English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 22 August 2019, 01:57   #1
Haywire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Ohio/USA
Posts: 20
Upgraded Power Supply Killed my CD32

Recently bought a A-Power CD32 power supply from Amiga Store for my CD32. After plugging it in the green light flashed and now just a black screen. I put in the original power supply and still nothing. Obviously the new power supply fried something. Any ideas?
Haywire is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 03:00   #2
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,055
I'd measure the outputs of that new power supply as a starting point. The first question is if you have the original power supply, why did you feel the need to replace it? Did you have problems you had attributed to the old power supply or were you putting in an Accelerator and thought you definitely needed a new power supply to support it?
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 03:43   #3
Haywire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Ohio/USA
Posts: 20
No prior issues, was going to get a riser/accelerator upgrade.
Haywire is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 03:46   #4
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,055
Ouch that's bad. Measure the outputs with a multimeter so you can get a starting point of what might have gone wrong.
grelbfarlk is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 10:10   #5
Gordon
Settler
Gordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Serf City
Posts: 1,488
I see you are in USA. Did you use the right power converter? I have bought from them and they always make them with an EU plug along with an adapter for your region. Maybe the adapter is the cause and it didnt convert properly.

Im not electrian, just a victim of frying stuff I bought from the USA and not using adeqaute power converters.
Gordon is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 13:52   #6
Haywire
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Ohio/USA
Posts: 20
Good News! I pulled and re-set the 3.1 kickstart chip and it's working again with the old power supply. So I'm investigating the converter and adaptor as the culprits. I for sure got lucky.
Haywire is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 14:27   #7
Shatterhand
Warhasneverbeensomuchfun

Shatterhand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Rio de Janeiro / Brazil
Age: 37
Posts: 3,437
Oh my God, those are some good news.

It always breaks my heart when I read someone damaged vintage hardware.
Shatterhand is offline  
Old 22 August 2019, 14:37   #8
Jeff_Birt
Registered User

 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Rolla
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haywire View Post
Good News! I pulled and re-set the 3.1 kickstart chip and it's working again with the old power supply. So I'm investigating the converter and adaptor as the culprits. I for sure got lucky.
I don't see how the new power supply would have caused any problem that would be fixed be reseating a chip. It sounds like it was just a coincidence that the chip lost contact to the point of not working when you plugged in the new supply. It could be from just the moving of the unit around that finally knocked the chip out of making good contact.

I would still measure the output voltage of the supply to be sure but if the supply was putting out an incorrect voltage it would electrically damage a chip or chips not unseat them.
Jeff_Birt is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Testing CD32 Power Supply bobreece20 support.Hardware 1 09 August 2018 14:57
CD32 power supply subspace support.Hardware 2 23 April 2018 14:09
WTB: A500 power supply or A1200 power supply (USA model) CMA Death Adder MarketPlace 7 01 October 2010 15:10
CD32 Power supply Xytec Hardware pics 2 08 May 2009 21:05
CD32 power supply yadster support.Hardware 5 10 June 2003 20:39

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 21:29.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07259 seconds with 13 queries