English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 15 February 2016, 22:48   #1
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 493
Dead A4000 :-(

Hi All,

Today I received an X-Surf 100. Rushed home, popped it in my (powered down!) A4000 and no boot.

Unplugged the X-Surf and still not booting.
Next I unplugged everything possible. Zorro cards, riser, Harddrives, floppy, RAM etc. No joy.

I'm left with an empty A4000 except chip ram and Cyberstorm MkII 68060. CSMKII seems seated OK.

It was working yesterday. I replaced the dodgy power switch (latch problems) with a new one I just bought (I have a pack of 10 if anyone is interested...).

Using composite output (via A520) my TV recognises a signal when I power up but there are no colours. The CSMKII normally does a rainbow flash but I am not seeing this.

I'm measuring +5 and +12 volts on the power connector as well as 24 volts between the +/-12V lines.

The only things I have not tried is:
- Removing the motherboard
- The original 030 card (not 100% sure where it is, perhaps my mothers loft!?).

Help!
nogginthenog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 15 February 2016, 23:14   #2
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 493
I have the motherboard out of the case. Still no joy. I think I fried something :-(

ROMs are well seated as is the 060 board.
I think my girl is dead :-(
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 00:06   #3
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 97
Can you get into the CS early boot menu with ESC on power-up?

Some key combos disable certain features. I think holding "S" disables SCSI. Holding "A" disables memory & SCSI.

Find that spare CPU card. Note your CSMK2/A4000 jumper settings before changing stuff.

Hopefully, you didn't kill something with a static discharge. It may occur and go unnoticed at the time.
jaesonk is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 00:07   #4
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 97
Do you have a spare PSU to try with it?
jaesonk is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 00:23   #5
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 493
Thanks Jason, but I don't think the CSMK2 has that feature.
I think I have a spare AT (not ATX!) power supply. This A4000 used to live in a tower case many years ago.

You could be right about a static discharge. I did ground myself before inserting the new card though (not an anti-static band, I just touched the grounded case).

It's my mothers birthday this weekend. I guess it's a good opportunity to go digging in her loft (I'm missing a A2000 too!).

Thanks.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 00:31   #6
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 493
I found the AT power supply. It still has an A4000 power connector! No luck :-(
I think I need to find the 030 board.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 00:49   #7
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 97
Reseat the SIMMs on the mobo. I've had problems with those.

No missing screws rattling around?

Cracked solder joints in the daughter board socket or CPU socket? Do you have a spare daughter board to try?

Does your A4000 have a Rev9 or Rev11 buster?
jaesonk is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 10:12   #8
ciVic
Registered User

 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: Germany
Posts: 23
Some years ago I destroyed an PCI Gfx card by plugging in the X Surf into my A4000. Don't know if I did something wrong or what happens exactly.
ciVic is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 11:46   #9
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Once I was having a look at two A4000 mobos for a friend and one of the two had a busted Buster (pun intended) which prevented boot.

What I'd do is test with another CPU card first, then replace easily replaceable components (your Buster is probably socketed).
jbenam is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 17:58   #10
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 97
Use a chip extractor tool to remove Buster, not a screw driver. You don't need a busted Buster socket.

AmigaKit has one that's inexpensive:
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=522

In addition to using an anti-static wrist band:
http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/...roducts_id=110
Make sure you are working on a anti-static surface. Get an anti-static mat.
jaesonk is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 21:38   #11
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 493
I'm not giving up yet.

Booting sometimes displays a yellow screen! This means the CPU is alive I think.
Other times I get a black screen.

Removing chip ram gives a green screen (no chip ram). Also suggests the CPU is alive.

I'm guessing my Buster is dead (it's a version 11 BTW).
If I press down on the buster, then switch on I get different results.

I'm going to try to find the original 030 card this weekend (not that I think it will help).
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 16 February 2016, 21:53   #12
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 493
jaesonk: The A4000 buster is not socketed. The only socketed chips in my A4000 is the ROMs (which I pressed down of course).

I think I have 2 options:
- Replace the buster. My SMD skills are limited....
- A new A4000 / motherboard.

I might try to heat the traces around the buster. I don't have a hot air soldering iron but I can probably borrow one. Thoughts?

p.s. I replaced my clock battery a long time ago. It's not that.
nogginthenog is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 01:17   #13
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 97
Some rev A4000s motherboards had more socket mounts. Count be a cracked solder joint or a bad chip. You might carefully apply some heat but I'd be hesitant.

It could be something near the buster too. Pressing on it might stress a nearby problem joint into contact, or a damaged trace.

Do you have extra SIMMs you can try?

Have you had the A4000 re-capped? AmigaKit does provide that service and could probably check it out further. It'd cost less than a new accelerator card, maybe less than a mobo replacement. Birthday present?
jaesonk is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 12:46   #14
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Too bad my A4000 isn't here in London, otherwise I'd gladly offer to troubleshoot your board for you using my known-good components
jbenam is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 18:44   #15
jaesonk
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Pennsylvania / USA
Posts: 97
Power-Up Self-Test

Test Status - Color Shown - Description Of Error

Passed - Light Gray - Initial hardware configuration tests passed. Initial software tests passed. Final initialization test passed.

Failed - Red - ROM Error: Make sure ROMs are seated properly.

Failed - Green - Chip RAM Error: Make sure Agnus is seated, and check Chip RAM SIMMs for proper seating.

Failed - Blue - This is not an "official" error color. It may have existed in very old (pre-1.0) versions of the system software, but doesn't any longer. Blue screens may be produced by a system,failure, but are not really error codes.

Failed - Yellow - Processor detected error before software,trapped it.

Failed - Purple - Not an "official" color, but may be caused by bad ROMs.

Keyboard Self-Test

Number Of Caps Lock Blinks Description Of Error

One - Keyboard ROM failed.

Two - Keyboard RAM failed.

Three - Watchdog timer failed.

Four - Short detected in keyboard.
jaesonk is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 19:12   #16
hese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 195
Quote:
Originally Posted by nogginthenog View Post
Booting sometimes displays a yellow screen! This means the CPU is alive I think.
Other times I get a black screen.

I'm guessing my Buster is dead (it's a version 11 BTW).
If I press down on the buster, then switch on I get different results.
Bad contact with Buster chip gives yellow screen. When you get varying results when Buster is pressed down, it indicates broken solder joints on the Buster chip. Get a soldering iron and apply some fresh solder or flux to the pins.
hese is offline  
Old 17 February 2016, 19:20   #17
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by hese View Post
Bad contact with Buster chip gives yellow screen. When you get varying results when Buster is pressed down, it indicates broken solder joints on the Buster chip. Get a soldering iron and apply some fresh solder or flux to the pins.
I had an A4000 with a dead Buster and all it'd give was black screen. It also had other problems on the RAM side of things, but after placing a good Buster it switched over to Green screen as expected.

Looks like when it comes to troubleshooting Amigas it's truly black magic
jbenam is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 09:41   #18
hese
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Somewhere
Posts: 195
Dead Buster may give black screen but contact problem with a working Buster will give yellow screen.
hese is offline  
Old 18 February 2016, 11:58   #19
jbenam
Italian Amiga Zealot

 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Italy
Age: 29
Posts: 1,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by hese View Post
Dead Buster may give black screen but contact problem with a working Buster will give yellow screen.
Whoops, right, misread your post
jbenam is offline  
Old 20 February 2016, 22:01   #20
nogginthenog
Amigan

 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: London
Posts: 493
The saga continues.

I found my 030 card today and installed it. After a short delay (no floppy drive) the Kickstart screen shows!
Oh no, my 060 died :-( So I replaced the 060, powered up and after a short delay... the Kickstart screen shows!

I'm picking up a cpu-less replacement A4000 tomorrow (already paid for it). Oh well, at least I have a spare.

Maybe I have a dodgy connection somewhere? Or did the nanobots repair my Amiga over the last few days?
I'm going to leave it on for a few hours to see if it's heat related.
nogginthenog is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A4000 dead help find a reliable doctor Demetris74 support.Hardware 2 15 February 2016 10:35
is my A4000 dead? dirkies support.Hardware 13 14 July 2014 18:51
wanted : dead a4000 board Amiga-Digital MarketPlace 0 16 February 2010 00:54
A4000 and blinking CAPS-LOCK (also dead kb) keropi support.Hardware 3 23 January 2008 11:43
Paula sound on my A4000 is dead? keropi support.Hardware 4 07 January 2007 23:20

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:54.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.57802 seconds with 12 queries