English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 09 March 2003, 10:55   #1
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
Zip Disk Support

Hi,

just wondering about PC <> Amiga zip transfer.

Is it possible to transfer data from a PC to an Amiga (and vice versa) using a zip drive?

I thought that because you have to format a zip disk for a PC it would not be readible under the Amiga file system.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
killergorilla is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 09 March 2003, 11:11   #2
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Yup Just use FAT95 from Aminet to mount and read DOS/WIN formatted drives/zips/whatever on your Amiga
RetroMan is offline  
Old 09 March 2003, 11:27   #3
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
Thanks for that.

I suppose that it doesn't matter that my HD is NTFS because the zip will still use fat right?
killergorilla is offline  
Old 09 March 2003, 11:40   #4
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Not sure about this ... you should be able to format the ZIP with FAT, yes
RetroMan is offline  
Old 09 March 2003, 11:53   #5
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
Thanks,

I only ask because I'm buying an Amiga next week with a zip drive and wondered whether it would be worthwhile to get a zip drive for my PC so that I can shove files back and forth.

Please do not use a signature in your posts! Use the UserCP instead. -Admin
killergorilla is offline  
Old 28 August 2004, 18:20   #6
spannernick
Retro Nuts

spannernick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: London/UK
Age: 46
Posts: 1,074
Could i use a zip 100 drive on the amiga,i use it on my pc.its a parallel port drive...?
spannernick is offline  
Old 28 August 2004, 18:22   #7
DeCreator
 
Posts: n/a
As far as i know you can not use the parallel version, but the scsi one works fine, i used to do this on my pc/amiga to transfer files around.

DeCreator
 
Old 29 August 2004, 01:54   #8
Galaxy
Registered User
Galaxy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Canberra, Australia
Age: 39
Posts: 1,418
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
Thanks for that.

I suppose that it doesn't matter that my HD is NTFS because the zip will still use fat right?
No need to reformat any of the zip disks, they are formatted with FAT by default, and Windows has no probles with FAT (for obvious reasons).

Amiga-PC file transfer with a zip drive works like a charm - I use it regularly.

@spannernick

I have also heard that the Parallel port drive is only compatible with the PC. (anyway the transfer rate on the parallel port drive sux - go for a scsi one.)
Galaxy is offline  
Old 29 August 2004, 04:32   #9
LocalH
Amiga user since 1990
LocalH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Kingsport, TN / USA
Age: 37
Posts: 276
Actually, the parallel Zip *can* be used with the Amiga, but I believe it requires a hardware hack. Check out ppazip on Aminet, I haven't looked into it as I don't use Zip disks, but given that you perform the hardware modification, it should work. The readme even states that it supports SCSIdirect, meaning you can use tools like HDToolBox and ZipTools.
LocalH is offline  
Old 29 August 2004, 14:13   #10
a_petri
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Budapest / Hungary
Posts: 73
Quote:
Originally Posted by LocalH
Actually, the parallel Zip *can* be used with the Amiga, but I believe it requires a hardware hack. Check out ppazip on Aminet, I haven't looked into it as I don't use Zip disks, but given that you perform the hardware modification, it should work. The readme even states that it supports SCSIdirect, meaning you can use tools like HDToolBox and ZipTools.
I've tried this (it is really easy, actually it contains only three connectors and some wires, and you don't even have to open the Amiga case) and used it for a while with my parallel port Zip100 drive, for exchanging data with a Macintosh based publishing company.

The Zip100 drive with the extra hardware worked, but the data transfer failed spontaneously sometimes (the software driver displayed an error requester, and I had to reset the Amiga to make the Zip drive working again.)

It did not result in data loss (copying the same file was always OK after the reset) but it was slightly annoying...
a_petri is offline  
Old 30 August 2004, 22:44   #11
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by Galaxy
No need to reformat any of the zip disks, they are formatted with FAT by default, and Windows has no probles with FAT (for obvious reasons).

Amiga-PC file transfer with a zip drive works like a charm - I use it regularly.

@spannernick

I have also heard that the Parallel port drive is only compatible with the PC. (anyway the transfer rate on the parallel port drive sux - go for a scsi one.)
Erm...

This post was from 2003, I managed to sort out the problem quite some time ago.
killergorilla is offline  
Old 15 September 2004, 08:55   #12
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
Thanks for that.

I suppose that it doesn't matter that my HD is NTFS because the zip will still use fat right?
I have the same setup on my towered 1200 which has a Zip 100 and the pc has the same.........hardrive on the pc is NTFS and works flawlessly !!
THX1138 is offline  
Old 15 September 2004, 10:39   #13
killergorilla
Lesser Talent
killergorilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: UK
Age: 35
Posts: 7,924
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
Erm...

This post was from 2003, I managed to sort out the problem quite some time ago.


I've had my zip 100 for over a year now and I kinda figured it works
killergorilla is offline  
Old 15 September 2004, 19:19   #14
THX1138
Amiga Centurai
THX1138's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Age: 48
Posts: 526
Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla


I've had my zip 100 for over a year now and I kinda figured it works
Are you sure ?.........only joking,didn't realise the post was that old...doh !!
THX1138 is offline  
Old 15 September 2004, 23:14   #15
DoomMaster
 
Posts: n/a
Floppy disk

Quote:
Originally Posted by killergorilla
Hi,

just wondering about PC <> Amiga zip transfer.

Is it possible to transfer data from a PC to an Amiga (and vice versa) using a zip drive?

I thought that because you have to format a zip disk for a PC it would not be readible under the Amiga file system.

Any ideas?

Thanks.
You will also need CrossDOS 7 Gold in order for your Amiga to recognize the ZIP drive. [woops, I think I accidentaly deleted AGAIN DoomMaster's feeble attempt at shady business]

Last edited by Akira; 16 September 2004 at 11:07.
 
Old 15 September 2004, 23:17   #16
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,547
Or visit my FTP KG :P
BippyM is offline  
Old 15 September 2004, 23:22   #17
DoomMaster
 
Posts: n/a
Floppy disk

Quote:
Originally Posted by bippym
Or visit my FTP KG :P
Yea, but does yours work and is it the FULL version of the program? I don't think that yours is.
 
Old 15 September 2004, 23:26   #18
BippyM
Global Moderator

BippyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Nottingham, UK
Age: 42
Posts: 8,547
Well you would know.. why because:

a). you have access to my FTP & 50+CDRs of Amiga software (Yes I know you are bound to have more)

b). You know what software I actually have anyway!!

Is the DoomMaster clairvoyant now too?
BippyM is offline  
Old 15 September 2004, 23:48   #19
Akira
Registered User

Akira's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 17,921
How about banning him from your FTO, bipps
Akira is offline  
Old 16 September 2004, 00:20   #20
RetroMan
Registered User
RetroMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Germany
Age: 44
Posts: 3,704
Quote:
Originally Posted by DoomMaster
You will also need CrossDOS 7 Gold in order for your Amiga to recognize the ZIP drive.
Uhm ..... for WHAT exactly do you think CrossDOS 7 Gold is required here

For recognizing a ZIP drive on Amiga ????

Errrrrr ............ well ........ no you donīt .... you shouldnīt give advice to people if you donīt know what youīre talking about
RetroMan is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7-zip support oldpx request.UAE Wishlist 8 04 September 2004 14:41
Reading Ami-format zip disk Sledge support.WinUAE 14 18 May 2003 12:23
Tip: Long filename support for zip disks... Echo support.Hardware 0 01 March 2003 20:32
Zip support for Winfellow? Ash support.WinFellow 7 28 September 2002 11:58
WinUAE with zip support Zx-81 support.WinUAE 7 17 May 2002 02:10

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 04:06.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.25717 seconds with 12 queries