English Amiga Board


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Games

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 April 2011, 21:11   #1
ajoram
 
Posts: n/a
Wrath of the Demon midgame crash

I've read a lot of posts about people having problems to run the game at all. This was no problem for me, I could successfully complete 4 levels (riding, goblins, dragon and cave).

However, the game crashs after it tells me that I have to face the guardian of the cave. The loading screen disappears, the screen turns black and just when you would normally expect the next level to appear the game crashs. There's no guru meditation or anything, it's as if a soft reset is executed.

I'm using the latest version of WinUAE, Kickstart 1.3 and the following adfs:

Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr SKR][t+1 SKR].adf
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 2 of 5)[cr SKR][a].adf
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 3 of 5)[cr SKR][t+1 SKR].adf
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 4 of 5)[cr SKR].adf
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 5 of 5)[cr SKR][t+1 SKR].adf

I only had to use disk 1,2 and 5 yet. The game crashes while disk 2 is inserted, using a different disk2 adf-file didn't even get me to the first level.

Trying different WinUAE configurations hasn't solved the problem yet. Has anyone else encountered similar problems while playing the game and can help me out?

Cheers
Ajoram
 
Old 27 April 2011, 21:32   #2
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Just use the disks marked with an [!] from the EAB file server in the folder 'TOSEC/Games/[ADF]/W'. I think I just used the trained disk one when I posted in this thread : http://eab.abime.net/showthread.php?t=38967
TCD is offline  
Old 27 April 2011, 23:32   #3
ajoram
 
Posts: n/a
Thank you very much. I'll finally be able to finish the game once and for all, now.
 
Old 17 February 2013, 00:00   #4
Actyon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 16
I also had that same issue with WOTD, found the [!]-ed images, tried them, and managed to pass that point.

BUT there is another issue: I am at the crossroad level, where you are supposed to go left or right. I went to the right, and the road ends to a stone slab reading "DARK TOWER". I proceed to finish the level (presumably to enter said Dark Tower), the screen goes black and the system loads up the next level. But after a few seconds, the system crashes and the music stucks to an annoying BZZZZZZZZZZZ.

I tried the other disk images, the ones without the [!]s (which didn't work in the first place) and the same phenomenon occurs.

I have read that the [!]-ed images are fully playable and indeed with these I passed the cave stage, but now what can I do?

Last edited by Actyon; 17 February 2013 at 00:06.
Actyon is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 00:19   #5
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Hi Actyon and welcome to EAB

Have a look at the YouTube longplay ( [ Show youtube player ]) and check what he does. I've completed (or at least played the game until the last boss fight) using the [!] disk set.
TCD is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 01:40   #6
Actyon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 16
Thank you for the welcome, Druid. I watched the video, particularly to the point I have the problem, but it didn't show anything like what happening to me. As I said it crashes right at the point between the crossroad and the Dark Tower.

I see that the video is dated 2008. Is it possible that we are talking about some incompatibility of the newer version(s) of winuae?
Actyon is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 02:02   #7
Actyon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 16
I just tried with older versions, as far back as 1.4.4 and still the same phenomenon.

Perhaps something wrong in the configuration? Or my ROM file?
Actyon is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 09:15   #8
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,971
crc32 of used images please!
mai is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 13:34   #9
Actyon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 16
The point I am referring to is on the 3rd disk so this is the image I am checking.

Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 3 of 5)[cr SR][!] -> 659E47FD
Actyon is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 14:25   #10
mai
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Federativnaya Respublika Germaniya
Posts: 4,971
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actyon View Post
The point I am referring to is on the 3rd disk so this is the image I am checking.

Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 3 of 5)[cr SR][!] -> 659E47FD
this is correct disk, maybe wrong system configuration?
mai is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 17:42   #11
Actyon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 16
I will check alternatives, mai, thanks for your interest and your time.

I managed to see these levels after 20 years and now this!!

I don't know if I am asking too much, but in the meantime I would appreciate if anyone could upload a savestate or a savegame disk right at the point of the Dark Tower loading screen.
Actyon is offline  
Old 17 February 2013, 21:43   #12
Harry
HD Installer
Harry's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Hamburg/Germany
Posts: 912
You could also try the WHDLoad installed version. (I dont know if you can save your progress to a savegame disk with ctrl-s after each level, and load it at start with ctrl-l in the disk version(s) floating around, but in WHDLoad it works.)
Harry is offline  
Old 20 March 2013, 21:05   #13
Actyon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 16
I am bumping this thread once more.

Guys, can anyone (with the disk version) volunteer in helping? I can upload the savestate near the point where the crash occurs, you can play it in your own system, see if the crash occurs, and if not, save another savestate and send it to me.

I have tried with several configurations and roms and I can't isolate the problem, and I don't have access to another pc with uae. This is the only solution I can think, at least a lot more simple than making a whdload installation and restarting the game.
Actyon is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 00:01   #14
clenched
Registered User

 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Gainesville U.S.A.
Posts: 717
The SPS (4) disks work OK. Realize helping to locate these is not sanctioned by EAB. Save game disk contains:
A. Dark Tower
B. After Dark Tower.

EDIT: I downloaded the [!] game disks from the EAB file server to try. Loading the A. game slot made it crash the same way. Sounded like someone laying on a car horn. The B. slot loaded OK with the cracked disks though. If that's all that is wrong, you won't miss much by skipping Dark Tower. This picture is the whole thing with only two enemies to defeat.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WrathOfTheDemon_Disk1_001.png
Views:	182
Size:	47.1 KB
ID:	34771  
Attached Files
File Type: zip WrDmSv.zip (2.2 KB, 75 views)

Last edited by clenched; 20 April 2013 at 06:30. Reason: more info; typo
clenched is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 09:29   #15
CFOU!
Moderator
CFOU!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: France
Age: 47
Posts: 2,854
Quote:
Originally Posted by clenched View Post
The SPS (4) disks work OK. Realize helping to locate these is not sanctioned by EAB. Save game disk contains:
A. Dark Tower
B. After Dark Tower.

EDIT: I downloaded the [!] game disks from the EAB file sever to try. Loading the A. game slot made it crash the same way. Sounded like someone laying on a car horn. The B. slot loaded OK with the cracked disks though. If that's all that is wrong, you won't miss much by skipping Dark Tower. This picture is the whole thing with only two enemies to defeat.
in my memory this cracked version was bugged as some Baest2 cracks (if my memory is good, it is skidrow's version)....
CFOU! is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 09:36   #16
StingRay
move.l #$c0ff33,throat

StingRay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Berlin/Joymoney
Posts: 6,499
Kids Blow released 2 versions, first release wasn't 100% as they missed checksum checks, the other release worked fine.
StingRay is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 10:20   #17
Actyon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 16
So, it seems that some people finished the game with the [!] disks, but to others (like me and clenched) this version crashes??

Last edited by Actyon; 21 March 2013 at 10:26.
Actyon is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 11:42   #18
dlfrsilver
CaptainM68K-SPS France
dlfrsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Melun nearby Paris/France
Age: 43
Posts: 8,458
Send a message via MSN to dlfrsilver
i tried the save game in this thread with the [!] skidrow release (the one with trainer).
Once the savedisk has been loaded and A. choosen, it ask for :

- Disk 1
-Screen flash
- Disk 5
-Screen flash
- Disk 1 again
- Then screen with Disk 3 requested

I got no crash. The problem i met is elsewhere. Once beaten, and the talisman picked up (needed to pass the teethed-razor blade), i am, once the first blades passed, blocked further before the temple (just after the thunder hitting the ground), by a lonely teethed-razor blade, that i am unable to pass (the effect of the talisman works only once, by hitting 'F1').
dlfrsilver is online now  
Old 21 March 2013, 13:01   #19
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Quote:
Originally Posted by Actyon View Post
So, it seems that some people finished the game with the [!] disks, but to others (like me and clenched) this version crashes??
I'll give this a go on the latest FS-UAE (will use the trained version) later (or on the weekend). It uses the same emulation core as WinUAE, so it should have the same issues. I'll post how I get on with it here then I completed the game using the trained disk one and the other [!] disks in 2008. Maybe the settings for the emulation have changed, but I'm 99.9% sure those ADFs are fine.
TCD is offline  
Old 21 March 2013, 13:40   #20
TCD
Registered User

TCD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Germany
Age: 42
Posts: 24,024
Using this disk set:
Code:
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 1 of 5)[cr SR][t +1 SR].adf, sha1: fbf0844b3839d34e6d47f51c4b8b23cb781caf1b
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 2 of 5)[cr SR].adf, sha1: 6227a28598ba589df1fa9716566d85d2bb8b329a
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 3 of 5)[cr SR].adf, sha1: 042e4f9151aff897dcb78b02e433b5ceaed476ee
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 4 of 5)[cr SR][!].adf, sha1: 951c72ee37fc64fb5aa0f58ee2e18d2c327ae13e
Wrath of the Demon (1991)(ReadySoft)(Disk 5 of 5)(0)[cr SR].adf, sha1: c3b3e65ae31ade4d32e9adc432b626b45f14bd4b
we already made it past this guy:



That is using FS-UAE 2.2.0 (which uses the 2.5.1 WinUAE emulation core).
TCD is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wrath of the Demon mai support.Games 6 27 February 2009 13:27
Wrath of Demon MheAd request.Old Rare Games 1 03 September 2005 11:33
Help on Wrath of the Demon Unregistered support.WinUAE 2 26 May 2004 00:18
Wrath of the demon Whdload the wolf request.Old Rare Games 6 26 September 2003 23:31
[Found] -> Wrath of the Demon Nexjen Looking for a game name ? 6 30 June 2002 17:57

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 03:41.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
Page generated in 0.09370 seconds with 16 queries