English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 28 March 2020, 17:02   #1
Jake001
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Floppy disk A500 Doesn't Boot From Disk

Hello!


I just got an Amiga 500 from 1988
It powers up and shows the kickstart for workbench 1.3
but when I insert a disk the drive spins up and clicks a few times then stops and the screen returns to the kickstart icon.


Upon inspection I noticed that the drive doesn't look like it's even attempting to read the disks. The head doesn't move at all and it's not stuck.


I replaced a leaked cap in the drive and flipped the CIA's and nothing changed.


Does anyone know what could be wrong?


Thanks!
Jake001 is offline  
Old 28 March 2020, 17:20   #2
rcman
Long time Amiga Owner

rcman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: Uxbridge Canada
Age: 53
Posts: 173
Sounds like you need to clean the floppy drive. I would suggest checking out Jan Beta's video

[ Show youtube player ]



RC
rcman is offline  
Old 28 March 2020, 18:31   #3
Jake001
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Ok I got the drive all cleaned up.
And it's still doing the same thing.
Doesn't seem like a mechanical error.
If I manually move the head forward it moves back by itself on power up.
I think there may be another cap in the drive that I could replace.
Jake001 is offline  
Old 28 March 2020, 19:19   #4
Jake001
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 22
Changed both caps in the drive and still nothing.
Jake001 is offline  
Old 28 March 2020, 19:36   #5
Nobby_UK
Registered User
Nobby_UK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,343
If the Detect Disk Switch is Dirty/Broken
then it would not try --- might be that ?
Nobby_UK is offline  
Old 28 March 2020, 21:05   #6
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 839
Make sure the floppy disk is clean too.

Is it a known good floppy disk? I.e. it works in another Amiga.

Otherwise, inspect the floppy disk media and clean with isopropyl alcohol and cotton bud.

Clean the floppy drive read/write heads with isopropyl alcohol and cotton bud too. And clean and re-grease the track motor worm gear and guide,/glide rails.
solarmon is offline  
Old 29 March 2020, 04:42   #7
Jake001
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 22
The disks were tested by the previous owner and they worked for him.
I have cleaned the heads and stepper track in the drive.
I'll check the sensor button to see if that's having any issue tomorrow.
I don't think the disks are the problem here because it does the exact same thing for all of them.

Could there be a problem in the computer itself? Such as a bad cap?
There's not to much more I can do to the drive.
Jake001 is offline  
Old 29 March 2020, 09:36   #8
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 839
Try reseating all the socketed chips. Clean the pins and sockets with isopropyl alcohol.

When the machine is showing the Kickstart screen, does the drive click periodically, as it should do normally?

It would be good to see a video of what happens on the floppy drive when you put the floppy disk in. Do you have another floppy drive to test, or a Gotek drive?

Does the track motor worm gear spin, or attempt to, when you put a disk in. If you manually turn the track motor worm gear, does the read/write head move?
solarmon is offline  
Old 29 March 2020, 19:36   #9
Jake001
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 22
The drive does click normally when there is no disk.

The worm gear isn't stuck. I've moved it manually and it moves itself back to track 1 when powered on.

I ordered a Gotek but they were unable to ship do to the situation with the virus.
So I don't have any drives to test only 3 PC drives that couldn't be easily modded.

I'll try cleaning the chips and sockets with alcohol then if it does the same thing I'll get a video.
Jake001 is offline  
Old 29 March 2020, 21:58   #10
Jake001
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 22
I cleaned pins and sockets on both CIA's, Gary, and the ROM chip with rubbing alcohol.
Still has the same issue.
Here is a video of what's happening: [ Show youtube player ]
Jake001 is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 12:29   #11
Franchute13
Registered User
Franchute13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Argentina
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake001 View Post
I cleaned pins and sockets on both CIA's, Gary, and the ROM chip with rubbing alcohol.
Still has the same issue.
Here is a video of what's happening: [ Show youtube player ]

Maybe the problem is the capacitors on the floppy disk driver... maybe need to be replace.
Search in the forum, the topic was discussed.


http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=71760
Sorry, no image
Franchute13 is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 15:26   #12
Jake001
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 22
I found two caps in the drive which I have replaced already.
Apparently that wasn't the problem even though one had leaked.
Jake001 is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 17:00   #13
Franchute13
Registered User
Franchute13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Argentina
Posts: 272
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jake001 View Post
I found two caps in the drive which I have replaced already.
Apparently that wasn't the problem even though one had leaked.

Hi.
The capacitor that usually fails is the one next to the rotating plate. Of course it depends on the model of the floppy drive. If that capacitor has already been replaced, you will have to try another floppy drive.
Franchute13 is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 17:10   #14
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 839
From the video, it seems the track motor ribbon cable is in a position to suggest that it has been moved/rotated and is now out of alignment? Could you get a closure picture of it.

Also, it was a bit difficult to see, but it seemed the worm gear did not rotate? If you can show a steady video of it moving/rotating - i.e. manually move the heads, by manually rotating the worm gear, to another position and turn on the computer. The worm gear should rotate and move the read/write heads to track 0.
solarmon is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 17:12   #15
Jake001
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 22
I would but I don't have a spare drive that will work and I am unable to get a gotek at the moment.
Is it for sure the drive at fault or could something else be screwed up?
If it is the drive I can just wait until I can get a Gotek.
Jake001 is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 17:12   #16
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 839
What is the make/model of you floppy drive?
solarmon is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 17:35   #17
Jake001
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 22
I will get a better video later today.
Jake001 is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 17:39   #18
Jake001
Registered User

 
Join Date: Mar 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 22
The floppy drive model is:
JU-253-033P
by Panasonic
Jake001 is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 19:02   #19
solarmon
Registered User

solarmon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2018
Location: UK
Posts: 839
Check the jumper settings - at the back of the floppy drive - they should be the following:

SW3 = 0
SW2 = MO
SW1 = RY

i.e all to the left, as you look at them from the back.
solarmon is offline  
Old 30 March 2020, 19:24   #20
Franchute13
Registered User
Franchute13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Argentina
Posts: 272
Jake,
see this page, maybe the same problem (capacitor and micro swich)
https://www.nightfallcrew.com/31/08/...-floppy-drive/
Franchute13 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My A500+ sometimes doesn’t boot first time. xanderbeanz support.Hardware 12 10 September 2018 22:22
iGame doesn't boot. stu232 support.Hardware 0 23 April 2014 20:27
A3000 doesn't boot Pilsener support.Hardware 11 26 June 2008 11:11
A500 doesn't boot when 512k ram added! memothejanitor support.Hardware 1 25 June 2007 10:51
amiga doesn't boot up utri007 support.Hardware 5 07 June 2003 23:24

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:46.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09956 seconds with 15 queries