English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.WinUAE

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12 March 2005, 01:25   #1
Thunderchicken
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy Trying to get Kickstart 1.3 ROM off of my A1000 with Workbench 1.3

Hello, I'm having a heck of a time trying to get my recently downloaded WINUAE emulator to work. Apparently, I need a kickstart ROM. I put transrom on a formatted 720K disk that I formatted on Windows XP Pro using the "Run" command: "format.com A: /T:80 /N:9 /FS:FAT".

Unfortunately, my A1000 using Workbench 1.3 will not read the disk. WB 1.3 is the latest version I have. If I format the disk on the Amiga, my PC will not read it and vice versa. What the heck do I do?
 
Old 12 March 2005, 01:56   #2
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 63
Posts: 685
The Amiga OS isn't capable of reading or writing to a low density IBM formatted disk without the use of special software that is not included with the OS itself. The commercial product that did this was CrossDOS, and there were other similar programs such as messydos that are public domain, and which can be found on Aminet. Of course getting those onto the Amiga poses the same problem as getting transrom onto it. It is possible to link the Amiga and a PC directly with a serial cable to do a transfer, but I believe the A1000 has a non-standard pinout for it's serial port, and if you're not careful you can fry your A1000 by using a standard cable.

It is of course far easier to get the kickstart image elsewhere, and it is included in Amiga Forever, which has a downloadable version available for purchase, which is the other legal option to dumping your own rom. Aside from that, rom images can be found online in various places for download on a not-so-legal basis. Because sites that host the roms for download often are threatened with being shut down due to copyright violations, those sites can be somewhat hard to find. Persistence pays off though if you go that route, and Google is your friend in that respect. If none of those options works for you, I suspect some kind soul might be willing to provide assistance privately though. One never knows.
Chuckles is offline  
Old 12 March 2005, 04:01   #3
Thunderchicken
 
Posts: n/a
Wink

I guess I can't make myself feel too bad about getting one of these "illegal" ROMS. Since I actually DO own one of these ROMS and just can't get it to my PC, I don't consider it stealing. After all, I'm just trying to get a copy of something I have already bought. If anyone knows an address to do find the appropriate ROM, please email me.


-Thunderchicken

"Don't lose hope -- Destroy it. At least that way, you know where it is."
-P. McDonel
 
Old 12 March 2005, 17:15   #4
pjhutch
Peter
pjhutch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Sowerby Bridge,UK
Age: 52
Posts: 95
To get the rom across you need a serial link from Amiga to PC and OS1.3 does not include any transfer s/w or PC disk reading disk s/w (first one with this feature is OS2.1).

http://www.pcguru.plus.com/uae_faq.html
pjhutch is offline  
Old 12 March 2005, 18:03   #5
Chuckles
The Ancient One
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Kansas City/USA
Age: 63
Posts: 685
Don't forget that the A1000 has a non-standard pinout for the serial port, so a standard serial cable can't be used, else you might fry your A1000.
Chuckles is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
looking for A1000 kickstart disk hgrob MarketPlace 14 22 June 2011 17:40
Kickstart for A1000 ? bebek Hardware mods 5 19 September 2010 08:18
What Kickstart / Workbench do I need to see CD-ROM ? AbstractCure support.Hardware 2 13 May 2009 05:44
CD32 kickstart rom & extended rom ben111g Amiga scene 1 24 February 2007 14:56
need: Kickstart Disk for A1000 ToTalXS MarketPlace 1 05 June 2002 07:09

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 01:44.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.06274 seconds with 15 queries