English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 14 March 2020, 15:31   #1
ikorodu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newark / UK
Posts: 102
Kcs power pc board

Hi

I picked up a kcs power pc board for my a500 from amibay

Works well and I can boot to pc mode and format the had partition fine. My problem is with trying to install ms dos to the hdd. Ms dos 5 stops the install at 11% with no error just sits there.

Have tried a number of other floppies but the same result.

Any ms dos experts out there!?
ikorodu is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 16:44   #2
Hewitson
Registered User
Hewitson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Age: 37
Posts: 3,659
Why bother with MS-DOS 5? I'd be trying to install 6.22.
Hewitson is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 16:53   #3
ikorodu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newark / UK
Posts: 102
Ms dos 5 is the last version that I can find that has 720k floppies for install. 6.22 appears to come only on 1.44mb disks that the Amiga can’t read
ikorodu is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 17:05   #4
utri007
mä vaan
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Finland
Posts: 1,008
What is your config. How it's hard drive is configured?

I have one and supported scsi controller, but I couldn't get it work.
utri007 is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 17:38   #5
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,059
Check if the setup program has any command line switches that could help you debug it, like logging progress to a file or something.
Alternatively you could install on another system and copy the files manually (and use 'sys c:' to transfer the system files and boot sector).
demolition is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 18:03   #6
ikorodu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newark / UK
Posts: 102
My config is

A500 Rev 6a
kick 3.1
KCS board giving 1mb of chip
Wicher 508i with ide to sd card adapter
512 mb transcend sd card with a 37mb partition of the KCS card

I used the HDD setup until for the KCS partition and selected a600 ide as the disk controller.

When booking to the pc via KCS board the c drive is found. I dropped out of the setup program in dos 5 and used fdisk to set up the c drive as a single primary partition of 37mb. I then used format c: which completes.

Every time I try to install Ms dos it hangs at 11%.

I tried sys a: c: but that seems to hang too. Suspect it’s the HDD set up. Perhaps I’ll try another sd card.
ikorodu is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 18:53   #7
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,059
You can try 'format c: /s' although I guess that would also fail like sys since it is doing the same thing.

I am a little curious though whether it can work properly with the Wicher IDE controller since this is probably not the type of controller that the KCS board was designed for. An A500 of that era would normally have a HDD controller with its own ROM. Does the Wicher have settings for the IDE i.e. some speed boosts which makes it faster than a regular Gayle controller?
demolition is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 19:04   #8
ikorodu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newark / UK
Posts: 102
The wicher card I believe emulates the a600 ide. I'm not sure if its sped up though. There is a config utility for the wicher card but it appears not to mention anything about the ide side of things .
ikorodu is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 19:44   #9
ikorodu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newark / UK
Posts: 102
Having read a bit on various forums I think the size of the HDD maybe a problem. Although it’s only 512mb I might need to go lower to 128mb. I’ll see if I have a very small capacity card any where!
ikorodu is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 19:57   #10
demolition
Unregistered User
demolition's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Copenhagen / DK
Age: 40
Posts: 4,059
But the KCS board wouldn't know about A600 since it can only be installed in A500? I'm a little curious as to you mentioning that you can choose an A600 IDE controller since that was never possible back then. But trying a smaller size card sound like it could be worth it. Good luck finding one that small, although I do remember some cameras coming with 32MB cards, basically for testing, so there should be some unused ones out there.
demolition is offline  
Old 14 March 2020, 20:25   #11
ikorodu
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Newark / UK
Posts: 102
My understanding is that from version 4.51 of the kcS software the board was compatible with the a600. They released a box for the card to go in that sat under the a600.
ikorodu is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KCS Power PC board + A500 Plus commie1974 support.Hardware 13 07 June 2017 13:02
KCS POWER PC BOARD spanish mikiflush MarketPlace 1 10 May 2016 00:59
KCS Power PC Board – Help? Fingerlickin_B support.Hardware 64 25 May 2015 12:37
Help with KCS Power PC Board DyLucke support.Hardware 3 01 July 2010 18:29
KCS POWER PC BOARD with A590 XT Amiga-emuman support.Hardware 2 30 August 2006 15:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:15.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.07473 seconds with 13 queries