator
 
Photon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Eksjö / Sweden
Posts: 5,602
An AsmOne bootdisk with include files and a few utilities, and then have the source disk itself in the external drive works well - nothing wrong with a side port harddisk interface though. Will save you time, if nothing else - and maybe a few grey "read/write error" hairs too

Same setup should work with a Basic of your choice (or Amos, but I haven't used it so take the Amos guys' advice ) - if there are docs and examples this should be a good way to "get going" and quickly test out if you can get your idea running on the screen
Photon is offline  
Old 13 October 2009, 22:46   #15
gilgamesh
Linux snob
 
gilgamesh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Monkey Island
Posts: 997
I used to own a book about C on the Amiga that recommended Lattice C and Aztec C. Aztec can be found in the official Aztec C online Museum. It comes on 4 adfs.
gilgamesh is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External windows program communicating with program running inside WinUAE xxxxx support.WinUAE 10 19 February 2013 09:27
For a beginner what Program and Program language would you recommend? amigang New to Emulation or Amiga scene 5 27 March 2012 13:06
P-UAE boots directly when starting the program ipp0 support.OtherUAE 3 24 August 2011 09:31
A500+ Program Failed 8000 0003 fool2cool support.Hardware 20 22 July 2007 12:57
Calling another program from a compiled Amos program...? andyr support.Apps 3 24 October 2004 23:47

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 19:46.

Top

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.23177 seconds with 15 queries