English Amiga Board Amiga Lore


Go Back   English Amiga Board > Support > support.Hardware

 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07 September 2007, 11:38   #1
noobie
 
Posts: n/a
Vaio CD-ROM interface PC Card

Hi there

I have one of these:

http://img515.imageshack.us/my.php?image=cdromaf0.jpg

Its a Cdrom drive for a viao laptop. Model is PCGA-CD51.

I was wondering if I could attach this to the side of my A1200 and it would work with some driver?

Many Thanks for any help

Noob
 
AdSense AdSense  
Old 07 September 2007, 11:52   #2
Zetr0
Ya' like it Retr0?
Zetr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Age: 42
Posts: 9,769
@noobie

Hello there and a big welcome to the EAB!, i am sure you will like it here.

I do like your idea, but there is a problem with it i am afraid. firstly All of the CDROM PCMCIA cards that I know of are 5volt PC Cards or Cardbus, both of these are electrically incompatible with the a600 / a1200 PCMCIA.

There are many other ways to add a CDROM to you amiga, either using a Squirrel SCSI (PCMCIA) there are some that are available to run under a PARALLEL arrangement, there are some on these boards here that have managed that.

But my favourite 2 methods involve a little bit of work

When i had my A1200 originall I converted a 50pin SCSI Cable for use with IDE (keeping the cable under a meter is critical) as it was only 2.5 foot, to a self powered midi / micro tower it was all good

The other method i adore is build laptop CD/DVD optical devices INTO the chassis there are many whom have done this. so check this thread.

http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=99

and these too

http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=77

http://eab.abime.net/forumdisplay.php?f=20
Zetr0 is offline  
Old 07 September 2007, 14:46   #3
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,290
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
If it's an IDE PCMCIA card, then there might be a driver available, but if it's custom, then probably not.
Jope is online now  
Old 07 September 2007, 19:02   #4
thomas
Registered User
thomas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Germany
Posts: 5,527
Quote:
CD-ROM interface PC Card
"New" PC-Card connectors don't even fit into the slot. You need "old" PCMCIA cards.
thomas is offline  
Old 07 September 2007, 20:26   #5
Jope
-
Jope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Helsinki / Finland
Age: 37
Posts: 6,290
Send a message via Skype™ to Jope
It looked 16-bit judging by the picture..
Jope is online now  
AdSense AdSense  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CD rom with unusual interface Magno Boots support.Hardware 9 25 August 2007 22:01
SONY VAIO PCMCIA CD-ROM on an AMIGA 1200 Kinchan support.Hardware 5 28 January 2006 10:24
Problem with CD-ROM on Squirrel interface ketma support.Hardware 0 28 May 2005 17:31
scsi cd rom+surf squirrel interface? backtoskooldaze support.Hardware 4 10 October 2004 23:42
SCSI CD ROM & Squirrel interface Peter Leyland Amiga scene 6 09 February 2003 00:53

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +2. The time now is 11:33.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Page generated in 0.17269 seconds with 12 queries