English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 27 December 2007, 22:48   #1
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 59
Posts: 189
Floppy Blues

Hello all and a Happy New Year in advance! So here is the situation.....my A1200 has lost its external flicker fixer/scan doubler. To keep me going I have put my monitor into storage and replaced it with a TV.I now know what a migraine is.HOWEVER I have 3 motherboards and not 1 of them will recognize my floppy drive.Correctly installed I dont get an orange light at all,only the green power button.If I put the cable in the wrong way round I get a constant orange light so something must be happening.If I install my internal hard drive I get no light but I can hear the famous floppy "click" as it seeks for a disk .Unfortuanatly the screen mode is set to Mutiscan productivity so the workbench never appears on the TV......and then the "click" stops and I am left with a green power light and bugger all else. I cant believe all 3 motherboards are duff so any help would be much appreciated.Yours in hope
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
Old 28 December 2007, 09:43   #2
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,281
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
In your case, I'd start the computer up with both mouse buttons held down. Then boot with no startup-sequence and

cd sys:prefs/env-archive/sys/
rename screenmode.prefs screenmode.prefs.multiscan

Then wait a few secs, reset, and your machine will boot into a 4 color pal/ntsc workbench, depending on your motherboard.

Then you can start debugging the floppy drive. If all your mobos work like that, then probably the drive's diskchange detector is broken? Do you get DF0:???? on your workbench screen?
Jope is offline  
Old 13 January 2008, 12:26   #3
Dave_wb
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Wootton Bassett England
Age: 59
Posts: 189
Wink floppy blues

Hi Jope,
Sorry for the long delay in replying but I just wanted you to know that the TV set is up and running!! With my hard drive the floppy works like a goodun but If I remove the hard drive the floppy does'nt work.Its weird but not a problem as I will always need my hard drive.Hope you have a great 2008 and thanks once again for the help.
Dave
Dave_wb is offline  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
scandoubler flickerfixer blues Dave_wb support.Hardware 5 13 December 2007 16:11
WinUAE slowdown blues! JimC support.WinUAE 3 18 September 2006 23:22
A4000 blues..... Heavyweight7t6 support.Hardware 6 06 June 2005 17:21
Player Manager blues :( stainy support.WinUAE 17 10 June 2004 16:57
REQ: Hill Street Blues Ziaxx request.Old Rare Games 2 22 December 2002 02:18

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 20:34.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.12950 seconds with 12 queries