English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 26 February 2021, 16:52   #4301
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 149
Just tested... and it works just fine.
matt3k is offline  
Old 26 February 2021, 17:44   #4302
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Just tested... and it works just fine.


If the 68K gears works surely that means your Voodoo card is fine

I remember having this issue with my Mediator, sure it was due to files not in the right place, understand you are using a new Prometheus based busboard and it’s still trial and error with these
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 26 February 2021, 19:07   #4303
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 149
You have to be right...

I have to have a file out of place or/and a wrong version somewhere...

I will go through again...

In my mind it has to be one of these:
- Powerpc driver for daughterboard.
- daugherboard files.
- p96 files.

I don't think it is warp3d at this point...

Last edited by matt3k; 26 February 2021 at 19:20.
matt3k is offline  
Old 26 February 2021, 20:02   #4304
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 255
I've never used the new P96 files from Jens maybe go back to an earlier version

Not saying there is anything wrong with the new versions, Just not got around to trying them

Last edited by Timtheloon; 26 February 2021 at 21:36.
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 26 February 2021, 21:57   #4305
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 149
Tried older versions of p96. No joy.

I had to have tried about every combination possible. I wonder if the PPC is wonkey?
matt3k is offline  
Old 26 February 2021, 22:00   #4306
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 255
So I've finally got my Apocalypse upgraded from 128Mb to 256Mb to work

I though I had messed up the card with the upgrade because games wouldn't load correctly or just crash Quake had a weird green fog

After lots of re-installing the System partition and moving the cards to different PCI slots I discovered that there was nothing wrong with the Apocalypse or its upgrade

The actual problem was a corrupt Games Partition discovered this when trying to delete one of the games

now back to a stablish machine

Only crashes on first load of the PowerPC.library after restart its rock solid, and quake 1 & 2 perfect

Now is there a place to find all of @Cowcats PPC creations?

Last edited by Timtheloon; 26 February 2021 at 22:50.
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 26 February 2021, 22:11   #4307
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Tried older versions of p96. No joy.

I had to have tried about every combination possible. I wonder if the PPC is wonkey?
Does non-warp3d stuff work? Like voxelspace? Or WOSQuake, or ADoomPPC
trixster is online now  
Old 26 February 2021, 22:43   #4308
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timtheloon View Post
So I've finally got my Apocalypse upgraded from 128Mb to 256Mb to work

I though I had messed up the card with the upgrade because games wouldn't load correctly or just crash Quake had a weird green fog

After lots of re-installing the System partition and moving the cards to different PCI slots I discovered that there was nothing wrong with the Apocalypse or its upgrade

The actual problem was a corrupt Games Partition discovered this when trying to delete one of the games

now back to a stablish machine

Only crashes on first load of the after this rock solid and quake 1 & 2 perfect

Now is there a place to find all of @Cowcats PPC creations?
Great news!!!

Curious to know what files system you are using PFS3? FFS?
matt3k is offline  
Old 26 February 2021, 22:48   #4309
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Great news!!!

Curious to know what files system you are using PFS3? FFS?
PFS3 Via a FastATA 4000 set on PIO5 My HDD is a 128gb ScanDisk MicroSD split into 5 partitions

I have only recently got it to work with PIO5, think it didn't like the DVD drive I was using, when using it with that DVD drive I had to have it set on PIO3
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 26 February 2021, 23:42   #4310
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timtheloon View Post
PFS3 Via a FastATA 4000 set on PIO5 My HDD is a 128gb ScanDisk MicroSD split into 5 partitions

I have only recently got it to work with PIO5, think it didn't like the DVD drive I was using, when using it with that DVD drive I had to have it set on PIO3
I bet that is my problem! That would be too funny if it was.
matt3k is offline  
Old 26 February 2021, 23:46   #4311
Hedeon
PPC Hacker

 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Leiden / The Netherlands
Posts: 1,459
Sadly, I cannot reproduce it.

800MHz Ragnarok, Voodoo3 2000. AA3000+ RTL8028 Network card.
128GB SD card with SCSI2SD v6. PFS3AIO.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	1614379318918.jpg
Views:	40
Size:	80.9 KB
ID:	71050  
Hedeon is offline  
Old 27 February 2021, 03:06   #4312
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 149
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Sadly, I cannot reproduce it.

800MHz Ragnarok, Voodoo3 2000. AA3000+ RTL8028 Network card.
128GB SD card with SCSI2SD v6. PFS3AIO.
Thank you so much for trying!

Would you share the versions of your software?

I would like to recreate.

Is the quake MINIGL or Software?
matt3k is offline  
Old 27 February 2021, 09:13   #4313
torsti76
Registered User

 
Join Date: May 2018
Location: Germany, Baden-Wuerttemberg
Posts: 311
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hedeon View Post
Sadly, I cannot reproduce it.



800MHz Ragnarok, Voodoo3 2000. AA3000+ RTL8028 Network card.

128GB SD card with SCSI2SD v6. PFS3AIO.
OT: I like the SoundCanvas in the background. :-) Nothing better in terms of price vs. functionality for Midi on the Amiga.
torsti76 is offline  
Old 27 February 2021, 13:44   #4314
matt3k
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2018
Location: NY / USA
Posts: 149
Ran SysSpeed and it sees the PPC and runs test just fine for it.

I swapped out to a different SCSI device and have same results (using same files.).

I have to have file corruption somewhere at this point or something is wrong with the AA3000+.

I did notice that my AA3000+ from the beginning trashes certain graphics like AmiBack the graphics on the left of the interface have lines and blocks over. I tried booting cold with no SS so I know it's hardware.
matt3k is offline  
Old 27 February 2021, 13:50   #4315
Cowcat
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Mallorca
Posts: 668
Quote:
Now is there a place to find all of @Cowcats PPC creations?
https://github.com/Cowcat5150

BlitzQuake, Hexen2, SmokingGuns, HODE (...) are scattered in EAB/Coders.
Cowcat is offline  
Old 27 February 2021, 14:20   #4316
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,923
ok, my report that i couldnt get blitzquake to run in the aa3000+ with sound has been resolved. as expected, not a ppc issue. i reinstalled AHI 4.18 (this time from the delfina install disk) and 8bit Paula DMA works fine.
trixster is online now  
Old 27 February 2021, 15:10   #4317
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,923
@timtheloon
Can you show your settings for HyperionQuake2? Photo of the tool types for the gui launcher? And also a photo of which files you are using.

Thanks!
trixster is online now  
Old 27 February 2021, 15:22   #4318
Timtheloon
Registered User

Timtheloon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Portsmouth / United Kingdom
Posts: 255
Quote:
Originally Posted by trixster View Post
@timtheloon
Can you show your settings for HyperionQuake2? Photo of the tool types for the gui launcher? And also a photo of which files you are using.

Thanks!

Hi Trixster I think you missed my post stating I’m still testing with a Mediator so don’t think my setting will help you with your AA3000+.

I just mentioned that file corruption was the cause of my errors with my build and may be effecting matt3k with his Warp3D.

I have got an original Prometheus but I’ve not got around to testing with it sadly.
Timtheloon is offline  
Old 27 February 2021, 15:26   #4319
trixster
Guru Meditating

 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: England
Posts: 1,923
ah, understood!
trixster is online now  
Old 27 February 2021, 17:29   #4320
grelbfarlk
Registered User

 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2,231
Quote:
Originally Posted by matt3k View Post
Ran SysSpeed and it sees the PPC and runs test just fine for it.

I swapped out to a different SCSI device and have same results (using same files.).

I have to have file corruption somewhere at this point or something is wrong with the AA3000+.

I did notice that my AA3000+ from the beginning trashes certain graphics like AmiBack the graphics on the left of the interface have lines and blocks over. I tried booting cold with no SS so I know it's hardware.
I don't have a Prometheus, but I've had some problems in the past with a Mediator and Warp3d.
Start with this, list warp3dppc.library list libs:warp3d/HWDrivers/ list libs:warp3d/GFXDrivers/ list libs:Picasso96/


Someone with a working system do the same.

I would also suggest running Amigenerator or Dgen and just let it sit there for a couple hours playing demos just to make sure your PPC is completely stable, both will peg the PPC and the latter will show you that AHI is working properly.

Last edited by grelbfarlk; 27 February 2021 at 17:36.
grelbfarlk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WANTED: PCI Sound Card VORTEX2 SuperQuard / SQ2500 or Turtlebeach SantaCruz pci card keropi MarketPlace 12 15 March 2017 02:48
Wanted:Sonnet Technologies QuadDoubler 50 (Doubler 4000) kronuz MarketPlace 0 16 June 2013 00:29
eBay : Sonnet Quaddoubler alexh MarketPlace 3 07 May 2013 00:50
Overlay problem on GeForce 7200 Leandro Jardim support.WinUAE 1 10 August 2010 15:50
Prometheus PCI & Voodoo 3 PCI GFX Card Slayer support.Hardware 21 05 September 2006 10:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 10:30.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.25458 seconds with 16 queries